Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 memberships

I think the allocation of more Saturday afternoon twilight games is a good move by the NRL and shows they are listening to an extent. But when it comes to Monday night they are bowing to a Pay TV request that can be catered for by replacing it with Sunday night footy.

Sadly Monday night is the big money earner from Pay TV so is here to stay, he who pays the piper and all that.

I expect the Sunday night game will become the slot the NRL include when they finally bring in two new teams and have an extra game slot to play with. Good for TV, good for fans, good for live coverage. Will be interesting to see if there is a fight between pay tv and FTA to own it.

Spot On

Wests Tigers - 4731

very disappointing from the fans. club has done as much as they can really, extremely competitive packages, solid marketing but people are still turning their back on them and finding excuses.

probably will barely break 10k unless we finish in the top 4 of the NRL 9s or win our first 3-4 games.

Would think they won't get near 10K based on the current figure.

Quite astounding that number as it stands now.

Wests Tigers - 4731

very disappointing from the fans. club has done as much as they can really, extremely competitive packages, solid marketing but people are still turning their back on them and finding excuses.

probably will barely break 10k unless we finish in the top 4 of the NRL 9s or win our first 3-4 games.

I really don't think they have had solid marketing. Haven't heard anything about Tigers memberships apart from club website and Twitter. Disappointing results in 2013 and devision within the club make it difficult for people who are on the fence about purchasing membership.
The real question is why numbers are down on previous years. Why haven't people who have been members in the past re-newed.
I think it all comes down to expectations of the 2014 season.

I belive the 10k will be reached. Most people tend to wait till last minute to buy membership

great_head

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010
Rabbitohs 23,194 27,324 22,154 20,181 18,716
Broncos 14,750 25,644 26,216 16,138 14,179
Knights 13,178 16,513 19,399 15,188 8,485
Dragons 13,049 19,731 19,223 20,673 15,345
Eels 11,772 16,937 11,012 12,121 11,133
Bulldogs 11,000 17,366 13,544 14,221 11,886
Storm 9,794 14,970 14,762 11,851 10,360
Roosters 9,665 13,751 10,256 10,073 6,116
Cowboys 8,269 10,966 10,336 8,458 9,180
Sea Eagles 6,590 11,958 10,466 7,015 5,112
Panthers 6,187 5,822 5,686 6,421 4,541
Warriors 4,979 10,116 10,938 5,472 4,832
Tigers 4,731 11,729 10,305 9,154 6,526
Sharks 4,337 10,152 5,126 6,422 4,873
Titans 4,112 7,338 6,674 8,560 5,441
Raiders 3,443 8,807 8,264 8,233 6,134

Total 149,050 229,124 204,361 180,181 142,859

Hello, I'm The Doctor

May be the excuse the Tigers need to move to a one stadium policy.

I sort of agree with this...

Spread evenly among 3 stadiums seems like way too much to me. IMO,there are really only 2 ways to play at multiple stadiums.

• Play exclusively between 2 stadiums; ala, Dragons (pre-2014)
Or
  • One main stadium, plus one off games; Eg, Rabbitohs/Bulldogs/Parramatta.

Ive said it before, but I do believe the Tigers best option is to focus on Liverpool and South-West from there; but thats another debate

Porkie

The Rabbitohs will surpass all records this season with 30,000+ members.

A truly magnificent achievement from a wonderful club.

No wonder they are known world wide as 'The Pride of the League'.

taipan

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

Can't believe Sharks membership still remains at 4,337,the same figure applicable at 21st December .'No one signed up in a month:sarcasm:

great_head

Can't believe Sharks membership still remains at 4,337,the same figure applicable at 21st December .'No one signed up in a month:sarcasm:

Most of those bottom teams will be significantly higher. just dont have the figures for them mate.

if you find out what the sharks numbers are let me know

insert.pause

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

Broncos website says 15,683.

Swamp

As of this evening websites show:

Broncos -16,000
Bulldogs - 11,057
Souths - 23,294
Eels - 11,837
Cowboys - 9,386

pHyR3

I really don't think they have had solid marketing. Haven't heard anything about Tigers memberships apart from club website and Twitter. Disappointing results in 2013 and devision within the club make it difficult for people who are on the fence about purchasing membership.
The real question is why numbers are down on previous years. Why haven't people who have been members in the past re-newed.
I think it all comes down to expectations of the 2014 season.

I belive the 10k will be reached. Most people tend to wait till last minute to buy membership

well, they've been trying to engage people via social media as you pointed out.

they also introduced a new 'member's xmas BBQ' which i found very enjoyable. Free food, game of touch footy with the players (only forwards as backs were still training) and a chance to meet the boys/hear some speeches. This is a bit more long term to be honest, as people are more likely to renew and once word spreads then people are more likely to sign up.

Also, they've been trying to market the Camden trial well through players like Tedesco (a local junior who still lives there). The membership packages have been more than competitive, they have been DIRT cheap. $50 membership for FOUR games PLUS four more free away ANZ games making it $6.25 a game and you get the member kit (which seems okay).

They could probably have done a bit more with radio, tv and newspaper ads. But I'm sure that will come around the 9s tournament, a little before and a little after if we do well. And then ramping it up in late Feb and early march before the season gets underway.

sensesmaybenumbed

The Rabbitohs will surpass all records this season with 30,000+ members.

A truly magnificent achievement from a wonderful club.

No wonder they are known world wide as 'The Pride of the League'.

It's a small world after all....

For porkie at least.

CC_Roosters

Wests have a lot of work to do. The Dragons kicked on pretty well after a late start, although it will be interesting to see where they end up with their numbers after changing the stadia arrangements.

Lockyer4President!

They have been pushing pretty hard. Two full time guys on the phones all week.

Our membership is fair weather though. Between those crying about Benji & Beau leaving to those sooking about not playing all their games in Campbelltown.

Our fans want something for nothing in great part as well which doesn't help

Two blokes manning the phones all week??

Please tell me it's early in the morning and my sarcasm sector is off...

They should be running radio ads all over Sydney, they should have a 2014 membership tv ad focussing on the promising juniors for the next few months, there should be partial page ads in the sport sections of the SMH & DT and full page ads in the local district newspapers. Etc, etc, etc

Obviously convincing existing fans to sign up is failing, they need to appeal to that huge and latent supporter base all over the greater Sydney area.

Surprised some of the contra from the TV deals isn't being used to give clubs membership ads on TV.

slipperykinchela

Wests have a lot of work to do. The Dragons kicked on pretty well after a late start, although it will be interesting to see where they end up with their numbers after changing the stadia arrangements.

The memberships were released after the stadium policy was released

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Surprised some of the contra from the TV deals isn't being used to give clubs membership ads on TV.

Because the contra is a finite resource the ARLC possess and there is undoubtedly a more cost effective way to use it than handing it to clubs and saying "just do your best..."