Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Future Andrew Johns Movie???....

roopy

Your bias is deluding you. Try to comprehend the possibility that some people don't like Andrew Johns, mental health issues or not.
I repeat, I have worked in this field for over 30 years.
My 'bias' is that i actually know that you guys have developed a hatred for Johns based on reports of behaviour that can be explained by mental illness - basically you are villifying him because you are ignorant.
I could excuse that for a while, but it has been years, and all the evidence is on the public record, so there are no excuses for villifying him now.

bails

Roopy i dont think theres much point in trying to educate these fools its obvious they have had no contact with mentally ill people.Andrew johns was the best player ever and yes he might not have been the best man the game had to offer but if some of the general public had some understanding of bipolar and were little more open minded than maybee they could appreciate andrew johns for being so honest and yes i know he tried to cover it up at first but the truth did come out in the end and he is not the LONE RANGER when it comes to drug abuse

My 'bias' is that i actually know that you guys have developed a hatred for Johns based on reports of behaviour that can be explained by mental illness - basically you are villifying him because you are ignorant.
I could excuse that for a while, but it has been years, and all the evidence is on the public record, so there are no excuses for villifying him now.

The reasons i hate the man is not based on any behaviour that can be explained by a mental illness.
What adds to my hate is the man is now, is he's using this "illness" to dodge responsibility for his actions. Poor form.

Obviously i dont work in the industry, but i did live with a suffer of Bi-polar for about 6 months. And it couldnt have been more clearer that someone was wrong with this girl. I wonder how someone like Johns managed to keep it a secret all those years... :sarcasm:

Johns Magic

Obviously i dont work in the industry, but i did live with a suffer of Bi-polar for about 6 months. And it couldnt have been more clearer that someone was wrong with this girl. I wonder how someone like Johns managed to keep it a secret all those years... :sarcasm:

You are joking right?

After all the highly distinguished experts and foundations that have been cited in this thread claiming they've been working with him for years and years before he got caught.

I've stayed out of this thread because if people don't like the guy then that's their prerogative. There are a couple of conspiracy theories in here I don't agree with, but if people choose to believe the worst and their theories can't be completely disproved then I guess they have to be a theoretical possibility.

But to try and claim that he made having bipolar up, given everything that you've been told in the past and has been reiterated in this thread, screams of ignorance and petty hatred.

For the record, the best player in my footy side has bipolar as well. He has his good days, where he's the loudest guy in the team, pulls chicks with confidence when we go out, and a lot of people think he's a loudmouth arrogant prick.
Then he has his off days, where he won't come out after the games and locks himself at home, or won't open his mouth at training and goes and sits on his own. Of course only those who see him on a daily basis would know this side of him, because it doesn't come out in public. I knew who he was for a few years before I met him, and had always thought he was just an overconfident dickhead.

Just because you lived with a chick who cried herself to sleep every night doesn't mean that's what everyone with bipolar is or should be like. You "wonder how Johns managed to keep it a secret all those years"? It's because when bipolar sufferers are depressed they hide away and keep to themselves. And do nothing wrong. What do you expect, the newspapers to report that he stayed home at night? That he wasn't as loud as usual at training?

And of course it couldn't have been clearer that there was something wrong with her. You lived with her. You saw every side of her, including sides the public probably wouldn't have seen.

Don't let your hatred of the guy get in the way of the facts. And don't try and bring him down through lies just so others take your side.

Just because you lived with a chick who cried herself to sleep every night doesn't mean that's what everyone with bipolar is or should be like. You "wonder how Johns managed to keep it a secret all those years"?

I never claimed thats what she did, in fact i havent even made mention of her behaviour other than to anyone who saw her often enough would have undoubtably noticed there some something not quite right with the girl. I wasnt told she was bi-polar until about a week after she arrived to stay with my family, within 3 days of knowing the girl, i picked up comfortably that she was suffering some form of mental illness... i didnt have a clue which one, didnt know where to begin except for the standard depression assumption.

Im suggesting that if Andrew Johns has suffered with Bi-Polar disorder his entire life, he's done a really top notch job in hiding it, considering how much of a public life he led. And considering the town he lives in and the club he played for which has more leaks than my old 86 Hatchback Laser, its remarkable that no rumours about this surfaced or that no body noticed, including people who have 30 years experience in the area of mental health... remarkable. :)

macavity

r69, I have always thought you were a douche of the highest order.

Now I can add ignorant, holier-than-though and hypocrite to your list of character flaws.

Perhaps you should conveniently "discover" a mental illness so people are less inclined to want to smack you in the face. I think people would believe you if you told them you had one.

r69, I have always thought you were a douche of the highest order.

Now I can add ignorant, holier-than-though and hypocrite to your list of character flaws.

Perhaps you should conveniently "discover" a mental illness so people are less inclined to want to smack you in the face. I think people would believe you if you told them you had one.

Thanks for cheering me up mate :D
consider the feeling mutal :cool:

Apey

And considering the town he lives in and the club he played for which has more leaks than my old 86 Hatchback Laser, its remarkable that no rumours about this surfaced or that no body noticed, including people who have 30 years experience in the area of mental health... remarkable. :)

I understand people being skeptical but this wasn't just some signing news or something. I imagine anyone who knew would have been close to Andrew and that they would have full well known what damage it could have caused him 'leaking' this information. I doubt anyone close to him would have been willing to risk his health, possibly even his life, to make a few bucks by selling the story.

i can appreciate that and if its true, then thats an entirely plausible situation.
What i dont get is Knights fans, unlike yourself, who refuse to accept that there is any reason to be skeptical of how this all played out.

Im not a doctor, i dont know johns, i know people who do and i know most who do think the bloke is an absolute f**king trackhead. So for all i know this convenient bi-polar disorder is 100% accurate and legitimate, but no one can convince me there is no reasons to be skeptical of it.

Had he come out post retirement before any controversy and stated cleanly that he was a suffer of this condition, different story. But the fact he waited till after his arrest, after people refused to buy the "some random put it in my pocket" story and then delayed his book to fit in nuggets of wisdom about the controversy often stating something along the lines of "not to excuse what i did" - the calling card of someone trying to excuse what he did... this entire situation lends itself to skepticism. A failure to acknowledge that (which to your credit, you accept is understandable) is ridiculous. Especially when you consider the other rumours about the man that have gone around circles.

Stranger

i can appreciate that and if its true, then thats an entirely plausible situation.
What i dont get is Knights fans, unlike yourself, who refuse to accept that there is any reason to be skeptical of how this all played out.

Im not a doctor, i dont know johns, i know people who do and i know most who do think the bloke is an absolute f**king trackhead. So for all i know this convenient bi-polar disorder is 100% accurate and legitimate, but no one can convince me there is no reasons to be skeptical of it.

Had he come out post retirement before any controversy and stated cleanly that he was a suffer of this condition, different story. But the fact he waited till after his arrest, after people refused to buy the "some random put it in my pocket" story and then delayed his book to fit in nuggets of wisdom about the controversy often stating something along the lines of "not to excuse what i did" - the calling card of someone trying to excuse what he did... this entire situation lends itself to skepticism. A failure to acknowledge that (which to your credit, you accept is understandable) is ridiculous. Especially when you consider the other rumours about the man that have gone around circles.

I can see that article... "Johns has Bi-Polar..."

"raiduh says its bullsh*t"

:lol: .

Your bias against Johns is as bad as Skeepies against the refs.

God-King Dean

Nobody really knows the extent of his illness. But I will say this: You can take medication for an illness, but there's no pill to cure being a wanker.

Angry_eel

So if someone hates his ego on or off the field that means they must be ignorant not knowing about how ego is connected to mental illness?

roopy

So if someone hates his ego on or off the field that means they must be ignorant not knowing about how ego is connected to mental illness?
Well yes - exactly.
I'm not going to try to explain the whole illness, but the main symptom of the type of bipolar disorder Johns suffers from is mania, which basically means he undergoes a personality change similar to a person high on speed (that's my attempt at a very simple explanation).
When he is having a 'manic episode' he would think he was king of the world and would act like a complete arsehole - but when on medication and 'well' he would act like a perfectly rational human being.

If you can't separate his behaviour and personality when he is 'unwell' from when he is 'well', and react appropriately, you are either ignorant (meaning you don't understand the situation), or you are just a tool.

Angry_eel

Well yes - exactly.
I'm not going to try to explain the whole illness, but the main symptom of the type of bipolar disorder Johns suffers from is mania, which basically means he undergoes a personality change similar to a person high on speed (that's my attempt at a very simple explanation).
When he is having a 'manic episode' he would think he was king of the world and would act like a complete arsehole - but when on medication and 'well' he would act like a perfectly rational human being.

If you can't separate his behaviour and personality when he is 'unwell' from when he is 'well', and react appropriately, you are either ignorant (meaning you don't understand the situation), or you are just a tool.

So all the egotic people out there have this problem?

Ziggy the God

Go back and look at the thread on LU when Johns came on the Footy Show.

I believe I was the first to post that he was Bipolar. It was in the press the following day. I won't take credit for it, my wife who works in that field was watching the interview and told me.

Would have had a bit to do with his drug taking.

That said, both his brother and the club knew about his behaviour, and did what? Let him keep going because he was a star? They are the ones that deserve contempt.

Johns should give all monies that he makes from that movie to a relevant charity, or he can be condemned for cashing in on his illness. I will believe it when I see it.