Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Rabbitohs Rumours, Signings and News

handyman2190

Im sitting here watching the storm bulldogs game wondering how the refs dont penalise storm or riff for offsides and holding down in tackles. These teams are coached how to do this they manipulate the rules, so my question is, why the hell we dont wake up and fight back,why? The refs are another question,why someone dosent sit down and edit a tape and show the bosses whats going on,why?

Veracity14

Im sitting here watching the storm bulldogs game wondering how the refs dont penalise storm or riff for offsides and holding down in tackles. These teams are coached how to do this they manipulate the rules, so my question is, why the hell we dont wake up and fight back,why? The refs are another question,why someone dosent sit down and edit a tape and show the bosses whats going on,why?

because they’re very good at what they do, they control the ruck, & if you control the ruck you win more times than not
Penrith, like Melbourne work very well in their wrestling to get players on their back in defence, giving them that split second, then if they do lay on opponents in the tackle they play the numbers realising most refs might penalise them once or twice & are likely to get sick of doing it after a while, if a ref does start really getting them they may have to change their game
In attack they do very well against the less well drilled sides to go to ground on their bellies giving them quick play the balls
It’s something that I hope we can get better at

callmack1

What’s The Buzz: Latrell Mitchell’s act of kindness for young Rooster

Forget the Souths-Roosters rivalry and hatred, forget Latrell Mitchell’s bitter departure from the club – this is the story that illustrates Mitchell’s true colours.

Phil Rothfield

Latrell Mitchell will more than likely be embarrassed that we’re telling this story.
There were no cameras around, no media minders, officials or player managers.

It’s an important story because it shows another side to the superstar South Sydney Rabbitohs fullback that will make all rugby league fans proud.

Last week Latrell was driving along Anzac Parade at Kensington when he noticed a young footy player in a Sydney Roosters outfit waiting at a bus shelter to get to training at Matraville.

It was Harold Mathews (Under 17s) five-eighth Kahu Capper, a young Kiwi and Waverley College student who lives in the Roosters academy for their elite juniors.

We’ll let Kahu’s dad, Wayne, take up the story.

“Latrell saw him waiting for the bus, just like he used to when he was a youngster at the Roosters,” Wayne said.

“He pulled over in his ute then reversed back to the bus stop, wound down the passenger window and called out: ‘Hey bra jump in, I’ll drop you to training.’

“My son couldn’t believe it. Latrell was asking all the questions. Where do you come from, what school do you go to, what position do you play? He was awesome.

“He said he remembered waiting at that same bus stop when he was starting out in the Roosters system. He was the same age and had the same dreams.

“Latrell came from Taree, my son comes from New Zealand. Another young fella trying to make it in the big city. It’s a beautiful story about a great man.”

Kahu is one of a dozen elite juniors who live in club accommodation in the area while attending school and preparing for careers in the NRL.

The 16-year-old says he was blown away when Latrell pulled over.

“He’s not hard to recognise and I couldn’t believe it,” Kahu said, “He knew I was a Roosters junior from the training gear and for the whole trip he was asking about my life, the similarities when he was 16 and offering me a few tips. It was just unreal.”

Latrell has never been one to seek publicity.

We only heard about this kind act via Roosters Harold Matthews assistant coach Taite Barnes, who thought it was a story that should be told.

That his bitter departure from the Roosters a couple of years back didn’t matter.

Forget the Souths-Roosters rivalry and hatred. He just wanted to help out the kid.

It is a significant story for your columnist because I have been one of his harshest critics around his attitude and on-field behaviour in recent years.

Every now and then it doesn’t hurt to concede that you’ve got it wrong.

Latrell is obviously a really decent person.

callmack1

From Zero Tackle,

"Spoil the game": V'Landys fires up over go slow approach in opening Rounds

Australian Rugby League Commission chairman Peter V'Landys has unloaded at all 16 NRL clubs, threatening them with sin bins and other on-field action if the ruck continues to be slowed down.

The opening weeks of the season, under a change of rule which is now seeing penalties blown inside a team's own 40-metre zone rather than a six again for ruck infringements and offsides, has seen a reduction in the pace of play.

Referees seem to have gone away from calling six agains as a general rule, with many games only seeing a small handful, as compared to last year when it was the norm to see them handed out.

V'Landys has accused the competition's teams of spoiling the game though and promised a crackdown when speaking to The Daily Telegraph, with a meeting on Tuesday of the commission to demand answers from coaches over why wrestling has been brought back into the game.

“We are putting the coaches and players on notice – don’t think that because you’ve got away with it over the last couple of rounds that you will get away with it for the rest of the year,” V’landys told the publication.

“They’re on notice - we will give ‘six agains’ when players are wrestling and trying to slow down the ruck. If they continually breach and slow down the ruck – and spoil the game for the fans – then players will be sent to the sin bin for 10 minutes.

“We’re not going to tolerate the wrestle or slowing down the ruck. I’ve been monitoring this for the last couple of weeks and the wrestle is starting to creep back in and the ruck is slowly down."

While penalty counts have gone up on the back of the rule change, six agains have fallen, and stats confirm the pace of play has significantly slowed down with referees not handing out six agains.

Blowout scorelines have also reduced in another revelation that the new rule, while working for its intended purpose, is not being backed up by the correct calling of six agains, with consistency also seemingly going out the back window.

callmack1

'They cheat better' - Gallen and Gus clash over NRL 'bias': https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/ac39a5848f973ed846a66616bd7cb58e

Also, from Zero Tackle,

"It's not like there's a crackdown" - Annesley bombs sin bin theory despite spike

NRL head of football Graham Annesley has dismissed criticism over the NRL's seemingly ever increasing use of the sin bin, claiming there has been no crackdown.

While consistency of its application remains a major issue for fans, Annesley, who has faced intense questioning on a number of issues already this year, defended the NRL's use of the punishment.

The sin bin was brought back to life in a big way during Magic Round last year, which saw a crackdown across the course of the weekend.

While that stance softened as the remainder of the season went on, this year has already seen a number of questionable sin bin decisions, while other offences have been allowed to go without.

Of particular note were a pair of sin bins to a trio of North Queensland Cowboys last weekend, as well as a "late tackle" during the St George Illawarra Dragons Round 2 loss to the Penrith Panthers, committed by Jaydn Su'A.

The impact of the sin bin has been well documented, with the Panthers running on 14 points against the Dragons during the ten minutes Su'A sat in the sin bin, while the Cowboys, who spent 30 minutes in total with 12 players on the park against the Roosters on Saturday evening, were well and truly thumped on the final scoreboard.

According to The Sydney Morning Herald, the current sin bin rate this year is 0.7 per game, which is exactly the same as last year on the whole, however, that doesn't take into account the Magic Round crackdown, when nine players were sin binned and three players were sent off in the same round.

Data reveals that there have been 20 sin bins across the first four rounds this year - the most in the last three years were when ten players were forced onto the sideline in 2020.

Despite that, Annesley said he believes it has been used properly.

“I’m not watching games going, ‘That’s not a sin bin,’” Annesley said.

“There are some where the decision could have gone either way, but that will always be the case. It’s not like there’s a crackdown or an order that more players need to go to the sin bin, we’re just continuing on from where we left off last year.”

Annesley said that while Magic Round saw a crackdown, what happened afterwards was "the norm" and it has simply continued into the new year.

“I agree, that if you look at the first four rounds last year and the first four rounds this year, that it’s higher,” Annesley said.

“However, that didn’t turn out to be the norm last year. What turned out to be the norm last year was what happened after Magic Round.

“If you look at the numbers that we had across last season compared to the numbers we’re currently tracking on, they are very similar. In some ways, it was the first part of the season last year that was the anomaly, not this year.”

callmack1

'Ridiculous' NRL rule Gus wants scrapped: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/phil-gould-rules-seventackle-set/1db8af3b-16ba-42eb-a505-70422f76deb8

From Zero Tackle. Pretty excited about this personally,

Kiwis pip Warriors for homecoming post

The New Zealand national team has won the right to host the first contest back on Kiwi soil, with Michael Maguire's men to face Tonga a full week before the Warriors make their return to Mount Smart.

The world's number-one ranked side will run out onto the Penrose venue on Saturday, June 25 to face Kristian Woolf's much-ameliorated Tongan team, while Nathan Brown's band of travelling Warriors will be forced to wait until July 3 to do battle with the Wests Tigers.

While the decision to drop the international test in ahead of the highly-anticipated NRL clash ruffled some feathers within the Warriors' camp, the loose threat that players under Brown's watch would not be released for duty has in fact amounted to nothing, per Stuff.co.nz.

This relaxed stance will now allow Chanel Harris-Tevita, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Jazz Tevaga, Shaun Johnson and a hobbled Tohu Harris to enter Maguire's selection frame.

Although fanatics of the premiership-less franchise will now be made to wait more than 950 days between watching their stars live, the seven-day window is sure see a veritable swathe roll through the gates, with the Kiwi Ferns also donning the boots in a curtain-raiser.

The Test will represent the first occasion since November 2019 that the Kiwis have congregated - a 23-8 victory over Great Britain in Christchurch.

The one-off clash will act as the nation's first sign of a tune-up ahead of the World Cup opener against Lebanon on Sunday, October 16 in Warrington.

250excf

Calmack mate just a suggestion by why don’t you make up a thread for all your news articles and updates they have nothing to do with signi gs and rumours
You need your own page bro 😎

Veracity14

Encouraging to hear from the boys at Rabbitohs Radio that we’re meeting with & trying to sign an absolute gun second rower from the Goosters Matthews cup team, young Ethan Roberts is their captain & the grandson of former South’s second rower Paul Roberts, so he’s pretty much one of ours anyway
Hes in the same team as young Fittler where it’s said that Fittler is actually only the third best back rower behind this bloke
Hopefully the lure of meeting up with Latrell will help make his mind up