Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hendrix...

Simo

Bob Dylan wrote ''all along the watchtower''

Yeah I know but I really like Hendrix's version.

Tech ability is only one apsect of of being a great musician.
Not only could Hendrix write great guitar songs but in his day he was well ahead of the rest in terms of tech ability.
I'm sure if he was born 20 years later he would've been another van halen.
It was the era he was in that dictated his style.

How's that...do you get my point?

Wrote some great songs, some great guitar riffs and inspired many. Would he have had the same effect if born 20 years later? As a performer and artist, probably, as the all inspiring guitar god I reckon he would be glad he was born before EVH.

millersnose

carcharias said:
Bob Dylan wrote ''all along the watchtower''

Tech ability is only one apsect of of being a great musician.
Not only could Hendrix write great guitar songs but in his day he was well ahead of the rest in terms of tech ability.

now you see this is where i have an issue

he was a very good blues guitarist...a bit messy.. but a good show man and got lots of work because of it and became a star because of his singing

the 60's was not some kind of primitive age in music and many guitarists from that era were playing very technical music far in advance of the limited blues and fuzz that hendrix was offereing

jazz guitar was in its heyday and classical was far more advanced than hendrix and if the truth be told far more advanced than vai or van halen today

Simo said:
Yeah I know but I really like Hendrix's version.

Wrote some great songs, some great guitar riffs and inspired many. Would he have had the same effect if born 20 years later? As a performer and artist, probably, as the all inspiring guitar god I reckon he would be glad he was born before EVH.

The world should be glad hendrix was born before hand.

EVH could play fast and was obviously supremely talented at soloing but never forget he released ''Jump'' onto the radio waves... and for that alone he should be hung.

Simo

carcharias said:
The world should be glad hendrix was born before hand.

EVH could play fast and was obviously supremely talented at soloing but never forget he released ''Jump'' onto the radio waves... and for that alone he should be hung.

hehe, fair enough carch thats a great point. Someone should also tell MMM that Van Halen wrote more songs than jump and panama (love that intro!)......

Simo

Millersnose said:
classical was far more advanced than hendrix and if the truth be told far more advanced than vai or van halen today

Wont get any argument there, seen some amazing things classical musicians have done, however jazz, classical, flemenco guitarists dont usually get much of a mention in these type of discussions cause they are not very attractive to the masses but boy can some of them play.

millersnose said:

he was a very good blues guitarist...a bit messy.. but a good show man and got lots of work because of it and became a star because of his singing

the 60's was not some kind of primitive age in music and many guitarists from that era were playing very technical music far in advance of the limited blues and fuzz that hendrix was offereing

jazz guitar was in its heyday and classical was far more advanced than hendrix and if the truth be told far more advanced than vai or van halen today
I was referring to his popular music competitors.

Folk/hippy music was quite big around then as well ...so for him to come along with ear busting volume and the burning of guitars was pretty unique at the time.
Watch Woodstick .
Santana goes off but is a different thing...lots of the other stuff is just acoustic guitar fluff.
The who were pretty raucous for the time as well.

I thought Harry Vanda was a brilliant guitarist in the early 60's .

OVP

millersnose said:

Jazz guitar WAS NOT in its hey day in the 60s, its hey day was in the 30's and 40's. And Classical music's hey day was in the 1800's

Henrix's blues is also a tad more intricate to play. Have you ever seen the actual music notes ? Henrix's sh*t is FAR harder to play than Classical music. IF it wasnt, Hendrix's stuff would be played at the Opera House for all the clowns ...

millersnose

OVP said:
Jazz guitar WAS NOT in its hey day in the 60s, its hey day was in the 30's and 40's. And Classical music's hey day was in the 1800's

benson was selling platinums in the 60's and 70's

Henrix's blues is also a tad more intricate to play.

lol

instead of the 5 note scale he used 5 notes and a fuzzbox

Have you ever seen the actual music notes ?

lol

Henrix's sh*t is FAR harder to play than Classical music.

yeah i really strugled with wild thing

andre segovias' shyt was so childishly simple......
IF it wasnt, Hendrix's stuff would be played at the Opera House for all the clowns ...

oh yeah i can just imagine an orchestra playing E-A-B-A over and over again for 4 minutes

then they could do E -G# -A -A#-E for the next 4 minutes.....

millersnose

carcharias said:
the first chord in Purple Haze could be seen as a jazz chord.
E7#9.
omfg

its a standard chord used all through pop music and certainly used before hendrix

even the beatles where using chord progessions in their later stuff of far more complexcity than hendrix

there is not really such thing as a 'jazz' chord

its a bit like saying power chords where the invention of hair bands despite the fact they have been used in classical for centuries

jazz refers to the structure and progression and improvisation inside a piece not a chord

millersnose said:
omfg

its a standard chord used all through pop music and certainly used before hendrix

even the beatles where using chord progessions in their later stuff of far more complexcity than hendrix

there is not really such thing as a 'jazz' chord

its a bit like saying power chords where the invention of hair bands despite the fact they have been used in classical for centuries

jazz refers to the structure and progression and improvisation inside a piece not a chord

but there are chords used commonly in jazz that are not used as often in rock n roll.
In fact I have only ever come across that chord twice in rock songs.
One mine :) and one Hendrix's...I am not saying it isn't in them but I love that chord and would've remembered it from other songs.

The beatles played heaps of strange chords ...they got them from learning folk songs.
They used them pretty much right from the start.

I sat through a bit of jazz yesterday arvo...geezuz it was pretty painful.
Young blokes that obviously could play their instruments and I commend them for there ability .
However it wasn't something I was sad to hear the end of.

millersnose

no

i dont think steve vai or eddie van halen are anymore technically advanced musicians than thousands of very competant classical or jazz players and certainly fall well short than dozens i have heard

technically they are far more advanced than hendrix who was really just a blues guitar player

sorry if that upsets a few people but thats the reality of the situation

hendrix beacame famous because of his singing - he had a really nice vocal side that people liked - he had a few stage gimmicks for his guitar but beyond a wah peddle, distortion and a bottle of lighter fluid he was certainly not an exceptional musician

Kurt Angle

carcharias said:
but there are chords used commonly in jazz that are not used as often in rock n roll.
In fact I have only ever come across that chord twice in rock songs.

The Purple haze chord progression is E7#9/G/A and was released in 1967 on "Are you experienced".

The Beatles used D7#9 on "Taxman" off the Revolver album 12 months earlier.

One mine :) and one Hendrix's...I am not saying it isn't in them but I love that chord and would've remembered it from other songs.

The beatles played heaps of strange chords ...they got them from learning folk songs.
They used them pretty much right from the start.

??

From which start ?

Love Me Do?

I want to hold your hand ?

Can't buy me Love ?

Even early 1966 had VERY simple songs like "Paperback writer".. which despite being only 2 chords is great song.

I sat through a bit of jazz yesterday arvo...geezuz it was pretty painful.
Young blokes that obviously could play their instruments and I commend them for there ability .
However it wasn't something I was sad to hear the end of.

Then you should be disputing with guys like Ron Jeremy that being a technical player doesn't mean you're a great player.

There are a thousand hair-farm bands that are testiment to that.

Kurt Angle

millersnose said:
hendrix beacame famous because of his singing - he had a really nice vocal side that people liked - he had a few stage gimmicks for his guitar but beyond a wah peddle, distortion and a bottle of lighter fluid he was certainly not an exceptional musician

Beethoven's music isn't terribly difficult to play from a technical perspective either.

However it isn't technicality that defines his greatness in the field of music.

The Purple haze chord progression is E7#9/G/A and was released in 1967 on "Are you experienced".

The Beatles used D7#9 on "Taxman" off the Revolver album 12 months earlier.

actuallly it is A6 not just A.
but D7#9 is not E7#9.
The E7#9 has two extra notes both are the E but are open notes and are different octives giving it a much bigger sound.

the Beatles
1963...Do you want to know a secret had a B6 in it. 1st album
1963 ...till there was you ...C7/6, B7/9, B7/9add2. 2nd album
Like I said they used some strange chords from the start.
Not all songs but it wasn't all just E D A.
That opening G chord to Hard days night can be played up and down the neck but it only sounds right in one spot.

Then you should be disputing with guys like Ron Jeremy that being a technical player doesn't mean you're a great player.
If you had read some of my posts you would have already seen that I have done just that.

I still think it comes down to the era theses musicians peaked in.
The Beatles were around when rock n roll was a new thing.
Van Halen came about when the whole hair band stuff took off.
Hendrix was around when blues based guitar was the go.

I doubt any of them would go far playing their style nowadays.

dannyboy

carcharias said:
...I doubt any of them would go far playing their style nowadays.

Just as today's guitarists will be passe in another 10 years.

Long live Wyld Stallyns.

millersnose

carcharias said:
actuallly it is A6 not just A.
but D7#9 is not E7#9.
The E7#9 has two extra notes both are the E but are open notes and are different octives giving it a much bigger sound.

oh dear carc....

oh dear....

millersnose

Kurt Angle said:
Beethoven's music isn't terribly difficult to play from a technical perspective either.

do you mean ludwig von beethoven? regarded as being in the top 5 composers of music in history with a career spanning decades the one who is studied in conservatoriums the world over and played daily by orchestras everywhere?

his solo pioano concertos are certainly amongst the most complex things i have ever heard

here is a sentence describing his music

The vastness and imaginative complexity of Beethoven's last works, especially the Quartets, baffled not only his contemporaries but later audiences
http://www.answers.com/topic/ludwig-van-beethoven

However it isn't technicality that defines his greatness in the field of music.

you wont go anywhere in classical music without technicality