Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

Brisbane Watch:

Broncos 32,322
Dolphins 27,712
Lions 23,647
Bit misleading with the Lion's figure considering they've only played 2 games at the Gabba and you include a neutral game they played in regional Adelaide. Should drop a little from the Gabba average of 31,806 with us playing Fremantle this weekend who aren't really a big draw.

Before I get the hate messages about "fumble ball" and "AFL", I'll put it out there that yes I'm a Lions member first and foremost, but I'm also a Cowboys member and grew up in Toowoomba so I've always had a soft spot for League. Yes, shocking I know someone can support teams in both codes. I've been a long-time reader of LU but I never post solely due to the amount of abuse AFL watchers get. I honestly don't get why more people can't respect each code to their own.

Alright back to the point I wanted to make, I went to my first game in Townsville with my half-brother (who's why I support the Cows) on the weekend, and the atmosphere was electric. It really is an amazing stadium and for any Cows fans who haven't made the pilgrimage North it's worth it. Heading to Magic Round with a group of mates for the third year in a row next week and I can't wait. Having been to both Magic and Gather now, it certainly is a lot more convenient that all the games are held in one venue. Gather felt more like a holiday and Magic normally feels more like a festival if that makes sense. That's just my POV. The NRL crowds have been electric this year though so I can't wait to feel the ground rumble at Suncorp next weekend. Next on my NRL Bucket List though is a Suncorp State of Origin. Up the Cows

The Penguin #6.

Yes, shocking I know someone can support teams in both codes.
But in all seriousness unless you`ve been brainwashed from birth fumbleball is the most ridiculous game on earth and that includes that game in Afghanistan were they fight over a dead sheep on horses.
I went to my first game in Townsville with my half-brother
Why didn`t you take the other half.

It really is an amazing stadium and for any Cows fans who haven't made the pilgrimage North it's worth it.
Thanks for the free advice.

Gather felt more like a holiday and Magic normally feels more like a festival if that makes sense. That's just my POV.
Well you got that one right and that`s the difference between League and fumbleball. One is the real thing, the other, well, just a holiday.

Colk

Bit misleading with the Lion's figure considering they've only played 2 games at the Gabba and you include a neutral game they played in regional Adelaide. Should drop a little from the Gabba average of 31,806 with us playing Fremantle this weekend who aren't really a big draw.

Before I get the hate messages about "fumble ball" and "AFL", I'll put it out there that yes I'm a Lions member first and foremost, but I'm also a Cowboys member and grew up in Toowoomba so I've always had a soft spot for League. Yes, shocking I know someone can support teams in both codes. I've been a long-time reader of LU but I never post solely due to the amount of abuse AFL watchers get. I honestly don't get why more people can't respect each code to their own.

Alright back to the point I wanted to make, I went to my first game in Townsville with my half-brother (who's why I support the Cows) on the weekend, and the atmosphere was electric. It really is an amazing stadium and for any Cows fans who haven't made the pilgrimage North it's worth it. Heading to Magic Round with a group of mates for the third year in a row next week and I can't wait. Having been to both Magic and Gather now, it certainly is a lot more convenient that all the games are held in one venue. Gather felt more like a holiday and Magic normally feels more like a festival if that makes sense. That's just my POV. The NRL crowds have been electric this year though so I can't wait to feel the ground rumble at Suncorp next weekend. Next on my NRL Bucket List though is a Suncorp State of Origin. Up the Cows

Good on ya mate.

I can’t stand AFL personally but in reality there would be a lot of people like you who watch both.

Good on ya mate.

I can’t stand AFL personally but in reality there would be a lot of people like you who watch both.
Trust me there is. I played Aussie Rules in Toowoomba during school and for a few years after and we were all still heavily into our League (run tipping comps, talk SOO mockup teams and Fantasy/Supercoach). I've always hated the code war stuff solely because each different sport has its own strengths and skills that make them unique and enjoyable to watch. I've always been envious of US sports culture because there isn't anywhere near the amount of Code War talk amongst their Big 4 Leagues. It's more you support your own and have rivalries with opposing states. I hope one day in Aus we get to the point where most sports fanatics have an AFL, NRL, NBL and BBL team. But until then it looks like I'm in the minority.

If you loved the atmosphere up in Townsville this will blow your mind.

Suncorp’s noise containers are incredible. You best get your tickets asap - pretty close to selling out.
It was in the works a few months ago, alas my enlistment with the ADF begins next month (hence all the footy trips) and I'll be down in Wagga for 5 months so I've had to put it on hold. I have been to Suncorp for the aforementioned previous 2 Magic Rounds, Broncos V Storm in 2017, Broncos V Roosters in 2022 and 2 Cows Derbies in 2019 & 2022. Also been to a couple of Roar games and the Wallabies doubleheader in 2021. But everyone says that SOO at Suncorp is a must-see so hopefully I time it right and catch a thrilling Maroons win.

docbrown

I hope one day in Aus we get to the point where most sports fanatics have an AFL, NRL, NBL and BBL team. But until then it looks like I'm in the minority.
That doesn’t even really happen in the states. People don’t support and follow every team in every sport league in their cities. They have finite attention spans and wallets. Sure, they might join a bandwagon occasionally but they still pick and choose based on personal preferences. For example, I love ice hockey and NFL. I’ve been to multiple games over there. I’ll watch baseball every second year or so but without alcohol I’m quickly reminded why I don’t watch it. NBA doesn’t appeal to me at all. I couldn’t name more than 2 MLS teams. Other people will have other preferences.

Similarly over here, I love rugby league. I’ll occasionally watch cricket (see the same alcohol rule as baseball). But to me AFL is a form of torture. That whistle going off every five seconds is like nails down a chalkboard to me. But to each their own. You probably don’t give a crap about the Australian lacrosse league. It doesn’t make you a bad person or less of an Australian anything. Just like not watching AFL or Rugby League does either. Again - it’s personal preferences. What entertains you? What makes you happy?

It’s when a self-declared ‘national sport’ and some of its more fanatical followers start suggesting that you’re less of an Australian for not watching it that my lack of interest turns to outright anger. No different to when that bullshit gets peddled around in politics to cut others down.

So if having AFL, NRL, BBL, NBL teams to follow is what you want to do, then do It. But it’s a near impossible standard to expect of others. I’ll watch what I want and impose no expectations on others to do the same. To quote a close American friend of mine who is a Patrick Henry fan, ‘give me liberty or f*** off’.

Colk

That doesn’t even really happen in the states. People don’t support and follow every team in every sport league in their cities. They have finite attention spans and wallets. Sure, they might join a bandwagon occasionally but they still pick and choose based on personal preferences. For example, I love ice hockey and NFL. I’ve been to multiple games over there. I’ll watch baseball every second year or so but without alcohol I’m quickly reminded why I don’t watch it. NBA doesn’t appeal to me at all. I couldn’t name more than 2 MLS teams. Other people will have other preferences.

Similarly over here, I love rugby league. I’ll occasionally watch cricket (see the same alcohol rule as baseball). But to me AFL is a form of torture. That whistle going off every five seconds is like nails down a chalkboard to me. But to each their own. You probably don’t give a crap about the Australian lacrosse league. It doesn’t make you a bad person or less of an Australian anything. Just like not watching AFL or Rugby League does either. Again - it’s personal preferences. What entertains you? What makes you happy?

It’s when a self-declared ‘national sport’ and some of its more fanatical followers start suggesting that you’re less of an Australian for not watching it that my lack of interest turns to outright anger. No different to when that bullshit gets peddled around in politics to cut others down.

So if having AFL, NRL, BBL, NBL teams to follow is what you want to do, then do It. But it’s a near impossible standard to expect of others. I’ll watch what I want and impose no expectations on others to do the same. To quote a close American friend of mine who is a Patrick Henry fan, ‘give me liberty or f*** off’.

100%. Like I’m the total opposite of you with American sports for example but whatever floats your boat.

Dark Corner

Trust me there is. I played Aussie Rules in Toowoomba during school and for a few years after and we were all still heavily into our League (run tipping comps, talk SOO mockup teams and Fantasy/Supercoach). I've always hated the code war stuff solely because each different sport has its own strengths and skills that make them unique and enjoyable to watch. I've always been envious of US sports culture because there isn't anywhere near the amount of Code War talk amongst their Big 4 Leagues. It's more you support your own and have rivalries with opposing states. I hope one day in Aus we get to the point where most sports fanatics have an AFL, NRL, NBL and BBL team. But until then it looks like I'm in the minority.
I Know what you mean about the US big 4 league as they are different games compared what Australia, Ireland has with Football codes and even England.
Downside of the big 4 is that I find Gridiron, Baseball, Basketball and Ice Hockey boring.

AlwaysGreen

There's no code war. It's rugby league fans sticking up for themselves against Victorians who are convinced that their run around like demented chickens game will take over NSW and Queensland if the good people of those states 'just watch one game'.

Same for the rugger mob. League has never said that union will be dead in 20 years, unlike them. Throw in soccer who writh with jealousy that their code doesn't get the coverage league or afl gets.

Anyway, this is a crowd thread so welcome aboard Mr Toowoomba AFL player who becomes yet another poster posting almost exclusively in the crowd thread who 'is an afl fan first but.....'

greenBV4

I don't want to piss on the parade like a neurotic flog, but because it's Melbourne, I'm going to go there - there a few single seats left, which won't really affect the crowd figure. The Storm social media team are gronks though, and often call premature sellouts. At least this one is close enough.

This was my favourite. They called this game a sellout and there were about 5k tickets left ha. Maybe the guy in charge of payroll is in charge of declaring the sellouts.
Checked this out for myself and yeah despite ticketek saying there single seats left in 2 bays, if you actually try to buy said single seat you get this message

Screenshot_20230425_071017_Chrome.jpg

Safe to say its as close to a sellout as you get with ticketeks stupid website quirks

SLRBRONCOS

Checked this out for myself and yeah despite ticketek saying there single seats left in 2 bays, if you actually try to buy said single seat you get this message

View attachment 73124

Safe to say its as close to a sellout as you get with ticketeks stupid website quirks
Seems they’ve shifted all of them now but that wasn’t the case when I made the post - there were probably about 20-30 left. Not a big deal at all, just find it funny that the Storm SM team jump the gun quite often - this is the first time that their “sELLoUt” has actually been a sellout haha. Awesome effort in any case.

Vibing

close to 70K for todays 2 sold out games & over 160K again for the round
can't keep this up surely ...

I think next weekend with some rain & smaller country venues in use ... + Shark Park , will see the smallest round crowd wise of 2023
But the Broncos & Warriors ( yes the Warriors lol) will see it doesn't drop too far.

SLRBRONCOS

It's this for me. I did a bit of digging in the big footy AFL forums and could never find any NRL supporters over there bashing their game with troll accounts.

It seems that the rogue (but not all) AFL supporters that show up here are the sporting equivalent of Putin and Jinping and feel that their life is a failure unless their interests take over the Australian Sport scape. Weird. AFL and NRL are not mutually exclusive and it feels for the most part that Rugby League fans understand this and are unbothered, other than a cheeky diss.

AFL is not a threat to NRL where it matters (QLD, NSW, NZ, France and England). FFS, hip drops and CTE are our only enemy!

Edit: James Hooper and Paul Kent are also enemies.

Vibing

rnd 9
Thursday Sharks V Cowboys 10K
Friday early Parra V Newc 15K
Friday late Brisb V Souths 40K
Sat 3pm (Wagga ) Canb V Dolphins 10K ( sellout)
5.30 Manly V Titans 15K
7.30 ( Bathurst) Penrith V Tigers 12K ( sellout)
Sun Warriors V Roosters 25K
Dragons V Bulldogs 15K

all based on dry games
rain will knock those numbers around ....

Pneuma

Lions= potato

Pneuma

There's no code war. It's rugby league fans sticking up for themselves against Victorians who are convinced that their run around like demented chickens game will take over NSW and Queensland if the good people of those states 'just watch one game'.

Same for the rugger mob. League has never said that union will be dead in 20 years, unlike them. Throw in soccer who writh with jealousy that their code doesn't get the coverage league or afl gets.

Anyway, this is a crowd thread so welcome aboard Mr Toowoomba AFL player who becomes yet another poster posting almost exclusively in the crowd thread who 'is an afl fan first but.....'
Lovely summary of it all

Vibing

How any person with self respect can support a sport full of liars & racists is beyond me

Pneuma

It's this for me. I did a bit of digging in the big footy AFL forums and could never find any NRL supporters over there bashing their game with troll accounts.

It seems that the rogue (but not all) AFL supporters that show up here are the sporting equivalent of Putin and Jinping and feel that their life is a failure unless their interests take over the Australian Sport scape. Weird. AFL and NRL are not mutually exclusive and it feels for the most part that Rugby League fans understand this and are unbothered, other than a cheeky diss.

AFL is not a threat to NRL where it matters (QLD, NSW, NZ, France and England). FFS, hip drops and CTE are our only enemy!

Edit: James Hooper and Paul Kent are also enemies.
I live in a fumbler state where, up till ten years ago, you were considered to be a traitor for not following a team in the fumbling code. Things are more broad now but you still find them. They generally have an insular bordering on racist view of sport. Fumbler followers and administrators are a special breed of inbred turd lickers.