Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly Salary Cap

t-ba

don't care how wealthy they are, their ego still prevents them from pissing up multi million $ losses up the wall year in year out, which is where they will be if they lost points and sponsors.

They spent the better part of a decade pissing money up the wall trying to drive out the other investors. You clearly have nfi what you are talking about.

Knight76

Where has it come out in the past?

I'd suggest that players get told something by the club and management but have no idea what everyone else is getting paid and therefore there's no onus on them to be the moral compass on the salary cap.

I'm sure players don't know exactly what others are on at the club, or where the club sits on the salary cap. But, they don't need to know.

What they need to do, is declare in stat dec all payments they are receiving by the club or other third party to play for that club. AS do the CEO, head of football and player agent.

How many of the major salary cap breaches been attributed to hidden TPA payments? All of them AFAIK.

THe player knows what they are getting, discloses it in stat dec. If club, tries to hide TPA's then the player has advised the NRL and this makes it very difficulty for the club to do so.

That just doesn't wash mate.

It has come out in the past that the way clubs operate is they tell a player they are offering say, $500k per year, player agrees, agent agress and the contract comes back for 400k with a 100k TPA.

Right off the player knows there is a problem. TPA's are not meant to be arranged by clubs and are supposed to be completely at arms length. Apparently introductions are ok but thats it. In the above scenario the player should be fully aware this is not at arms length. The TPA is a direct payment to play for the club, which breaches the TPA rules.

You comment about the player believing the CEO etc would not need to exist if player signed stat dec stating this is the money I am being paid to play for the club. The player agent and CEO signs it also, as well as head of football. Any TPA hidden from the NRL and later discovered throw the book at all of them. They can no longer plead ignorance.

I believe in the past players have signed two contract, one for the NRL and one ensuring TPA payments.

TPA's are meant to have nothing to do with the club and are a way for players to make money outside of their club capitalising on their profile as a pro footy player. Clearly clubs are rorting them left right and centre, and any player given a TPA by the club that their agent or themselves knew nothing about should be ringing alarm bells.

Your never going to bring TPA's under any sort of control until players are accountable for their payments. If they were, you would see players ensuring they are in the clear, you would see players refusing TPA's provided by clubs and come contract renewal time would see players considering their options around how much money in their deal is straight up, and not TPA dependant.

The NRL can easily clear up any doubt about exemptions being granted etc by releasing a media statement around each of these decisions. Make it public, stop hiding all the the back room decisions. Clarity is the key.

Totally agree, needs to be the same stance as in drug use. Ignorance is no defence! Punish the players and it will soon stop.

Where has it come out in the past?

I'd suggest that players get told something by the club and management but have no idea what everyone else is getting paid and therefore there's no onus on them to be the moral compass on the salary cap.

Players don't need to know what everyone is being paid or if the club is in the salary cap amount. They do need to be signing off on what they are getting paid, what TPA are in place, which part of the cap these TPA sit in. Storm cheating was in having non declared contracts, players MUST have known signing two contracts was iffy. Eels and Manly was in TPA not being legit, again player MUST have known this or at the very least of they were at risk of being punished would have double and triple checked they were legit.

wibble

The offical reason given, was the NRL said as they are now compliant the 2018 team should not be disadvantaged.

I say its because the NRL broadcast partners dont like having teams that are seen to be no chance in the comp. It effects ratings. Anyway for what ever reason it stinks and I think Kent's article and his bit on Fox last night was spot on. Not a huge fan of Kent, but at least he is willing to throw a few bombs at the NRL, rather than avoid or pussy foot around things like this

Yeah, I'm pretty certain the NRL wouldn't actually bust a team if they could help it (it's only that they have no real choice when 3rd parties inform them), and would prefer it swept under the rug.

And broadcasters almost certainly want full teams playing for full points.

I thought Kent was pretty abstruse in his hints that he knew the real reason why the NRL were soft on Manly, and was really wondering if he'd since revealed a scoop.

t-ba

Ray Hadley beating the War Drums against Toddy.

Not many survive that.

Toddy gave Manly a soft penalty. The only reason I can think for this is that he hoped it would leave them uninterested in taking the issue further and, purely speculatory, but blowing the lid on other issues. I wouldn't be surprised if the Penn's decide to burn the joint down to get at Toddy tbh. One only has to look at how the Penn's got control of the club in the first place to realise they don't set a particularly high bar when it comes to this kind of stuff.

There's a superb chance this goes thermonuclear.

Spot On

Ray Hadley beating the War Drums against Toddy.

Not many survive that.

Toddy gave Manly a soft penalty. The only reason I can think for this is that he hoped it would leave them uninterested in taking the issue further and, purely speculatory, but blowing the lid on other issues. I wouldn't be surprised if the Penn's decide to burn the joint down to get at Toddy tbh. One only has to look at how the Penn's got control of the club in the first place to realise they don't set a particularly high bar when it comes to this kind of stuff.

There's a superb chance this goes thermonuclear.

I didn't hear Hadley's rant but was told he was absolutely scathing on Toddy and the Nick Weeks over the Manly scandal and Fulton's ban.

I can't believe the dunces at the NRL, including Greenburg, still have a job after yet another cap rort. f**king amatuer hour once again. Just when will the NRL become a professional organisation and work out how to put a stop to the rorting. Will it ever change?????

Greenberg has to go .

Fulton's ban.
Hadley always sucked, always will, bloke brings left/right politics in to game call, such a gobber and of course he is going to stick up for his work mate, no conflict there.
But did anyone mention how F R E A K I N awesome this part is for NSW and Australia?
Just in case nobody noticed.

RafePsB.gif

Suck shyte Bozo.

Hadley always sucked, always will, bloke brings left/right politics in to game call, such a gobber and of course he is going to stick up for his work mate, no conflict there.
But did anyone mention how F R E A K I N awesome this part is for NSW and Australia?
Just in case nobody noticed.

RafePsB.gif

Suck shyte Bozo.
I'm glad the Gallen loving dickhole is gone

If you keep selecting a shitmerkin like Gallen you deserve to lose

Knight76

My concern is that the only time the NRL ever find out about these salary cap cheating clubs, is from whistle blowers. They have no hope of finding a team cheating themselves. I'm not sure what the salary cap auditor actually does to be honest, other than catch those small fish clubs that are not cheating but just made an error on a TPA or something.

I believe the whole game in all aspects is quite happy to hide TPA rorting as long as it does not get made public. And when it does the media and every level of governance does their best to take as little a stance as possible to get through it.

Take the players, all we hear is how there is no suggestion of player wrongdoing. Why the hell not? Fox had DCE on which would be a perfect chance to ask those difficult questions. But they spent all of 2 minutes talking about the cap breach and about 15 talking footy.

I'd be asking:

Come contract time, do you 100% know how much money you will be paid to play for a club you sign for?

Do clubs present offers to you that includes TPA amounts?

In other salary cap breaches players have stated they don't know about it and leave that stuff up to their managers, which suggests players are not actually aware of where their money is coming from. So again, do players know when they sign for a club exactly what their money from the club directly will be, and what TPA they will receive?

Those three answers would be interesting but they never ask them. We know the answers to them though, common sense tells us no player is going to leave that to their manager and not know what they are signing for. Who seriously thinks an agent says sign for Manly and not Gold Coast and does not fully explain why? Ridiculous.

Does anybody believe a player at contract negotiation time isn't fully aware of what each club is offering in total remuneration terms, including what TPA's are offered etc.

I grant a player will not know if said TPA is properly discloed to the NRL, but if it is offered at the same time as the contract, in negotiations for the player to sign it is an illegal TPA anyhow and the player would know this.

It is integral to getting TPA's under control, that all parties in the process are accountable for the breaches, players included. The NRL needs to draw a line in the sand here, start an education program rolled out to the teams around TPA's, what is a TPA, when should they be offered, when they shouldn't be etc. That they should not be used to pay a player to play for a club etc. Explain that any player found to have signed a TPA in breach of the rules will be sanctioned.

TPA's will near disappear from the game, except for the legitimate TPA's for the real stars of the game.

I'm glad the Gallen loving dickhole is gone

If you keep selecting a shitmerkin like Gallen you deserve to lose
hahaha Bozo was destroying NSW way, way before Gallen ever got picked. Try again, pick a random Manly player who made it

So many coaches so thrown under the bus, including your current coach as an assistant.

I have no issue with Fulton being an immortal, he was a genius on the field.

But if there was a picture of "extremely failed selector" in the dictionary, it would be Bob Fulton 1999 to 2018.

That why every blues supporter except manly sycophants is doing these ones.

XX1Getx.gif

hahaha Bozo was destroying NSW way, way before Gallen ever got picked. Try again, pick a random Manly player who made it

So many coaches so thrown under the bus, including your current coach as an assistant.

I have no issue with Fulton being an immortal, he was a genius on the field.

But if there was a picture of "extremely failed selector" in the dictionary, it would Bob Fulton 1999 to 2018.

That why every blues supporter except manly sycophants is doing these ones.

XX1Getx.gif
Gallen is the only reason QLD finished the origin concept

It's dead and we have captain peptide to blame

What about picking players like Nathan Merritt, Buhrer barely made the field but Merritt put in a man of the match effort for Queensland

TRex didn't do that poorly

Uate could never catch

Brett Finch? f**k me swinging it's not just random manly players but random shit players I had the issue with

So you agree Bozo is a shyte selector picked Merritt, Finch am I sure you could go on.
I'm not saying he's a good selector, I agree he's shit

What I disagree with was his bias towards shit manly players, he picked shit players from the whole competition

People are just that anti manly they only seen his questionable manly selections