Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carbs

JoeD

My wife was succesful in losing weight with the no carbs after lunch diet. Whether it is a healthy thing to do is questionable though.
Low carb beer - my chemist father in law said that these were basically a myth because your body converts alcohol into carbs anyway.

Thomas

I reckon my biggie is beer. I don't get sloshed every night...we're talking 3 or so beers but they add up.

Our new aim is to do the "no beers during the week" thing. I don't know what I am going to do to take the edge off work though. Lick toads?

abpanther

I'm in a bit of a rut myself. I did my knee in and got a cushy office job. Now its a case of losing 5-10kgs.

I've been going to the gym and started running again and have dropped a pant size. Now I need to tone it up a bit. I've figured I need to really start watching my food intake and to boost up the cardio.

Kind of hard to go for a run at lunch when it's 35 degrees. Even harder to go for a run when I get home due to my 2 year old son and my part-time job/hobby

Man you sound just like me, I've put on a few kilos in the office too much, I can't get out much from work,

I've cut out soft drinks and just drink water now for the past 2 months, lost a few kilos just doing that. Am thinking about riding a bike to work 3 times a week (45min ride), that should help too

Johns Magic

Yeah if you're really trying to lose weight, cut out the beer/soft drink/cordial/juice...so much sugar in them.

During the week I only drink water(and a coffee with breakfast) and I've trimmed right down. I was never fat at all, but I've managed to get pretty cut since dropping the sugary liquids.

On Saturdays I'll eat whatever I want(avoid fast food and 3am kebab stops though) and drink as much alcohol as I feel like though. Having one day off a week is a godsend, because for the next few days after you don't want to eat sh*t because you're feeling guilty, and then Thursday-Friday you know you're just saving yourself for Saturday.

Have a look at the sugar content of a glass of juice next time you're grabbing a bottle. It'll blow your mind. It's just about as bad for you as beer.

Thomas

Yeah if I drink fizzy stuff it's Coke Zero but only once a day. Water for me.

I've started riding to work which is great apart from the fact I am usually still sweating (even after a shower) at 10am. It's 17 or so kms each way, including the mother of all hills, which gets the heart pumping. I'm going to cut down the gym and ramp up the cardio. Intense cardio for 30-40 minutes though.

JoeD

If you are trying to lose weight I would concentrate more on food intake rather than exercise. ie try to decrease what you eat rather than increase exercise. I'm a very sporadic exerciser, I basically do none over the winter and when spring hits get into it and train for a couple of specific events in late summer. Throughout the year my weight is usually stable but if i do need to drop a couple of kilos i find it is much easier to do when i am not exercising by decreasing my food intake. When I'm exercising i'm always hungry and find it harder to watch what i eat so my weight stays the same.

Thomas

I need to exercise though. With my family's history of heart and other issues I would like to be fitter. I used to be a long distance runner as well as playing footy and would like to get some sort of decent fitness level back.

Each week I load up on bags of fruit, some nuts and healthy snacks so I have something to feed my body with. I've started trying to ignore the scales as I actually put on weight after ramping up the gym and cardio work but as my pants are falling off me and I am constantly adjusting my belt I know I am losing fat and gaining muscle.

I know you can't spot reduce but f**k, I could do without the gut!

If you are trying to lose weight I would concentrate more on food intake rather than exercise. ie try to decrease what you eat rather than increase exercise. I'm a very sporadic exerciser, I basically do none over the winter and when spring hits get into it and train for a couple of specific events in late summer. Throughout the year my weight is usually stable but if i do need to drop a couple of kilos i find it is much easier to do when i am not exercising by decreasing my food intake. When I'm exercising i'm always hungry and find it harder to watch what i eat so my weight stays the same.

I'm the opposite really...If I was trying to lose weight, I'd up the exercise, because tbh, I like eating (my parents are Mediterranean Descendants, I can't help it :lol:).

I'm trying to lose a bit of flab though, so my "healthy" eating strategies include no third servings at dinner, and eating thin and crispy pizzas instead of normal base...I still eat the whole pizza.

I reckon my biggie is beer. I don't get sloshed every night...we're talking 3 or so beers but they add up.

Our new aim is to do the "no beers during the week" thing. I don't know what I am going to do to take the edge off work though. Lick toads?

Its no biggie once you get used to it.

Also it helps if you occupy yourself for that first hour for so when you get home, like go for a walk or hit the driving range or do some sort of exercise.

We are creatures of habit.

abpanther

Yeah the problem is that I try to reduce my portion sizes, but then I end up hungry like 2hrs later, then I end up snacking on fruit and stuff.

I do worry about sweating when I ride to work, I sweat heaps so I reckon even after a shower I will be sweating till 10am or so...

To answer my own question on low carb beer for the benefit of others

So all alcoholic drinks contain a significant amount of calories per serve, and we often have a lot more than just one serve! But how much damage does this do for your weight loss efforts? Well, in an ideal dietary plan you'd reduce your calorie intake by 250-500 calories per day to achieve a good amount of healthy weight loss per week. If this is your target then you can easily see that 1-2 drinks per day puts pay to any good nutrition plan you might follow during the day. Simply said: 1-2 alcoholic drinks can seriously halt your weight loss.

Another way to look at the effect alcohol has on weight loss is to compare the equivalent time you would need to spend doing fitness training to burn these calories off! We'll assume someone has an average fitness level and is of average weight:

So you can see there's a lot of work to be done if you have a few (or more) drinks. Think of all the blood, sweat, tears, and hard work that can go into a great fitness session....and how easily it can be reversed by drinking alcohol. Also, alcohol contains no essential nutrients and reduces the absorption of Vitamins A, D, E, K, folate, B I, and B2. As well, alcohol does not contribute to muscle glycogen, so you may be left short on carbohydrates, which you need in order to train hard.

What about the calories in low carb beer?

Low carb beer has been very popular in the US, and some brands have been released onto the Australian market, but how much difference will a low carb beer make to your calorie intake? Will low carb beers help with weight loss? An example here is called 'Pure Blonde', made by Carlton Breweries:

Pure Blonde is a full strength beer (4.6 % ABV) that is not made in the US "lite beer" style. Pure Blonde retains a full flavoured, clean and crisp taste profile and is made in an easy drinking style. The combination of a great tasting beer and low-carb content is surely the answer many health and lifestyle conscious beer lovers have been seeking.

Sounds good, but does the beer live up to the marketing hype?! Pure Blonde contains 0.9 grams of carbohydrates per 100mL - a significant reduction to a standard full strength beer that on average contains around 20% more energy (usually 3g / 100mL). So you definitely save some energy intake by going low carb: approx 25 calories per drink.....but this really isn't much!

Why not? The energy in beer and other drinks is from the alcohol. You're MUCH better off going for light beers as the energy saved from the reduced alcohol content far outweighs the low cab idea. As I said, most of the calories in alcoholic drinks comes from the alcohol at 7 calories per ml, not sugar / carbs at all!

http://www.completefitness.com.au/articles/nutrition/alcoholweightloss.php

JoeD

Basically I know I'm losing weight if i'm hungry all day. If i'm not hungry then I won't be losing weight.

Thomas

Basically I know I'm losing weight if i'm hungry all day. If i'm not hungry then I won't be losing weight.

Actually mate, that's quite wrong. If you are hungry all day then you metabolism slows down. When you metabolism slows down your body doesn't process food as well. You'll get fatter...

Losing weight doesn't mean starving yourself. Ideally you should be snacking during the day. A piece of fruit here, some nuts there and your usual meals (not huge portions).

Also, starving yourself also means you'll probably eat a larger portion at lunch or dinner which isn't good. Don't let your hunger get to the stage where you'll be "I'll eat anything!!"

JoeD

I know the theory but i also know that for me if i'm hungry I lose weight. I'm not starving myself, i just don't eat enough to ever feel full.

Johns Magic

I find the more I exercise the less hungry I am...possibly having something to do with having pride in what I'm achieving. I force myself to eat healthy stuff but I don't get the cravings for fatty foods at all.

Also when I go for a run for an hour I'm thinking "f**k I would just rather have not had that burger!"

Heavy weight training actually boosts your metabolism for the following 48 hours.

roopy

Alcohol itself is basically a high GI carb equal to white sugar, but the alcohol in a standard drink (middie of beer or nip of spirits) is equal to 2 and a bit teaspoons of sugar.
The trick is cutting down on the other carbs, and most spirits have no other carbs than alcohol because they have all been converted to alcohol.

I don't believe in this whole "no carbs" argument. Look at Asian people for instance. A lot of them basically live on Rice, most meals in a day and on the whole, they are generally fairly thin. I'm not talking about those that are of low socio economic status either. I have a lot of Asian friends, most of those come from households where they basically have rice in the rice cooker 24/7. First thing they do whenever they get home is have a plate of rice with whatever else has been cooked to go with it and on the whole, I would say that they are all fairly slim.

I notice that most of my Asian friends don't eat a lot of junk food. They don't really snack but eat at irregular hours so when they do eat, they eat as per above. They would be more likely to have several small meals (with rice on the side) per day than three large meals and some snacks. These small meals could be at normal-ish hours or they may be eating rice at 3am. Completely going against what everyone says about carbs yet they are within healthy weight range.

abpanther

Isn't the theory that it's better to have 6 small meals a day than 3 big ones as it doesn't slow down your metabolism?