Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Parramatta @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 2: Parramatta v Wests Tigers

• Parramatta Eels 13+

• Parramatta Eels 1-12

• Wests Tigers 1-12

• Wests Tigers 13+

Results are only viewable after voting.
I respectly disagree. You can't attack gassed and we have enough talent to score points. We've never had problems getting into the red zone but Brooks and co didn't ice it.
We have two of the most exciting stars in the NRL, and once they click, if everyone one else does their part it will happen but you can score 26pts and still get busted by 20 or more.
All the top sides pride themselves on D and it's a priority.
The only reason the Knights didn't touch us up is because they lost their challenge early and got some bad calls and it's also rd one for them,
D is priority in most contact sports.

The Ying and the Yang.

You can defend like tomorrow but can’t win a game without scoring!

But I can’t get excited with 55 missed tackles.

That’s 55 opportunities for the opposition or about 1 every 100 seconds.

Trollhammaren

Such a better looking team this week. No excuses. Gotta give Eels a solid touchup and show Galvin where the promised land is.

Team List:

1. Jahream Bula - sponsored by Sensory Gardens Australia

2. Sunia Turuva - sponsored by Ellis Consolidated

3. Adam Doueihi - sponsored by Murray Kennedy Real Estate

4. Starford To'a - sponsored by Z Wealth Group

5. Jeral Skelton - sponsored by Exclusive Estate Agents

6. Lachlan Galvin - sponsored by Retro Air

7. Jarome Luai (c) - sponsored by APN Compounding

8. Terrell May - sponsored by Z Realty Group

9. Api Koroisau (c) - sponsored by KwikFlo

10. Fonua Pole - sponsored by Club Menangle

11. Samuela Fainu - sponsored by Mars Forklifts

12. Alex Seyfarth - sponsored by Ultra Building Works

13. Alex Twal - sponsored by Endacom

Interchange:

14. Tallyn Da Silva - sponsored by One World Courier

15. Royce Hunt - sponsored by Shane’s Waterproofing

16. Jack Bird - sponsored by MJS Electrical Products & Supplies

17. Sione Fainu - sponsored by Workplace Law

Reserves:

18. Charlie Staines - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

19. Latu Fainu - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

20. Tristan Hope - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

21. Tony Sukkar - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

22. Solomona Faataape - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

Last edited by a moderator:

Such a better looking team this week. No excuses. Gotta give Eels a solid touchup and show Galvin where the promised land is.

Team List:

1. Jahream Bula - sponsored by Sensory Gardens Australia

2. Sunia Turuva - sponsored by Ellis Consolidated

3. Adam Doueihi - sponsored by Murray Kennedy Real Estate

4. Starford To'a - sponsored by Z Wealth Group

5. Jeral Skelton - sponsored by Exclusive Estate Agents

6. Lachlan Galvin - sponsored by Retro Air

7. Jarome Luai (c) - sponsored by APN Compounding

8. Terrell May - sponsored by Z Realty Group

9. Api Koroisau (c) - sponsored by KwikFlo

10. Fonua Pole - sponsored by Club Menangle

11. Samuela Fainu - sponsored by Mars Forklifts

12. Alex Seyfarth - sponsored by Ultra Building Works

13. Alex Twal - sponsored by Endacom

Interchange:

14. Tallyn Da Silva - sponsored by One World Courier

15. Royce Hunt - sponsored by Shane’s Waterproofing

16. Jack Bird - sponsored by MJS Electrical Products & Supplies

17. Sione Fainu - sponsored by Workplace Law

Reserves:

18. Charlie Staines - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

19. Latu Fainu - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

20. Tristan Hope - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

21. Tony Sukkar - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower

22. Solomona Faataape - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
Yes, much more like the team we've been hoping for.

I so much want some club revenge for that debacle at Campbelltown last season.

He’s unceremoniously swung the axe..thock!

Maybe, just maybe… everyone playing to optimum, this is strongest Wests Tigers side we’ve fielded since time immemorial.

A couple of players, first real hit out for awhile and underdone, but we have to grin and bear it.

So due is due Benji.

And I’m glad we are being ruthless despite the eels struggles.

If this side can’t break through….

He’s unceremoniously swung the axe..thock!

Maybe, just maybe… everyone playing to optimum, this is strongest Wests Tigers side we’ve fielded since time immemorial.

A couple of players, first real hit out for awhile and underdone, but we have to grin and bear it.

So due is due Benji.

And I’m glad we are being ruthless despite the eels struggles.
I think Mason, Hope and Faataape were always going to be the ones to go.
I didn't think any others deserved to be dropped.
Lomax is a danger though.

I agree.

Api can’t be left out.
Bula must be fit and if so, this is good game to resurface him as these guys aren’t exactly smug. I’m not overly enthused by him but happy to be nailed to the cross in disgrace.
Hope will get another chance when the injuries kick in. Pole and Sam need to step up. Bird is a big match player, despite his antics.

All eyes on the halves. Not as much pressure with a game under their belt, some tweaks In their games I’d say.

It’s got enormous potential this side, surely they will aim up?!

Its an enigmatic side on paper!

Red for go Benji, wind it all up, everything you’ve got son!

Pezz70

I can’t cop leaving Douehi in the side. He has his moments but he struggles in defence on the left side and offers very little in attack mostly, a lot of running back into the centre of the park across field rubbish, he needs to be charging on to the ball running reasonably straight, that would make a massive difference to our attack (often times he is too shallow and receives the ball standing still). Looks like we’re stuck with him for the time being hopefully he’ll have a couple of blinders and I’ll be eating humble pie, happy to do it if the tigers are winning

I agree.

Api can’t be left out.
Bula must be fit and if so, this is good game to resurface him as these guys aren’t exactly smug. I’m not overly enthused by him but happy to be nailed to the cross in disgrace.
Hope will get another chance when the injuries kick in. Pole and Sam need to step up. Bird is a big match player, despite his antics.

All eyes on the halves. Not as much pressure with a game under their belt, some tweaks In their games I’d say.

It’s got enormous potential this side, surely they will aim up?!

Its an enigmatic side on paper!

Red for go Benji, wind it all up, everything you’ve got son!
Agree, though I don’t think anyone is truly match fit after one game.
Isn’t it green for go. Hahaha

Much better team, although they will be well underdone as far as combos go. I'd like to see Bird start on the edge, as he'd be able to assist in defence out there. Both his own, and with organisation. I still reckon this is the best bet to keep him healthy over the long season. I'd either put Sayfarth on the bench and bring him on for impact, or into 13, and use Twal off the bench. I'm not sure which would work better though. I've gotta say I'm happy to see TDS on the bench as I don't think Api can play 80 minutes effectively anymore. Especially 1st game back he'll need help. I do feel for Latu though.

It is a strong looking team. We can only hope Benji has smashed those stone tablets inscribed with the commandments, at the top of the Leichhardt Oval hill.

I feel much better about Lomax playing in the centres than if he was on the wing.

Go those Tigers!

I can’t cop leaving Douehi in the side. He has his moments but he struggles in defence on the left side and offers very little in attack mostly, a lot of running back into the centre of the park across field rubbish, he needs to be charging on to the ball running reasonably straight, that would make a massive difference to our attack (often times he is too shallow and receives the ball standing still). Looks like we’re stuck with him for the time being hopefully he’ll have a couple of blinders and I’ll be eating humble pie, happy to do it if the tigers are winning
I don't disagree, but we have to work with what we have, and he is a reasonable GK as well. Api has enough to do.

WA Tiger

If what you are arguing is that the system has shortcomings, yes I think we saw it in action yesterday.

We need better options for alleged victims but also safeguards for innocent guys ( and people generally) as police make too many errors. Probably their training etc, cultural issues etc.

not about this case specifically but say a like one:

Putting all the emotion away, she’s expected to give evidence against her breadwinner and she’s got little ones.

Stakes are high because if he loses, he can’t earn a big income, then she’s on the Centrelink as a carer. That is severe and not good. To make ends meet, she’s got some state support but now she’s also stressing about rent, food, clothes, medicines, car payments. It can be done, but bring poor in Australia is getting harder everyday. Less and less life choices and options.

So because the NRL steps in and says he can’t play, all the heavy lifting is done not just by him, but also by the poor mum and the kids.

It might be better to have a rule where they can play on condition they make mandatory payments to mum and kids.

And it might have the effect of being less frightening and life changing for alleged victims to come forth.

And in that way, support the judicial system, the police and DV allies as well.

As it is now, an alleged victim hides away, the guy puts up with a lot of stuff, but is ultimately exonerated without any forensic accountability.

So maybe the NRL can look more closely at the consequences. I appreciate no fault is well meaning, and some people should never play the game, but can we do better?
Now she can go back for seconds now he’s convinced her he’s “cured”

Not in relation to the case specifically but I think that’s likely.

The ladies who call the police fearing for their sisters lives, they are rarely forgiven either and who is to say what would have happened if the police weren’t called?

The chances of any genuine insight and remorse are remote and the victims cop the blame.

These guys convince themselves they are right and justified because their heads are basically f**ked.

They are cowards too, they wouldn’t try to bash Royce Hunt. They are pieces of shiz WA, pieces of shiz.

As I said, the guy in question joins this club, I’m f**king done.

This has been an important discussion.

Much better team, although they will be well underdone as far as combos go. I'd like to see Bird start on the edge, as he'd be able to assist in defence out there. Both his own, and with organisation. I still reckon this is the best bet to keep him healthy over the long season. I'd either put Sayfarth on the bench and bring him on for impact, or into 13, and use Twal off the bench. I'm not sure which would work better though. I've gotta say I'm happy to see TDS on the bench as I don't think Api can play 80 minutes effectively anymore. Especially 1st game back he'll need help. I do feel for Latu though.

It is a strong looking team. We can only hope Benji has smashed those stone tablets inscribed with the commandments, at the top of the Leichhardt Oval hill.

I feel much better about Lomax playing in the centres than if he was on the wing.

Go those Tigers!

Red for Go!

If we are going to start connecting the dots ( combos), this match presents as a worthy candidate.

If I can praise the eels, Ryles managed to turn them about and elicit a second half response.

So the chances of another first half capitulation from them are remote.

But all things being equal, our side looks pretty f**king willing.

Into 13 for Seyfarth is lateral thinking, better footy minds than mine can chomp into that scenario.

We should have a eternal fiesta in the halves this time around. They’ve had their trial run.

Tito and Skelton on the flanks, willing!

Speed, skill and power to burn but they need time and space.

Brown and Volksman in their halves and their fans won’t be cheering for the traitor. Rat with a gold tooth…..needs a come-uppance.

Wizardman

I had a look at the Eels reserve grade pack.....makes for very interesting reading.

8. Wiremu Greig 9. Joey Lussick 10. Ryan Matterson 11. Kelma Tuilagi 12. Bryce Cartwright 13. Charlie Guymer

As much talent as there are in those individuals, there is plenty of quit in about four of those blokes. I think Ryles is sending a few of these blokes a message.

I agree with the sentiment here.....even though we are rebuilding, we have not been in a better position to beat the Eels in a very long time than now. I still think there is every possibility we can beat ourselves though.

Nutz

I had a look at the Eels reserve grade pack.....makes for very interesting reading.

8. Wiremu Greig 9. Joey Lussick 10. Ryan Matterson 11. Kelma Tuilagi 12. Bryce Cartwright 13. Charlie Guymer

As much talent as there are in those individuals, there is plenty of quit in about four of those blokes. I think Ryles is sending a few of these blokes a message.

I agree with the sentiment here.....even though we are rebuilding, we have not been in a better position to beat the Eels in a very long time than now. I still think there is every possibility we can beat ourselves though.
Kelma Tuilagi is an interesting one. He was gunning it last year for them.