Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Appoint Brad Arthur as Head Coach

Who should be our next coach

Couldn't agree more. Would you agree that it has a similar feel prior to season 2005, especially in a recruiting sense?

Wow, that is setting the way back machine. That was the year we got Morrison and Stringer and Tim Smith made his Debut. Yeah maybe it is a good crop of guys coming, and if they gel with what we have got, then it could get very interesting.

Eh I think with this we can finally get over the rot that started with sacking Anderson for Kearney.

The rot started when Smith left. Kearney was the first coach since Smith to set up the recruitment/retention structures necessary to compete in the player market. We're only just seeing the benefits of that with next year's squad.

Happy with Brad Arthur appointment, not so much regarding DA.

Well mate that is your opinion.

I am finding it interesting, especially the comments of say Ray Price, who said of FSN "What has Daniel Anderson won?" or words to that affect.

Well in 2006 he won the Double in the UK. (Challenge Cup and Premiership) with Saints,

He won 2 more challenge cups at the Saints in 2007 and 2008 as well as making 2 more grand finals in 2007 and 2008 and losing both

He got the Warriors to their first final series in 2001 and then first grand final in 2002, and he got us to a miracle grand final in 2009, he is a Parramatta man and that is the reason a large number on this forum wanted him to replace Hagan in 2009.

His Premier League side in 1999 won the Title at Parramatta, and racked up a fantastic score in the Grand Final that year.

Now there are some that say he has issues with Polynessian players, but most are unhappy with him letting Mateo and Inu go in 2010 and picking up Carl Webb and Casey Maguire. That may be fair criticism, but he was also chasing a class half, until he was white anted by Osbourne.

He knows the old Parramatta System that used to produce many top class players. If he can get that system rocking again and Nolan can get us to keep the right ones we might be inline for plenty of home grown success with these two in charge of the club.

Do I think BA could be a Top down coach like Smith and Anderson, no, not yet so with DA looking after football operations I am sure things will be well looked after.

Agree with Josh and not with Jake. You don't bow to the demands of a rookie. The Board may have agreed to a heads of agreement with JT, but in the end the lawyers could not find common ground. If you saw JT on FoxSports News last night he implied that it was he who drew the line in the sand and was prepared to walk away if his terms were not met.

So Jake you can believe the mischievous misinformation dished out by those who want to cast shadows over the club if you like, but there was no "backflip" and from what I can see they acted appropriately under the circumstances.

No surprise that Massoud and Weedler are muckraking this morning. It was odds on that it was going to happen. Much to the glee of the haters on here, Jake.

You're such a Gronk. So you agree with how the board has gone about hiring a coach PUBLICLY. You agree with how the plumber has come out in the media backing BA before the board has made decision? You agree with board room leaks?

The board deserve to be bashed in the media. The idiots go public with matters that should be private. Our chairman being the main culprit. It makes us look like a rabble.

In the end we got the right coach but we have dopes on the board. Would have been so much easier if people who are supposed to be leaders in our club could act professionally starting with the plumber.

I know my opinion doesn't mean much, but where better to voice an irrelevant opinion.

I feel very good about this hire.

Very, very good.

I suppose it has a lot do with how respected Arthur is amongst Manly and Parramatta players. You get the feeling Arthur had a lot do with the Sea Eagles success this year. And the excitement among Eels players is promising. You just get the sense they really, really wanted Arthur.

Now have I ever had this heightened enthusiasm with newly appointed coaches in the past?

Brian Smith. Yep.
Hagan. Nope. Probably the opposite of excitement. I hated the signing.
Anderson. In the middle somewhere between excitement and indifference.
Kearney. Pessimistically hopeful, but definitely not excited.
Stuart. Hated the signing from the get go.

I would not have had this level of excitement with Taylor, Henry, or Cartwright. In fact if we signed Henry or Cartwright I would have been aghast.

So I am truly excited about our future.

F*CK YEAH!!

Your opinion is just as valid as anyone else's, mate.

Joshuatheeel

We might need one more edge forward. Other than that the squad is strong.

And there is enough candidates for that position that hopefully some one will work out. But wouldn't mind a Bird/Stewart that would really give the pack some leadership.

I reckon we are a bench hooker short, not sure if Pritchard is ready for it and if Foran ( if rumours are true )is suited to the 14

Delboy

Mits , I will disagree that DA was a topdown coach in his time as NRL head coach at the Eels

The reason he fell out of favour was that he failed to show interest in any teams below the NRL squad and let the junior development wither a bit . That was felt through the younger grades and was a tipping pint at the time, it would appear his experience in the UK to concentrate purely on the topside saw him take his eye off the big picture

If he had time to reflect then he may realise that this structure needs to be implemented back to the level when he was in that system, not the one he let degrade. Anyway, as an ex schoolteacher it may be his fore, not sold on DA myself but willing to give it time

Brad Arthur will bring a new attitude to the Eels, and I think we will find he has the drive to overcome a number of the so called problems at the club, including recruitment

Onwards and upwards it feels like

Mits , I will disagree that DA was a topdown coach in his time as NRL head coach at the Eels

The reason he fell out of favour was that he failed to show interest in any teams below the NRL squad and let the junior development wither a bit . That was felt through the younger grades and was a tipping pint at the time, it would appear his experience in the UK to concentrate purely on the topside saw him take his eye off the big picture

If he had time to reflect then he may realise that this structure needs to be implemented back to the level when he was in that system, not the one he let degrade. Anyway, as an ex schoolteacher it may be his fore, not sold on DA myself but willing to give it time

Brad Arthur will bring a new attitude to the Eels, and I think we will find he has the drive to overcome a number of the so called problems at the club, including recruitment

You can disagree all you want, that is your perogative

However the stuff about not showing interest at the lower sides, I can't come at because I was at most of the lower sides games and saw DA on many occasions over the 2 years he was at the club. His UK experience also saw him create the St Helens Academy while there, so again I can't see where this is coming from.

But indeed onwards and upwards.

It could well be, ME.

Sharp is certainly showing some leadership that has been lacking at the club for a long time. He's growing on me.

http://www.parraeels.com.au/news-display/Hayne-excited-by-Arthur-appointment/86084

Hayne excited by Arthur appointment
Hugh Humphreys

Thursday 17 October 2013 1:00 PM

Parramatta Eels co-captain Jarryd Hayne is on the other side of the world, but it hasn't stopped him speaking about the appointment of our new Head Coach Brad Arthur.

Hayne says he's excited about the announcement, having enjoyed working with him in Blue and Gold previously.

"I've had the pleasure of working with him before, and it's exciting new with Brad being appointed," Jarryd said.

"He's worked at the club before and has worked with a lot of the boys before."

Jarryd says Brad Arthur's successful stint as Assistant Coach with Geoff Toovey at Manly will serve him well, as well as his earlier work at the Storm.

"I think he's good; he's very intense and has worked under Craig Bellamy who has obviously had a huge influence on the way he coaches, and also Geoff Toovey," he said.

"He's learned a lot [at Manly] and they're the two best teams for the last decade, Melbourne and Manly."

"I think he's very intense, very fair, and is always about the team, whatever the team needs."

"He's always willing to listen and do what's best for the team and I'm looking forward to getting back there."

Arthur will commence work next week upon returning from a family holiday, and Hayne says he'll have plenty to do.

"The boys will be back in training in another three weeks, so it's getting close and I'm sure Brad's getting in there sorting out schedules and staff, and it's good to have him in and look forward."

IFR33K

Delboy, you must admit once the admin changed, DA may of lost faith of the board.
DA deserves a fair go. His tenure here in 09 and 10 was always doomed to fail for one reason or another. He knows his footy and would be a great asset to have on board. A parra man through and through. Hopefully he and BA can work well together, and set us up for years of success.

oldmancraigy

It could well be, ME.

Sharp is certainly showing some leadership that has been lacking at the club for a long time. He's growing on me.

Yes, good point.
After Taylor knocked him back, he showed outstanding leadership in taking what was left.

But maybe we ended up with the best result out of all the schemozzle? Time will tell I guess...

Delboy

Ifr33k, always a better thing to have people interested in the club as much as the cash, that is why I hope DA works out

I know Brad well enough, that he will put in at levels of the club, if DA can do the admin, then perhaps all will be good. Never had a lot of faith in him as a coach, but this admin/overseeing role may be the role that brings the best result.

As before, I am looking forward to 2014

Yes, good point.
After Taylor knocked him back, he showed outstanding leadership in taking what was left.

But maybe we ended up with the best result out of all the schemozzle? Time will tell I guess...

You mean after the plumber was overruled by the board for Taylor, then the board overruled themselves for Arthur. And people like Gronk say there's nothing going on and it's totally normal.... PPPPPPPPPFFFFFTTTTT

The right decision was made in the end and the plumber gets to keep his job.

IFR33K

Not sure why u have no faith in da. Has consistantly coached in finals where ever he's coached. That's no fluke