Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will 2014 be any better?

TimmyB

I think we now have a good coach and a good manager who won't make the same insane blunders that Sheens & Humphries did. I don't see Potter & Mayer letting any good young talent escape. What shits me is self pronounced experts who are always crapping on about what league experts they are, yet a look at the archives shows they were quite complacent about Fifita being shown the door when he was exactly what the team needed.
A bit harsh in my opinion. About two weeks after Fifita left Dwyer got injured and 6 months after that Ellis got injured.

If Ellis and Dwyer were playing, Fifita would still be a big loss. We would still be upset about losing him, but I don't think it would be anywhere near as bad if we were running out Galloway, Woods, Ellis, Dwyer, and Blair. Given that was the intention and those were the circumstances it's a little bit more understandable I think.

BrotherJim05

A bit harsh in my opinion. About two weeks after Fifita left Dwyer got injured and 6 months after that Ellis got injured.

If Ellis and Dwyer were playing, Fifita would still be a big loss. We would still be upset about losing him, but I don't think it would be anywhere near as bad if we were running out Galloway, Woods, Ellis, Dwyer, and Blair. Given that was the intention and those were the circumstances it's a little bit more understandable I think.

Yeah Dwyer getting injured put a massive dent in our plans. He would be playing Origin by now IMO....that bloke hit like a truck

super_coach

Dwyer and Ellis were both great hole runners,but they needed a quality no7 to organize the hole, after Lui was sent packing things went pear shape and that is my main beef with Sheens,he just would not admit he got it all wrong with Benji at seven and bite the bullet and try and address the problem.We saw last week how effective both Benji and the team were,when they were being controlled by a smart no7 playing a traditional no 7 role and not some hybrid style game that Sheens wanted his no7 to play.

Fifita, always thought this could turn out just like the Artie Beetson scenario at Balmain many years ago,where we let a rare talent slip through our fingers because a person let his ego cloud his judgement.

R2Coupe

RLW reports Trent Barrett will be the assistant coach at WTs in 2014.

It was reported in the media earlier in the year Barrett was the coach of choice for WTs' players. Coach in waiting?

Potter is undergoing communication skills training. If we get belted on Friday night Mcknob can offer this up as an excuse in the Mick Potter apologists thread.

BrotherJim05

Source please?

I reckon his "communication skills" are not up to the standard that the players want because he was specifically told that he would be spearheading a clean out this year.

Why would you spend the time getting close to people where your job was to, without bias, cut anyone who did not live up to your standard?

I think next year we will see a shit load more support from the players towards Potter

super_coach

Potter/Barrett combo could be good. A strong person with a good people person. Also Barrett would have to be good for Brooks and hopefully a young 5/8th in Austen

Ron's_Mate

Dwyer & Ellis were second rowers, they didn't do the work of a line breaking prop like Fifita. Imagine if we hadn't signed Blair, but had kept Fifita, and Ellis & Dwyer stayed healthy. One of the best packs around - Tim might even have been able to keep his job.

Radical Rat

Potter/Barrett combo could be good. A strong person with a good people person. Also Barrett would have to be good for Brooks and hopefully a young 5/8th in Austen

Barrett is also really popular amongst NSW players. Hopefully he can help attract some talent.

tumblingdice

Look like we need another major sponsor for 2014....

The crisis engulfing Wests Tigers has taken another turn with their major sponsor, the billionaire property developer Harry Triguboff, telling the club to look for another major backer.
The comments by the founder and managing director of Meriton come as details emerge of an $8 million rescue package put forward during a meeting between NRL chief executive Dave Smith and key officials from Western Suburbs and Balmain. That potential package was due to be discussed during a critical meeting of the Wests Tigers board on Thursday night.
Fairfax Media understands Smith has offered four repayable instalments of $2 million in exchange for a restructure of the club board. Smith is believed to be pushing the club to install a seven-member board, which would include two Balmain directors, two Wests directors and three NRL-appointed directors. The delegation - Wests Tigers and Wests Ashfield chairman Mike Bailey, Wests Tigers deputy chairman and Balmain director Nick Di Girolamo, Wests Ashfield chief executive Simon Cook and Balmain chairman Leslie Glen - met with Smith on Wednesday night.
The move comes after Fairfax Media last week revealed the Tigers needed an injection of $1 million to survive - funds the rich Wests Ashfield were not prepared to provide unless given full control of the joint venture's board.
Advertisement
Triguboff's remarks, on ABC's The Business on Wednesday night, highlight how much the club's boardroom problems could be affecting the joint venture.
Asked if he was happy with the way the club was progressing, Triguboff said: ''No, I'm not happy at all. I've been with them for many years, and I believe that probably it's better that somebody else becomes the major sponsor. I think that they need somebody that really will devote more time to it than I can.''
Triguboff, the merger's inaugural major sponsor, lamented the power struggles at the club, as well as the fact he was not asked for help while Balmain attempted to re-develop their Rozelle leagues club - which has left the Tigers side of the merger struggling financially. ''I think I could have been of help to them when they were trying to develop their site in Balmain, but they never came to me,'' he said.
''It's not that I wanted to buy it, but I thought I could be of help, because I think I could talk on their behalf to the council much better than what they could do. They didn't use that help of mine. But that's only part of the problem. The other problem is that the Tigers from Balmain have done badly, and the Tigers from the Western Suburbs have done very well. The balance of power has changed now towards the ones in the west.''
He maintained he would not pull his financial investment out of the club unless the Tigers found a replacement.
''They'll definitely sort it out,'' he said. ''We have young kids coming up which are very good, we have new management, so I hope everything will be OK. But I think that … I'll always be there.
''If they can't find anyone, I'm always there. But if they can find somebody who really understands football better than I do … I don't understand much … I like it, I love it, I look at it. So if they can, they can. If not, I'm always there for them anyway.''
Triguboff's frank assessment came less than 24 hours before the club's board meeting. Alongside financial decisions, directors were due to discuss a review of the coaching structure at the club.
What has become clear recently is that coach Mick Potter will almost certainly lead the club into the second year of his contract, despite board agitations to sack him earlier this month.
The board is understood to be focusing on the coaching staff around Potter, including the prospect of hiring current Melbourne assistant coach David Kidwell, who is moving back to Sydney.
''I just want to get on with winning footy games - it's a distraction I could do without,'' Potter said, ahead of his side's clash with South Sydney on Friday night.

Matchball

We will get bailed out by the NRL. The Tigers brand is too big to let fail over $2 million.
If they keep the Titans going with near $30 million debt, we are safe.

macnaz

Harry seems a bit sour he wasn't involved but rightfully so.
He should have been given the contract for hundreds of reasons.

Must agree there... im surprised he wasnt the first person approached to atleast advise them on any development if not actualy tender on construction. Very strange