Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How 2015 Is Shaping Up

Snoop Shark

I did hear from a manly player's brother that toops was best on ground in our trial Vs manly. The media just decided to write about Barba so for guys like myself that were not there I had no idea how well he played.

I don't want to get my hopes up as I'm still waiting for toops to bring that rooster's form here which I haven't yet seen

webShark

I did hear from a manly player's brother that toops was best on ground in our trial Vs manly. The media just decided to write about Barba so for guys like myself that were not there I had no idea how well he played.

I don't want to get my hopes up as I'm still waiting for toops to bring that rooster's form here which I haven't yet seen

I was there and thought Toops played very well. Wasn't his Roosters form , which I too am waiting to see. My best on ground was a dead heat between Gagan and Saulima. Both played very well in their respective positions. If the players brother was Pat Hasson, he played decent in a poor 20s display. I like Toops but have never seen why the hype. Even at the Roosters he was overated. That was about 6 years ago too. Barba was definitely more noticeable.

chewsta

Toops is a gun, near impossible to tackle and has the best offload in the club.
Its a shame he cant string more than 6 games in a row together to keep his form & momentum going.

drago brelli

Cronulla-Sutherland will chase yet another Illawarra/stains junior, Trent Merrin. Better have deep pockets though, W Bevis is his manager.

Just on Toops, I am a big fan.

Maybe if the club stop using him as a human battering ram style of player - just saying.

But with our previous match plan of 5 one out hit ups and a hail mary kick.

Arhhhhh 2015 bring it on I says, bring it on.

Snoop Shark

Cronulla-Sutherland will chase yet another Illawarra/stains junior, Trent Merrin. Better have deep pockets though, W Bevis is his manager.

Well if you want to get technical he is originally a South Sydney junior having played his junior footy for the Alexandria Rovers

drago brelli

Well if you want to get technical he is originally a South Sydney junior having played his junior footy for the Alexandria Rovers

The Trent Merrin Cronulla are chasing was born in Wollongong, played all his junior league with the Shellharbour Sharks and attended Illawarra Sports High School.
The Trent Merrin you refer to quite league at 16 yrs of age.

Hammer Shark

Hey Shark ppl,

Looking forward to new season...Top 6 expected.

Incase alot of you don't know, there is an NRL weekly podcast that has been on for a few yrs now and one of the announcers is a Sharks member and supporter aka " Sharkie ". It's funny, they give it to him and he fires up and always seems to be in the know. Most weekly podcasts go for around 40mins, plenty of NRL talk and they rip into each other which is funny.

They're on Facebook as The Orange Peelers Online or google for the website.

I enjoy it and Sharkie seems to know what he is talking about so you may like too.

Cheers.

Hammer Shark

bluey

Just on Toops, I am a big fan.

Maybe if the club stop using him as a human battering ram style of player - just saying.

But with our previous match plan of 5 one out hit ups and a hail mary kick.

Arhhhhh 2015 bring it on I says, bring it on.

I am hearing you mate

glenmoresharkie

Looking back to when I made this thread makes me realise just how far this club has come since.

-We have emolyed a wonderful, vastly succesful CEO in Lyall Gorman and because of him have realised what it takes to win a premiership.
-The development has begun
-ASADA have finally f**ked off
-We have signed some wonderful, young players, as well as signed some priceless experience to the squad and brought a couple back after a few years away. Also are currently heavyweights to sign one of the best players in the game.

And all without a ball being kicked in anger yet.

So 2015 is shaping up very nicely now.

Up Up Cronulla.

ghoti

Looks good at board level for once which is nice, but I'm still reservedly optimistic...

I'll be happy up until a scenario wherein Barba or Ennis get injured and we're stuck with something second rate like a Robson/Kyle Stanley halves combo with Politoni at hooker leading us around the park... Halves/hooker depth is concerning for this year

webShark

Looks good at board level for once which is nice, but I'm still reservedly optimistic...

I'll be happy up until a scenario wherein Barba or Ennis get injured and we're stuck with something second rate like a Robson/Kyle Stanley halves combo with Politoni at hooker leading us around the park... Halves/hooker depth is concerning for this year

Hard to cover all eventualities. Nu Brown offered good cover. I prefer giving Todd Murphy a chance. Looks a good footballer. Plus Poiltoni is pretty good too.

Sharkman

Looking back to when I made this thread makes me realise just how far this club has come since.

-We have emolyed a wonderful, vastly succesful CEO in Lyall Gorman and because of him have realised what it takes to win a premiership.
-The development has begun
-ASADA have finally f**ked off
-We have signed some wonderful, young players, as well as signed some priceless experience to the squad and brought a couple back after a few years away. Also are currently heavyweights to sign one of the best players in the game.

And all without a ball being kicked in anger yet.

So 2015 is shaping up very nicely now.

Up Up Cronulla.

As long as I don't see the headline : Sharks dragged into drug net or something similar this year, I'll be stoked.

Everything else is gravy

ghoti

Hard to cover all eventualities. Nu Brown offered good cover. I prefer giving Todd Murphy a chance. Looks a good footballer. Plus Poiltoni is pretty good too.

True. And yeah, losing Nu was a huge loss for us. I'm really not sold on Murphy from what I saw of him in the Manly trial...I hope he proves me wrong, but he looked very very quiet and nervous around the players and on the field. I hope he can get the confidence, but he's not quite the dominant half we'd need to control the squad next to Barba. (Either is Stanley though).

I like Politoni too, I think he showed he was NRL standard last year, but hardly a stand out.

I reckon we're okay if one of Barba, Robson or Ennis go down at a time...there's juuust enough room to shuffle blokes around and we've got the forward to pack to win games regardless of spark against most sides. But if both halves go, we've got f**k all...and if Ennis goes, the back-up to Politoni isn't going to be much show...

Hoping we got rid of all our bad luck last year

Ads

I think we are in huge trouble as it is. Robson is borderline Nrl standard. Barba is a fullback. Replacements are horrible. Not a good place to be in for such key positions.

island pro

I think Murphy has to work. If he doesn't, we are stuck. You need someone that can kick for field position and we don't have anyone. Ennis? C'mon. Gordon? Might work, but plenty of good goal kickers can't kick in general play.

I think we are in a little more trouble than we realise. Things are looking up, backs are looking good, forwards continue to be good. Even hooker might be okay. It is the type of position where young blokes can come up and handle a couple of games ahead of schedule and we have some good young hookers. Half and 5/8 are not looking good. Robson needs a superstar outside him and he has a nervy, ball-running fullback instead.

Barba has all the potential in the world, but that's all it is. He hasn't shown anything for a long while. You need at least one top shelf half to win a comp, we currently have none. We will not go close this year in my opinion.

I hope i'm wrong. Plenty to be pleased about this year so far, but it is just the start of something, the Sharks haven't arrived just yet.