Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who replaces Cappy?

SpaceMonkey

That's their style, but that's also bullshit - yes they get into a grind - but look at that pack - Fifita, Lewis, Graham, Ennis and Gallen are not plodders... and Bird, Holmes, Barba...

They are a seriously talented team...

I said plodders AND grafters- the latter isn't an insult, it implies high workrate forward. Gallen definitely fits that mould. Admittedly they're not ALL like that but there's not a ton of flash to them, Holmes and Barba aside.

JJ

I said plodders AND grafters- the latter isn't an insult, it implies high workrate forward. Gallen definitely fits that mould. Admittedly they're not ALL like that but there's not a ton of flash to them, Holmes and Barba aside.

Many are better than grafters imo - and flash seldom wins premierships

Big fan of Lewis and Graham - I like them as an outside chance for the title

SpaceMonkey

Many are better than grafters imo - and flash seldom wins premierships

Big fan of Lewis and Graham - I like them as an outside chance for the title

As I said, grafter isn't an insult. I'd call Mannering a grafter. Gets stuck in and toils for 80 minutes.

Had the same forwards for few years, our backs have slowly improved all are young, then we removed the handbrake (Robson) and have played some attacking footy this year. 4th best attack thus far, something which has not been the case for many a year.

Got the Broncos this week, will show where we are at.

JJ

not so many off field distractions this year too...

Anyway, on topic McFadden rolling out the same team this week :clap:

ozbash

Sharkies have something we've always struggled with... attitude.

Going on what I've seen here the last 2 or 3 season, there is no way Chad should be playing like he is..

Seriously, why didn't he play like that here ?

Izz

He didn't play like that before he came here, either, to be fair.

But he's behind a forward pack that will give their all every week and even if they don't dominate they won't get dominated, so he's going to go a lot better than if he's playing for a pack that puts in one week and then goes all powderpuff the next (ours)

Penrose Warrior

I've defended and lauded Doyle before but if we don't win before the bye - and that is a distinct possibility with our biggest bogey side and two much better sides than us (albeit both in NZ) to come - and he doesn't fire McFadden on the spot, he'll lose me a bit. We're not making the eight from 3-8, so why f**k about?

It's all well and good to say the players are at fault, because they are to a point. The pathetic lapses in effort, concentration, the ability to only show any ticker this year in 'winnable matches' (ie v the bottom two sides and the other off a five-day turnaround and trip across the Tasman for a 'home game') etc is shameful.

But it is only human to react some way in this point when you are led by someone who is so completely out of their depth as McFadden. I would argue he is the worst since Kemp. At least Bluey had the Kiwis, at least Elliott made a finals series. This guy has no history of success as a coach or player.

This guy has tried more combinations than me as a teenager on the Spice Channel pin code. He has picked guys across different positions at will. His use personnel-wise on the bench is absolutely mind-boggling. His use of it in terms of in-match is questionable. I cannot point to a time where I've seen anything that resembled coaching or structure. He has now coached 50 NRL games for a 44% winning record. He has lost 12 of the last 15, including an all-time Warriors losing streak record. For all the talk of top 4 last year, we won ONE match in 2015 v a side who were in the eight at the time, and two overall if you consider the Sharks eventually made it (but were 16th when we beat them in the last seconds).

It would be unprecedented in certainly our sport but any other if someone with a dire record and level of displayed ability (or lack thereof) was to suddenly roar back and become the coach he needs to be any time soon. So even if it's Morgan as a caretaker coach or whatever, he needs to go now. It's not all his fault but a massive, MASSIVE part of it is.

vvvrulz

Sharkies have something we've always struggled with... attitude.

Going on what I've seen here the last 2 or 3 season, there is no way Chad should be playing like he is..

Chad was actually coming along *great* during our rare good run in 2014.
Then McFad dropped him for the great Thomas and our whole season fell apart.

I'll agree Chad never found the form he is finding now, but many many good players haven't at our setup in recent years.

jaseg

I actually think the best Chad has ever played (including this year - but not by too much) was the first half (his first 11 of 22 games) of last season. He was playing in a pretty dysfunctional team during a lot of those games but absolutely gunning it, I think from memory across the NRL only Thurston had better a creation rate over the same period.

He fell off a cliff after that though - did absolutely nothing for the next 11 games. He must have been carrying some sort of injury? I can't imagine the personal stuff could have damaged his play THAT much. At the time, with no hint of an injury (at least that I knew of), I chalked it up to just hitting two extremes in a row... form/luck/whatever reversing... but it looks as though the high point is more accurate with regard to his actual level.

More on topic; if Cappy keeps it up with these selections alone he can't last much longer, despite me not really wanting to appoint a long term coach until end of season. It's been laughable.

ozbash

I'll agree Chad never found the form he is finding now, but many many good players haven't at our setup in recent years.

Yea mate..frustrates the hell out of me..

Penrose Warrior

Another example of our wonder coach. He is a former NRL halve who has overseen a period of time where our halves have shown no significant period of decency, let alone dominance. He recruited a guy who lasted 6 rounds.

Honestly, if he's still there for the Knights away it'll have to be with minimum 5 wins into the bye or I'll lock him in a room so he can't coach, Max Walker v Ken Sutcliffe 12th Man style.

JJ

McFadden is f**king useless - that is clear... a mid season run will likely convince some otherwise...

What is needed imo is a complete clean out - Iro, McFadden, and all the other hangers on - does Doyle have the balls for it? Change the culture by getting some leadership - many are banging on about Hoffman and Mannering not being leaders ( I disagree tbh) but this is not cricket, the on field captain isn't that important and there are a lot of very experience players there - does Doyle have the balls to make a substantial change?

I'm also wondering (this might be a step too far) whether it's time to flush the dunny on the "Johnson era" - no half has been able to play well with him (and across a season he's generally been average) aside from Foran in tests - and that's a small sample and Foran's a pretty special player... our vaunted spine has been mud RTS aside (although his defence is shocking) - and really we're about as bad as we were last year

Guess we're all frustrated, but the bottom line is only a few players have been reasonably consistent (good consistent) this year - and nothing much has changed

Warriorsoul

This guy has tried more combinations than me as a teenager on the Spice Channel pin code

Ah memories. My mate told me the default code was 0000 when I was about 15. Greatest two weeks of my life up to that point. Mind you, I was almost glad when the bill came in and I got snapped. I was exhausted and developing RSI all down my right arm :oops:

McFadden is f**king useless - that is clear... a mid season run will likely convince some otherwise...

What is needed imo is a complete clean out - Iro, McFadden, and all the other hangers on - does Doyle have the balls for it? Change the culture by getting some leadership - many are banging on about Hoffman and Mannering not being leaders ( I disagree tbh) but this is not cricket, the on field captain isn't that important and there are a lot of very experience players there - does Doyle have the balls to make a substantial change?

I'm also wondering (this might be a step too far) whether it's time to flush the dunny on the "Johnson era" - no half has been able to play well with him (and across a season he's generally been average) aside from Foran in tests - and that's a small sample and Foran's a pretty special player... our vaunted spine has been mud RTS aside (although his defence is shocking) - and really we're about as bad as we were last year

Guess we're all frustrated, but the bottom line is only a few players have been reasonably consistent (good consistent) this year - and nothing much has changed

I was actually thinking along the same lines about Johnson. 5 years (11-16) now in top grade. I am not sure I can measure his improvement. Would be more than happy to release to Storm for sake of the Kiwis if Cronk moves on.

Short of employing a SAS Sargent to run drills with these guys to improve mental stamina under pressure I am not sure what the fix is (outside if a premiership winning coach). I have not been to a training so not sure the atmosphere? (Joking, serious, intense, casual, split groups, church like, single speakers, multiple speakers.)
Morgan clearly isn't the answer either as defense has been terrible.

Big Marn

if i was the coach i would be taking the players to a few schools and arrange an assembly.
They are the kids heroes, (most of them). Get the kids to ask a few questions to the players.
Kids can be pretty blunt without even knowing it.
eg "Why are you guys so shit at the moment"?
It's one thing to lie to a journo, its another thing to lie to a bunch of kids at an assembly.

Embarrass the hell out of them I say. If their attitude is as shit as people say it is they shouldnt be playing league at an elite level in the first place.

if i was the coach i would be taking the players to a few schools and arrange an assembly.
They are the kids heroes, (most of them). Get the kids to ask a few questions to the players.
Kids can be pretty blunt without even knowing it.
eg "Why are you guys so shit at the moment"?
It's one thing to lie to a journo, its another thing to lie to a bunch of kids at an assembly.

Embarrass the hell out of them I say. If their attitude is as shit as people say it is they shouldnt be playing league at an elite level in the first place.

Cause we have a shit coach might be Luke's and others response! :)
Wonder what they asked SJ during his water boy duties!

Alan Johnson

The Warriors and NZRL need to take a long-term holistic approach with views beyond the Warriors club. There's all this money coming from people like creepy old Owen Glenn and Eric Watson to prop up an under performing club - good money after bad - when the best way to strengthen the Warriors would surely be to strengthen the whole code in NZ. That's not going to do much for 2017 but it might help us in 2027.

I guess it all just comes down to investment. Developing the domestic and high school competitions. No idea where the money for that would come from - will get back to you on that. Sausage sizzles perhaps?

Apart from my father once upon a time sponsoring the Ellerslie Eagles I have very little to do with the local competitions. I live pretty close to the Glenora Bears so maybe I should put my money where my mouth is and go along to some games.

Penrose Warrior

Morgan clearly isn't the answer either as defense has been terrible.

I don't agree with this one bit.

My case in point would be Ayshford and Kata, particularly Ayshford. Kata was a turnstile last year and Ayshford has long been hated on for his defence, beyond his good years at the Tigers. And look how we're talking about Ayshford, like that side is impenetrable. Kata has come a long way as well.

Defence is attitude and ours stinks. We aren't getting beaten for lack of systems, it's lack of heart and effort. Look at the first 20 minutes last week. People clocking off around the ruck and just basic dumb, lazy shit. That's not on Morgan.

I am consistently impressed with Morgan when he talks and actually think he might be a smokey as the interim coach, should (PLEASE) there be one if a better coach is not appointed. Our players may or may not respect him - if they do he might get the nod - and he has done a fair apprenticeship. If it's not with us, he'll go elsewhere and be a top 8 coach. I am convinced of it.

Course our players might not want someone as strong-minded as him. We'll see.

Big Marn

I am consistently impressed with Morgan when he talks and actually think he might be a smokey as the interim coach, should (PLEASE) there be one if a better coach is not appointed. Our players may or may not respect him - if they do he might get the nod - and he has done a fair apprenticeship. If it's not with us, he'll go elsewhere and be a top 8 coach. I am convinced of it.

Course our players might not want someone as strong-minded as him. We'll see.

Sounds eerily similar to the situation when the knives were out for Elliott. Everyone was saying how good Cappy would be if they gave him a chance...