Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is your most unpopular opinion about the NRL?

10$ Ferret

Oh ok, so a broadcast team will happily show a game where one of the commentators has literally zero idea of the modern game to appease *checks notes* a minimal bogan amount that continues to hate watch the game?

Do you watch any RL on TV or listen on the raidio, its the worst commentated sport in the entire world.
full of halfwits whose sole mission is to bring the game down.
Every little error is treated like a world disaster

10$ Ferret

I don't know why they don't get some celebrities like Andrew Denton or Anh Do or Russell Crowe in to do commentary.

Oh good I was just physically ill. :)

If you want a laugh ask anyone that has played for Souths in the last 20 years about RC's talks and RL knowledge (or lack there of)

10$ Ferret

Salary cap should be cut drastically because the market is not big enough to support the game as it is

Penrose Warrior

That the warriors are not hero's for doing their job, getting paid really well in most cases and being put up in a resort. Also, the players who left should not be paid.

Oh f**k, now we're even getting time travel in 2020?

We covered this months ago mate. If this opinion was a bag of prawns, I wouldn't be cooking it. Well past its use by date.

BunniesMan

There should only be 4 allowed interchanges. The big blokes are too fit in the era of professionalism and the creative players don't get enough chance to shine. Forwards should be buggered at the back end of halves. If a prop has enough energy to run off at half time then there is not enough of a fatigue effect in the game.

Meth

That the warriors are not hero's for doing their job, getting paid really well in most cases and being put up in a resort. Also, the players who left should not be paid.

I don't know about heroes, but leaving the country with no idea when you you would see your family again and being confined like they are (albeit in a resort) would be absolutely terrible. I travel quite extensively for work. If my employer told me that I had to do that, he'd have my resignation by the end of the day.

The players who went back had personal matters that made staying over in Australia unbearable.

Roger Tuivasa Sheck, as I understand it, has been separated from his young family for this entire time. He's paid a huge price, above and beyond.

All of the fuss about what the Warriors have done was a bit over the top and was certainly unsolicited. But there's no doubt about it, their campaign has made a difficult year much, much worse for them and the NRL needed them more than they needed the NRL this year.

I don't know about heroes, but leaving the country with no idea when you you would see your family again and being confined like they are (albeit in a resort) would be absolutely terrible. I travel quite extensively for work. If my employer told me that I had to do that, he'd have my resignation by the end of the day.

The players who went back had personal matters that made staying over in Australia unbearable.

Roger Tuivasa Sheck, as I understand it, has been separated from his young family for this entire time. He's paid a huge price, above and beyond.

All of the fuss about what the Warriors have done was a bit over the top and was certainly unsolicited. But there's no doubt about it, their campaign has made a difficult year much, much worse for them and the NRL needed them more than they needed the NRL this year.

Agreed.

The Warriors could have declined to play this year, and thus cost the game millions in revenue. Heroes is a very over-utilised cliche these days but I don’t know what other word to describe them. All of them. Indeed cricketers spend months away at a time but they do have partners along for tours (pre Covid of course).

Cameron Smith and Johnathan Thurston - two modern greats of the game.

But unlike popular opinion, and in reverse, I believe Smith is one of the most sportsmanlike, professional players while Thurston was the sulk on many many occasions, and in some cases unsportmanslike.

Examples.

Smiths post-GF speech after the Sharks won their first title. In fact any post-match speech can count in the long line of title wins n losses.

Thurston losing the plot on the field in origin when Qld were finally gonna lose a series, holding a blue by the throat near the end of the game. And post match speeches in semi final losses inferring conspiracies against the cowboys.

Panther79

It was made difficult but they weren't doing anything this year regardless. In fact, they played better than they had at anytime recently once they were stuck in Australia. They would have been worse this yet but for Covid I reckon haha.

Also, I think you over dramaticise that they won't know when they see their family again. They will see them in full as soon as finals roll around, like most years...

Charlie124

Boyd Cordner is a bog average player. Probably a good bloke, but nothing special on the field whatsoever.

Meth

Also, I think you over dramaticise that they won't know when they see their family again. They will see them in full as soon as finals roll around, like most years...

oh you’re right. Checkmate. It was just the 5 months away from their family then, at the most.

I doubt you have a family of your own so I doubt you understand. If you do, you might be a really shitty parent

Panther79

oh you’re right. Checkmate. It was just the 5 months away from their family then, at the most.

I doubt you have a family of your own so I doubt you understand. If you do, you might be a really shitty parent
lol you know me oh so well after a few messages, can't you keep on topic man, what a baby. And you are a Mod on here, what a joke...

BunniesMan

AFL is f**king awful ... two hours of knock ons and dog shots .... most unco sport ever
My unpopular opinion relating to this: both sports are brilliant. They are great in the way they are unique.

We should be proud of aussie rules as the country's original indigenous sport. And we should be proud of rugby league because we play it better than anyone else on the planet.

We don't need to compare them...except to say that they are both made to look electrifying in comparison to the snails pace lethargy of Union.