Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Don Bradman Cricket 14

ek999

Got this the other day. Absolutely loving it. Playing as a left arm orthodox bowling all rounder and batting at 5. Averaging about 15 with the ball including 7/53 on debut. Struggling with the batting though with 18 or so being top score. Need to play a bit more defensively especially against the fast bowlers. Belted Agar for 2 6's in a row in a one dayer. NSW is shit though

Jack_Napier

Killing it as a number 3 batsmen. Averaging 54 at first class level, 35 for one caters and 42 for T20. Nearing the end of my second season and am a good chance at all 3 county cricket forms so should get offered pretty soon. Also am getting attention for the IPL.

ek999 has nailed it. Defend against the quicks and take on the spinners Nd medium pacers. I usually defend a lot and get the confidence meter up against the quicks. Smashed 316 the other day and it required patience I never thought I had haha. Blocked most quicks til the confidence rose and timing became easier, then worked it round the field and played to the gaps.

Still loving it.

nöyd

316? Dude wtf??

Got my first 50 last night, off about 30 balls in T20, highest first class score is 49 - doh!

Struggling in the 50 over format, I see the coloured clothing and try to score like its T20. Started a new career after the update as an opening bat for NSW, got thrown the ball at the death on a one dayer and ended up taking 3/10 with some handy finger spin.

Big Ant have got the makings of a really great franchise game here, as long as they keep listening to feedback from the punters.

BunniesMan

My first 2 shield games as opening batsman for Victoria:

0, 4, 0, 0.

And in that exciting 4 I managed to run out Aaron Finch.

ek999

That's what you get for playing as Victoria...

I started a new game as just a bowler because I was a shit batter. Absolutely killing it with the ball, avareaging about 10 in Shield and One Day and a couple of man of the match performances. My batting average of 10 or so is better then what I had when I was playing as an all-rounder :lol:

One thing I don't like is if you cancel as run just when it is starting they just walk back in without sliding the bat or anything. Me and Bollinger were came tigether needing 60 for us to beat SA and had put on 30 before I was runout because he was walking

ek999

Bumping this for two reasons

1. My glorious 10/29 in an innings against South Australia
2. A couple of minor details that impressed me, the way the ball reacted differently if it hit a crack and 2 stumpings I got where the batter moved his foot out of the crease after trying to play a shot and got caught out

I hate cricket, but cricket games are awesome. This is super challenging tho, can't bat for shit. I'm good at bowling though. Got 8 wickets in one match once.

Jack_Napier

Scored a English P40 contract with Yorkshire after completing my second season with NSW. Also getting attention form the Aussie ODI team. Think ill score a contract in a 3 forms for county as my selection status for all 3 says regular member, even tho I've just signed for the P40 comp.

Currently averaging 54 in first class, 42 for list A and 39 for T20 and still loving the game. The 4 county games I've played so far have definitly been a step up in quality of bowling. Yet to hit anything above 40 and really need to dig in at first to get a feel for the bowler.

Jack_Napier

Just got selected to make my ODI debut for Australia. Playing against Zimbabwe batting at number 3. Been killing the English P40 and T20 comps with Yorkshire. Still surprised to make Aussie team! Now to push on for a test spot.

Jack_Napier

17 mate close to 18. I'm at the end of the second Australian season and finished the T20 season in England. Was one game from finishing P40 in England but got the Aussie call up. Could be out faster than I was put in tho. Zimbabwean spinner has gotten me twice for under 25 so far.

Jack_Napier

Wow back to reality at the international level. 3 matches against Zimbabwe for scores of 25, 0 and 31. Now onto season 3 where I kick it off with a 3 match 1 day series against the Bangers.

nöyd

How in the hell did you get an ODI call up after only 2-3 seasons? I've just started season 4 and all my selection chances are "long way off" or "no chance".

Had a good season in the domestic one dayers at age 18, 5 fifties with a top score of 83, I didn't expect to get a call up for anywhere but shit mate, if you have any tips I'd like to hear them lol

Patch 2 for consoles comes out next week, heaps of changes, and PC comes out 26th June. Big Ant are fully behind mods for the PC version, and may even look at console game mods (real kits, bats, sponsors, tournament names etc)

Jack_Napier

Don't know what to tell you mate other than I spent slot of time in the practice nets and defending haha. Spent plenty of time in the nets with batsmen skill set to poor and bowling set to pro. Helped me get on top of the difference in timing a little bit. Actual Games for the start of the second season were literally blocking sessions, got my confidence up then started working to areas I was comfortable in. I think it also helped that work commitments meant I could break up mammoth batting sessions. The 316 I scored was over a few days of 2hr sessions so was easier to reset the concentration.

Played a lot of the pads initially then started playing through the covers when the field would be stacked on the leg side. It's just a lot of time spent workin out timing for each style of bowling and I reckon the nets has helped me big time. Also getting out of the mindset where I thought I had to be the star batsmen every time. More often than not I start off playing the anchor role and just take the odd single here and there. Watching the AI from the non strikers end can help a bit as well as you get an idea of what foot to play off and how much of the stumps to cover when taking guard.

Doing me no good at international level tho, bangers ODI series just gone and scores of 8,0 and 8 again. On the plus side I'm captain of the NSW One day team at 18 to start off season 3.

Munky

Patch 2 for consoles comes out next week, heaps of changes, and PC comes out 26th June. Big Ant are fully behind mods for the PC version, and may even look at console game mods (real kits, bats, sponsors, tournament names etc)

If the game is successful the sponsors will be lining up to be included.

As shit as day 1 patches can be (Wolfenstein anyone?), being able to update a game after launch is perfect for a small budget game. Get the systems correct and patch in the inconsequential things later.

Hopefully Big Ant are rolling in cash now and can put some serious effort into a PS4/XBone graphics engine that can hold its own.

nöyd

Patch 2 notes:

Patch#2 Change Notes
These things, and more, are in patch#2:

FIXES
- Bug fixes for general gameplay.
- Bug fixes for commentary & sound.
- Bug fixes online issues with regards to latency when batting and bowling.
- Various crash bug fixes.
- Fix for names and numbers not showing on kits.
- Fix for clean bowled not being given out.
- Fix for fielding restrictions not being adhered to.
- Fixes for run out issues.
- Fixed P40 Competition to use correct format in Career.
- Fixed matches playing out time to end as draw.
- Fixed replays to show more relevant plays, less cuts, new angles.
- Fixed saves/XP being lost after playing local multiplayer.
- Fixed rain delayed matches giving wrong results.
- Fixed wickets not being uprooted from being bowled and only on fielder throws.
- Fixed an instance of "Umpire's Call" giving wrong decision.
- Fix for save copy ignoring links not working correctly.
- Fixed crediting 12th man despite not playing.
- Fix for square umpire raising arm on don't bowl signal.
- Fix for ball rolling along ground being called caught.
- Fix for bowler selection issues.

TUNING
- Tuning of fielder speeds and catches.
- Tuning of ball speed in outfield.
- Tuning of batter difficulty.
- Tuning of AI batting mentality.
- Tuning of AI running mentality.
- Tuning of confidence to carry through matches and innings.
- Tuning field placements.
- Tuning of bowler speeds.
- Tuning of stamina/fatigue
- Tuned time of ball and over count to end days at proper times.

ADDITIONS
- Added Rookie and Amateur difficulty level options to career and will not post to leaderboards.
- Added option of starting career at age 16, 21, 26 or 31 years old.
- Added Practice Nets to career.
- Added Tournament Mode to online.
- Added Bowling Assistance HUD on all difficulties.
- Added Bowling Assistance Audio on all difficulties.
- Added Fielding 1 camera to 'Running Camera' in Career.
- Added simulate option for Tours.
- Added stadium select on Tours.
- Added leave button to A (360/PC) & X (PS3).
- Added batter walk on in Career.
- Added link icon for linked players & teams in Academy.

VARIOUS CHANGES
- Option to take win/loss for online matches that finish early (disconnect).
- Fielders no longer take bails off if batsman are safe.
- Stats now accrue for players in career.
- Five/Five is now default online Quick Match type.
- Two second delay to bowling in online to allow lookaround.
- Turning off Arial Marker turns circle off in the field.