Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Hunt -what are you?

Drag Queen

I judge what I see, he is ok, not elite.
Elite is a long term high performer
That he is not.

Be a tougher judge, not a PC
Elite players don’t get dropped from the team to play off the bench
Nor do they f..k up last grasp plays in a final
Dunno OY. Mental illness is a real thing and I reckon Hunt might be suffering. Just an observation. Treat it like any other illness. Cheers.

Frank Facer

Dunno OY. Mental illness is a real thing and I reckon Hunt might be suffering. Just an observation. Treat it like any other illness. Cheers.
I think you might have been suffering from mental illness too. Just an observation.

BTW I think this whole mental illness thing has been blown totally way out of proportion. I reckon you could put most people under stressful situations and psychologist would be able to diagnose them with certain mental illness. If people encounter numerous crisis's in their life at the same time, they would be able to diagnose them with some kind of mental illness for sure.

TruSaint

I think you might have been suffering from mental illness too. Just an observation.

BTW I think this whole mental illness thing has been blown totally way out of proportion. I reckon you could put most people under stressful situations and psychologist would be able to diagnose them with certain mental illness. If people encounter numerous crisis's in their life at the same time, they would be able to diagnose them with some kind of mental illness for sure.

Thats a big call Frank..

Disappointing to be honest mate. Making assertions about forum members like that is just wrong, as is your general analysis on mental health.

Saint_JimmyG

When I had my business, if an engineer came to me and wanted to transfer to a lessor position, I would allow it on the condition he took the relevant pay cut.

So if Hunt wants hooker he needs to take a 300k pay cut, we then need to time it for when McInnes's contract is up and when a top grade halfback is able to be signed.

So in my opinion it won't happen.

One other option is available.

7. Hunt.
9. Robson.

Crush

That's not going to be a well received post Frank. You're off the mark here mate.

redandwhite4evr

When I had my business, if an engineer came to me and wanted to transfer to a lessor position, I would allow it on the condition he took the relevant pay cut.

So if Hunt wants hooker he needs to take a 300k pay cut, we then need to time it for when McInnes's contract is up and when a top grade halfback is able to be signed.

So in my opinion it won't happen.

Possm- you're being too kind- if a player doesn't want to play the SPECIALIST position they were signed for on elite money over a long period, SGI should say- we didn't sign you as a hooker, we're not going to play you there as we have two Origin standard/potential Origin standard hookers already. We will release you from your contract if you ask so that you can play hooker somewhere else but it won't be at SGI. We then use that money to buy a specialist halfback- maybe from England if necessary.

However, as you observed, Hunt knows that he will not get the money as a hooker that he is currently earning as a half back and it'll end up a Mexican standoff. Hunt unwilling to leave the club and SGI unwilling to play him as he isn't up to it-or, more likely, playing him at No 7 because club management don't want to admit we wasted our money on him.

Either way, we're screwed.

It all boils down to a poor judgement call in the first instance by Millward in ignoring the ominous signs of him being dropped by both Bennett and Walters at club and rep level.

Drag Queen

Possm- you're being too kind- if a player doesn't want to play the SPECIALIST position they were signed for on elite money over a long period, SGI should say- we didn't sign you as a hooker, we're not going to play you there as we have two Origin standard/potential Origin standard hookers already. We will release you from your contract if you ask so that you can play hooker somewhere else but it won't be at SGI. We then use that money to buy a specialist halfback- maybe from England if necessary.

However, as you observed, Hunt knows that he will not get the money as a hooker that he is currently earning as a half back and it'll end up a Mexican standoff. Hunt unwilling to leave the club and SGI unwilling to play him as he isn't up to it-or, more likely, playing him at No 7 because club management don't want to admit we wasted our money on him.

Either way, we're screwed.

It all boils down to a poor judgement call in the first instance by Millward in ignoring the ominous signs of him being dropped by both Bennett and Walters at club and rep level.
Hard to dispute RW4. It's a hard one. Obviously has the talent but has barriers which we have all seen. Foresight is a wonderful thing. I'm hoping he gets his mojo back. Haven't seen much of it but apparently it's there..

JDHD

Unfortunately, I agree.

Teddy Atlas speaking on Mike Tyson sums it up pretty well in the video below (and I think the same argument can be made re: Ben Hunt).

Each time Hunt's been put to the test he's come up short.

In saying that, he's only 28, and he can turn it around and I sincerely hope he does turn it around.

The sports psychologist is a good start, but sooner or later you have to stop thinking/talking and simply start doing.

God I wish there was someone better than Mary mentoring him.

I
hope Benjamin well...

He had Bennett mentoring him for three years.

Terrible post.

Go and do some research on mental health issues.

Trivialising it like you’ve just done is part of the reason people don’t speak up and get help.

One other option is available.

7. Hunt.
9. Robson.

Yes I agree. I see Robson as our long term hooker but this is a work in progress. As others have said McInnes is so important to us in defence. His work rate in defence is second to none in the NRL. It will be a big task for Robson to match that.

I think first up Mary has got to have Robson as our 17th man on most occasions during season 2019 and give him the triangle role that Dean Young once had. I rate Robson very highly and believe he could assume this role during this current season.

Fire

He had Bennett mentoring him for three years.
That was all before this year.

Bennett had Hunt 2-3 seconds away from being a Premiership-winning half. All jokes, .gifs of Hunt dropping the trophy, etc, aside, anyone can drop a ball.

Dropping a ball is a mistake. f**king up two clutch plays (i.e., Origin and Prelim) are poor decisions.

He needs to get out of his head and into the game.

Anyways, there's a long time to wait. As good as it was seeing Hunt score under the posts against the Broncs at Kogarah, etc, it's only a regular season game - we'll have to wait until September next year to see if he can put these things behind him.

It's in him to do it. See, for example, the try against the Rabbitohs in the Prelim Final.

denis preston

Ch 9 at it again ! How do they promote the forthcoming tests ? Lets ask Hunt about , in their words , his up and down season.Jesus the bloke has been selected to play for his country for f**ks sake so why should they lead with that one ? The media's treatment of him borders on bullying.

When the Dragons forwards do their job they get the kudos and some get selected for SOO. If they are not the media isolate Hunt as the cause of the sides demise.

ALSGI

Ch 9 at it again ! How do they promote the forthcoming tests ? Lets ask Hunt about , in their words , his up and down season.Jesus the bloke has been selected to play for his country for f**ks sake so why should they lead with that one ? The media's treatment of him borders on bullying.

When the Dragons forwards do their job they get the kudos and some get selected for SOO. If they are not the media isolate Hunt as the cause of the sides demise.
Agree, media love to target him although very quiet on Inglis. Mind you some on here aren’t much better.
Hopefully it will make him stronger.

getsmarty

huntb_2nh_6493.jpg

REPRESENTATIVE

Hunt better equipped for NRL pressure after rollercoaster season
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 06:13 PM

Ben Hunt believes he is now better equipped to cope with the scrutiny on the game's top playmakers after a rollercoaster season with St George Illawarra and Queensland.

Hunt, who will perform the role of bench utility for Australia in Saturday's trans-Tasman Test against New Zealand in Auckland, was hailed as a saviour by Dragons fans at the start of the season but before the end of it he'd felt the need to seek professional help after becoming a target for disgruntled supporters.

He also lost the Queensland No.7 jersey to recalled Kangaroos halfback Daly Cherry-Evans after Origin II and had to endure further criticism for deciding to run the ball – instead of kicking it – on St George Illawarra's last play in their epic 13-12 semi-final defeat by South Sydney, which led to Adam Reynolds kicking his third field goal of the match.

The fallout was enough to prompt Hunt to consider a switch to hooker but he declared on the eve of his fifth Test appearance for Australia that he is now better prepared to deal with the constant focus on the performances of NRL playmakers.

"It's about handling the expectations and pressure that comes with those positions, and learning how to best deal with it," Hunt said.

Hunt: Weight off my shoulders

"It was very difficult but I look back on it as a big learning curve for myself. I haven't quite been through such a difficult stage of my career and I didn't really know how to handle it.

"Now I have been through it I have got a grasp on it. If it happens again in the future I will be able to deal with it better."

Hunt's endurance and versatility has earned him the support of Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga, who chose him as the back-up dummy half for Cameron Smith during last year's World Cup campaign and had no hesitation in selecting him for the role again against New Zealand.

The 28-year-old's preferred position remains halfback but he is happy to play hooker or come off the bench in a jack-in-the-box middle forward's role as Cherry-Evans, Michael Morgan and Kalyn Ponga have done for Queensland or Australia.

"Mal wants me to bring a lot of energy off the bench, and line speed and things like that in defence," Hunt said. "With the ball, he wants me to be a bit creative in the middle using our forwards rather than one-out hit-ups.

"He has told me he has got a lot of faith in me and believes I can play good footy. It wasn't the best back end of the season and for him to be loyal to me I am really grateful."

Mal's message to Ben Hunt

Meninga has also told Hunt to be prepared to play dummy half if new Kangaroos hooker Damien Cook needs a spell and he is more than comfortable in that role after playing there for Brisbane last year when Andrew McCullough was out injured.

"Long-term I really like playing halfback and I enjoy that but if any team wants me to pick me to play hooker it is a position I found I am pretty good at and I can handle it," Hunt said.

Kiwis v Kangaroos
What will be the result of Saturday's Kiwis v Kangaroos clash?

Kiwis v Kangaroos What will be the result of Saturday's Kiwis v Kangaroos clash?
  • Australia by 1-10
    0%
  • Australia by 11+
    0%
  • New Zealand by 1-10
    0%
  • New Zealand by 11+
    0%

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...-for-nrl-pressure-after-rollercoaster-season/

Drag Queen

huntb_2nh_6493.jpg

REPRESENTATIVE

Hunt better equipped for NRL pressure after rollercoaster season
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 06:13 PM

Ben Hunt believes he is now better equipped to cope with the scrutiny on the game's top playmakers after a rollercoaster season with St George Illawarra and Queensland.

Hunt, who will perform the role of bench utility for Australia in Saturday's trans-Tasman Test against New Zealand in Auckland, was hailed as a saviour by Dragons fans at the start of the season but before the end of it he'd felt the need to seek professional help after becoming a target for disgruntled supporters.

He also lost the Queensland No.7 jersey to recalled Kangaroos halfback Daly Cherry-Evans after Origin II and had to endure further criticism for deciding to run the ball – instead of kicking it – on St George Illawarra's last play in their epic 13-12 semi-final defeat by South Sydney, which led to Adam Reynolds kicking his third field goal of the match.

The fallout was enough to prompt Hunt to consider a switch to hooker but he declared on the eve of his fifth Test appearance for Australia that he is now better prepared to deal with the constant focus on the performances of NRL playmakers.

"It's about handling the expectations and pressure that comes with those positions, and learning how to best deal with it," Hunt said.

Hunt: Weight off my shoulders

"It was very difficult but I look back on it as a big learning curve for myself. I haven't quite been through such a difficult stage of my career and I didn't really know how to handle it.

"Now I have been through it I have got a grasp on it. If it happens again in the future I will be able to deal with it better."

Hunt's endurance and versatility has earned him the support of Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga, who chose him as the back-up dummy half for Cameron Smith during last year's World Cup campaign and had no hesitation in selecting him for the role again against New Zealand.

The 28-year-old's preferred position remains halfback but he is happy to play hooker or come off the bench in a jack-in-the-box middle forward's role as Cherry-Evans, Michael Morgan and Kalyn Ponga have done for Queensland or Australia.

"Mal wants me to bring a lot of energy off the bench, and line speed and things like that in defence," Hunt said. "With the ball, he wants me to be a bit creative in the middle using our forwards rather than one-out hit-ups.

"He has told me he has got a lot of faith in me and believes I can play good footy. It wasn't the best back end of the season and for him to be loyal to me I am really grateful."

Mal's message to Ben Hunt

Meninga has also told Hunt to be prepared to play dummy half if new Kangaroos hooker Damien Cook needs a spell and he is more than comfortable in that role after playing there for Brisbane last year when Andrew McCullough was out injured.

"Long-term I really like playing halfback and I enjoy that but if any team wants me to pick me to play hooker it is a position I found I am pretty good at and I can handle it," Hunt said.

Kiwis v Kangaroos
What will be the result of Saturday's Kiwis v Kangaroos clash?

Kiwis v Kangaroos What will be the result of Saturday's Kiwis v Kangaroos clash?
  • Australia by 1-10
    0%
  • Australia by 11+
    0%
  • New Zealand by 1-10
    0%
  • New Zealand by 11+
    0%

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...-for-nrl-pressure-after-rollercoaster-season/
Hope he has a blinder, and that's coming from a Kiwi.