Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why are the Roosters Tall Poppies ?

taxidriver

LOL, Was that your best shot Walshie ???

I think your previous tactic of hiding behind other peoples posts and jumping out ever so often to give them a knob job may have been your best chance.

Like I said, this guy has problems with the club. Nothing we post can change that.

Not really sure where the arrogance "permeating around the club" comes from. I beleive most Roosters that supporters that post on the forum have been humble throughout the season. Same can be said for the players on the field.

As for Nick bragging, why not. He adores the club, he made this happen, he turned the club around. He's entitled to be proud.

"Cooking the Books", you could be wrong you say? Yet you still stand by your opinion. Thank god that our judcial system does not make its judgement purely on suspicion.

Also funny how his Dragons bought those players who were "shown the door". I suppose the Roosters are guilty of snatching Brett Finch, depriving Canberra of a player which they can throw abuse to.

You know what, your probably right. It's not tall poppy syndrome, in your case it's just an opinion based on misguided substance.

Sad, but I do respect your opinion. I do, really. Why else would I respond to your posts. Are we not allowed to challenge your opinion, is that not a form of arrogance where one cannot refute ones opinion. In essence your opinion is final? Or is your opinion a religiuos belief as it were? Opinions can be swayed, which you will probably see during elections. I just question the substance you base your opinions on.

taxidriver said:

I think your previous tactic of hiding behind other peoples posts and jumping out ever so often to give them a knob job may have been your best chance.

Um Mate !! I posed a question, and when you get to my age you learn to never ask a question without having the answer clearly in your mind !

The answer!! is bigger than just Rugby league in Australia, its the Australian culture that allows and actually promotes attitudes like we have seen in this country for eons regarding winners, loosers, favourites and underdogs. No real club etc etc etc likes to be the favourite in Australia for any sort of contest, why ?? coz the support always goes to the underdog.

What I have done is bate the line to see what sort of fish may bite, in other words in order to see what sort of attitude prevails on this site, to see where the best comments and replies to a controversial question may come from and just who or what the standard of reply would be !

I have posted the same question on 2 other league sites including " The Wall "

I thank you for your participation in my little survey and you will be informed of the results at a later date, however may I say that you are looking good for the major goose prize :lol: :lol: :lol:

Walshie.......

Walshie said:
taxidriver said:

Um Mate !! I posed a question, and when you get to my age you learn to never ask a question without having the answer clearly in your mind !

The answer!! is bigger than just Rugby league in Australia, its the Australian culture that allows and actually promotes attitudes like we have seen in this country for eons regarding winners, loosers, favourites and underdogs. No real club etc etc etc likes to be the favourite in Australia for any sort of contest, why ?? coz the support always goes to the underdog.

What I have done is bate the line to see what sort of fish may bite, in other words in order to see what sort of attitude prevails on this site, to see where the best comments and replies to a controversial question may come from and just who or what the standard of reply would be !

I thank you for your participation in my little survey and you will be informed of the results at a later date, however may I say that you are looking good for the major goose prize :lol: :lol: :lol:

Walshie.......
Dammit... I didn't know there was a Goose Prize. MJ wins hands down, I should have for the Goose. :lol:

taxidriver

C.O - Believe what you like about me and your club, I've told you the truth ignore it or accept it, up to you.

I'm fairly new to this particular forum but where I used to post a couple of your fans made for some pretty interesting reading. Since I've been posting here, I've come a cross quite a few more who have been less than gracious to the panthers and vocal in their attacks on other clubs. A minority for sure but from my experience still a lot more than any other clubs supporters.

Sure Nick can be proud of his club, you may see it differently but to an outsider talking of a dynasty and three in a row before you win your second reeks of arrogance, shows no respect for your opposition and what they have achieved. There is a big difference between being proud publically and being an arrogant prick.

as for cooking the books, last year you were fined for cap indescretions. Although I don't have any hard evidence, I have never come out and said they are guilty. I just find it suspicious that players want to play at your club in some cases for nothing ! I find it suspicious that a player who could command 300-400,000 GBP wants to play for around 2/3 rds of that in AUD, I find it suspicious that on at least 3 occassions your club has stated we are going to do it tough to re-sign "insert players name" yet the player signs with no problems two weeks later. I find it suspicious that given the difficulties you faced (by your own clubs admissions !!) you still manage to sign new players. My opinions aren't baseless, they are based on the information available to me and my interpretation of it. I'm not so conceited that I believe my opinion is gospel but till I see something that sways me, I'm entitled to stick with it (as are you !).

We are looking at things from a different side of the fence, you as a Rooster supporter, me as a non Rooster fan, that doesn't mean my take on things is misguided.

As I've said a couple of times before, Walshie asked a question. I responded based on what I have read, heard and spoken to other fans about.

Catatonic_Omnivore said:
Walshie said:
taxidriver said:

Walshie.......
Dammit... I didn't know there was a Goose Prize. MJ wins hands down, I should have for the Goose. :lol:

Hey !! dont feel bad !! this site wins the prize hands down, the replies from here are brilliant, and they are far better that the wall, I am prepaired to say that this site is now far better than The Wall

taxidriver

Walshie, nice try at salvaging your reputation but sorry, no cigar.

On what basis are the Roosters the "tall poppy" ?

Are you the current premiers? No
Have you won the most Grand Finals? No
Have you won the most Grand Finals lately ? No
Have you had the best run in terms of Semi's appearances lately ? No

Your refusal to acknowledge the facts and that your club doesn't sit at the pinnacle is further testimony to the arrogance that is the real answer to your question.

As for the goose prize, are you sure you are ready to give it up ?

taxidriver said:
Walshie, nice try at salvaging your reputation but sorry, no cigar.

On what basis are the Roosters the "tall poppy" ?

Are you the current premiers? No
Have you won the most Grand Finals? No
Have you won the most Grand Finals lately ? No
Have you had the best run in terms of Semi's appearances lately ? No

Your refusal to acknowledge the facts and that your club doesn't sit at the pinnacle is further testimony to the arrogance that is the real answer to your question.

As for the goose prize, are you sure you are ready to give it up ?

He he ;-) You see its the small or narrow minded people that cant really see the main prize or picture !!

Go see the wall or melons site!

The question was not the real question mate !!

You answered the real question with your input ! can you see that now ? I am sorry for playing with your mind but I have my answer. This site has 300 % more input than the Wall and unfortunately more than a 1000 % more than Melons site !

I now know that its worth spending my time on this site so that I can debate interesting subjects with people like YOU !!! OK ??

You did well and done fine !

Walshie.......

Hey taxidriver,
Have you re-read your posts.

You state you are new to these forums yet in your experience the Roosters supporters are the most vocal in attacking other clubs. Is this your perception or based?

Do you ever venture over to the Souths forum? There are some Tigers supporters out there having a humdinger of a battle with Souths fans. I don't see many Roosters supporters joining in. In fact you could almost say that there are probably a couple of Roosters supporters posting in what you classify as "Vocal Attacks" on other clubs.

Calling Nick an "Arrogant Prick", does this not constitute a vocal attack at our club chairman? Do you practice what you preach or are you just lowering yourself to the standards of others?

As for cooking the books, mate you should buy into the "innocent till proven guilty" blurb. It's a more noble stance. With so much public focus on the Roosters, I would think that they would be foolish to try and rort the cap. It's often the party least likely to commit an indescretion are ones who are probably guilty.

You say that your opinions are not "baseless" and they are based on your interpretation. Well then, it surprises me that you seemed to have judged the Roosters. Yet, you acknowledge that your opinion isn't "Gospel". What would it take to sway that opinion? It seems arguements from fans like myself aint worth the disc space it stored in, eventhough they are relevant.

Yes we are looking at it from different sides. You can be sceptical of my reply but I like others have followed this club for decades. We are entitled to know a little bit more about the club and the players they sign. That's where I feel that your opinions are mis-guided.

You also state that your response is based on what you've read and what other fans have told you. Hmmm... There are fans here that give you a different perspective yet you seem to disregard these. Is it because we are Roosters supporters and our point of view is therefore not valid. No of course not, at least it doesn't seem that way does it.

mj5150

taxidriver said:
As for your list of Dragons players, your stupidity is more evident than ever. Most of the players on that list were shown the door by their respective clubs and NOT ONE player (with the exception of maybe Saleh and Perenera who had the spent most of the season before in the reggies) had regular first grade experience. Your comments on Barrett were the icing on the cake.

So, your clubs basic recruitment policy is picking up players that other clubs rejected? You must be really proud of that practice. Wouldn't it be more beneficial to harness that depth of talen you have in your expansive junior development program and build a strong first grade team from that? Perhaps this is the reason that promising juniors are leaving clubs like yours and heading for more successful clubs that are willing to give them a go. Perhaps that don't like being overlooked for rejects.

taxidriver said:
Let's look at your side shall we. Of the 17 who played the GF how many played FG at other clubs ? At least 7 or 8.

Do we really have to do this? OK then...
Let's take the Dragons' last game of the season (way back in round 26).

Reece Simmonds
Hassan Saleh - Wests Tigers
John Wilshere - Perth, Melbourne, Penrith
Chris Nero
Ben Creagh -
Ben Hornby
Matthew Head -
Luke Bailey
Mark Riddell
Chris Leikvoll - Steelers (hey, if you want to get technical...)
Brent Kite - Raiders
Shaun Timmins - Steelers
Dean Young
Ashton Sims
Craig Stapleton
John Cross - Steelers, Penrith
Robbie Simpson

That's six that have played first grade elsewhere. That figure is low thanks to a few regular first graders not playing this game:-

Trent Barrett - Steelers
Nathan Blacklock - Roosters
Craig Stapelton - Wests Tigers
Henry Perenara - Warriors, Storm

So, on a normal day, we could expect to see anywhere from 8-10 Dragons players take the field that have played first grade elsewhere. If we were, for arguments sake, claim that the entire purchased region of Illawarra is not another club, then the figure is still 5-7. That's not too different to the figure you threw at me for the Roosters. I still don't see the point you are getting at.

taxidriver said:
That's the truth, you wont like it and are sure to attack it but unfortunately for you it wont change it.

Hey, I never said I didn't like it. As for attacking things, I believe that what I'm doing is defence. This is our forum and you;ve come over here to throw this crap at us. I'm not going to lay down and take it...that's not the Rooster spirit.

Bring on Season 2004....150 days to go!

mj5150 said:
taxidriver said:
As for your list of Dragons players, your stupidity is more evident than ever. Most of the players on that list were shown the door by their respective clubs and NOT ONE player (with the exception of maybe Saleh and Perenera who had the spent most of the season before in the reggies) had regular first grade experience. Your comments on Barrett were the icing on the cake.

So, your clubs basic recruitment policy is picking up players that other clubs rejected? You must be really proud of that practice. Wouldn't it be more beneficial to harness that depth of talen you have in your expansive junior development program and build a strong first grade team from that? Perhaps this is the reason that promising juniors are leaving clubs like yours and heading for more successful clubs that are willing to give them a go. Perhaps that don't like being overlooked for rejects.

taxidriver said:
Let's look at your side shall we. Of the 17 who played the GF how many played FG at other clubs ? At least 7 or 8.

Do we really have to do this? OK then...
Let's take the Dragons' last game of the season (way back in round 26).

Reece Simmonds
Hassan Saleh - Wests Tigers
John Wilshere - Perth, Melbourne, Penrith
Chris Nero
Ben Creagh -
Ben Hornby
Matthew Head -
Luke Bailey
Mark Riddell
Chris Leikvoll - Steelers (hey, if you want to get technical...)
Brent Kite - Raiders
Shaun Timmins - Steelers
Dean Young
Ashton Sims
Craig Stapleton
John Cross - Steelers, Penrith
Robbie Simpson

That's six that have played first grade elsewhere. That figure is low thanks to a few regular first graders not playing this game:-

Trent Barrett - Steelers
Nathan Blacklock - Roosters
Craig Stapelton - Wests Tigers
Henry Perenara - Warriors, Storm

So, on a normal day, we could expect to see anywhere from 8-10 Dragons players take the field that have played first grade elsewhere. If we were, for arguments sake, claim that the entire purchased region of Illawarra is not another club, then the figure is still 5-7. That's not too different to the figure you threw at me for the Roosters. I still don't see the point you are getting at.

taxidriver said:
That's the truth, you wont like it and are sure to attack it but unfortunately for you it wont change it.

Hey, I never said I didn't like it. As for attacking things, I believe that what I'm doing is defence. This is our forum and you;ve come over here to throw this crap at us. I'm not going to lay down and take it...that's not the Rooster spirit.

Bring on Season 2004....150 days to go!

Hes been a bit quite :lol: :lol:

I think we have won !!

Shhhhhhh dont wake im up again :lol: :lol:

Simmering in the background he he he

ozzie

GUYS - I am watching this topic just going around like a top - in fact Taxi driver it is awefully brong - why don't you put up some fresh arguements instead of rehashing old debates - which too were awefully boring...

I'll give the topic another day or two to see if it comes alive...

ozzie said:
GUYS - I am watching this topic just going around like a top - in fact Taxi driver it is awefully brong - why don't you put up some fresh arguements instead of rehashing old debates - which too were awefully boring...

I'll give the topic another day or two to see if it comes alive...

Oh !! and then what do you do with it ?

Delete it or let it fade away :?:

mj5150 said:
I'm exhausted. I need a latte. :lol:
You deserve one my friend. I'm a cappucino man myself.

I wonder whether he/she will be back. He/she really has a thing for the Roosters. Just did a search on his/her posts. Almost all carry the same tone of bagging anything red, white & blue.

I can understand the Roosters stance in recruitment. But for a team like the Dragons to recruit externally in large numbers amazes me. I would have thought that the St George/Illawarra region would boast a wealth of talent.

Hardest part for me is that if the Roosters did sign a junior from that area our opinionated poster will once again taunt us with the poaching tag.

Chook

Good post, great read and a big round of applause for mj5150. Don't ever give up your passion mate!

And you can turn this whole juniors argument on it's head with pepople like taxidriver, because it's clubs like his that pathetically waste so much talent and potential with piss poor development and coaching. And what do they do to fix this? They run out and buy established players from other clubs :roll:

Anyway good work guys.

Chook.

taxidriver

Chook said "And you can turn this whole juniors argument on it's head with pepople like taxidriver, because it's clubs like his that pathetically waste so much talent and potential with piss poor development and coaching. And what do they do to fix this? They run out and buy established players from other clubs"

I haven't seen so many flaws in an argument since.....since....since ever !

Waste talent ? Ryles, Bailey, Timmins, Gasnier, Blacklock. 5 who made their first grades debuts in the red and white and have since played for Australia.

Run out and buy established players ??? I'll give you $100 for every player who was an "established" first grader in our starting 17 as long as you are willing to do the same.

At least some of the other posters talk fact, do you want some kleenex to wipe that shit off your chin ?