Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL and AFL tackle PM over plan to curb the use of poker machines

hmmmmmmm.... this is interesting.

If MPC comes in and Parramatta , Penrith, Canterbury and Wests Leagues All go broke.

It creates a nice big opening for GWS

It would only really hurt Collingwood and Hawthorne I believe, and they have the cash to take the hit.

The AFL can afford to prop up the strugglers that it does affect

Kennett said 4 AFL clubs. these jokers rely on pokis more than the NRL

and nobody will go broke. crazy talk

Cumberland Throw

some of those mentioned make over 85% of all revenue from gaming.

They might not close, but the 4-5 M grant to the footy club will go

undertaker

Just a few questions:

1)It's of my understanding that 2008 was the first year that the NRL pushed very hard regarding NRL memberships. Why did it take so long for this to happen, since AFL have been pushing memberships for many years?

2) Why have the Sydney teams been relying on leagues club money for many years, whereas clubs without leagues clubs have survived?

3) If this proposed MPC legislation DOES get passed, what do you think will be the immediate short-term and long-term ramifications for certain clubs?

Usain Bolt

Just a few questions:

1)It's of my understanding that 2008 was the first year that the NRL pushed very hard regarding NRL memberships. Why did it take so long for this to happen, since AFL have been pushing memberships for many years?

2) Why have the Sydney teams been relying on leagues club money for many years, whereas clubs without leagues clubs have survived?

3) If this proposed MPC legislation DOES get passed, what do you think will be the immediate short-term and long-term ramifications for certain clubs?

old news mate

PaddyBoy

Wrong. the 95% of casual punters like myself don't want to get a license to play the pokies. That's where the losses will come from. Problem gamblers will probably gamble just as much if not more.

Do you do more than $1 hits?

Also, why can't we make the dirtbags at Aristocrats pay for this?

Raiderdave

Hard to believe that people are justifying it based on A) the world of jnr sport will collapse in NSW/Victoria without pokie machines or B) the govt shouldn't be telling the plebians what they can and can't do.

Neither argument holds water and the sooner the NRL and jnr sport wake up to the fact it is unethical to pay for kids playing games out of the misery of gambling addiction the better. If not blow it lets start a campaign to legalise hard drugs and start dealing crack through NRL merchandise outlets and really see our sporting investments increase!

what part of " these reforms won't work " don't you understand ?

the end result will be thousands of jobs lost
millions less in dollars out in local communities
& not one fewer problem gambler

the gutless AFL say they oppose the legislation
but won't do an actual thing to fight it

Oh we'll sit down & talk about it
but leave the NRL to take the heat in another issue hijacked by more tree huggers who have little understanding of the real facts.

1.6% of regular gamblers are considered " problem gamblers "
meaning 98.4% can handle gambling just fine & don't need to be nannied

woeful legislation that needs to be stopped.

Dogs Of War

Not one fewer problem gambler, I seriously doubt that, you obviously don't know any problem gamblers then if you think these reforms won't have any impact to problem gamblers. Any current "programs" supplied, just don't work. Give the G line a ring, and speak to someone who just reads from a script. Gamblers Anonymous generally only works during business hours (not that I would suggest using them, there program has shown to be no more effective than having a go yourself), so if you have a problem, and want treatment, you need to fork out for it yourself.

Either way, people will still be able to have a go, not everybody needs to use the cards. Only if you want want to have a go at the higher end machines.

Your just reading of the clubs association's hymn book crying the sky is falling. Yeah there will be an impact to clubs & pubs, maybe, just maybe, they will need to have more entertainment other than pokie machines to get people through the doors, just like pubs did before they had pokie machines.

How about a link to that. If the sample used are only regular gamblers, I would think it's a lot higher than 1.6%.

Good old PC Vlad.

We know you don't want these pokie reforms Vlad you arrogant dog.
He even managed a dig at the NRL while he was at it. Fat Smug Merkin, he won't be laughing when the AFL has to bail out up to 8 clubs. Especially the two new money pits.

seaeagle sam

the gutless AFL say they oppose the legislation
but won't do an actual thing to fight it

Oh we'll sit down & talk about it
but leave the NRL to take the heat in another issue hijacked by more tree huggers who have little understanding of the real facts.

According to who? Gould? Clubs NSW? Gallop? The AFL?

Can't see the problem. Write down $1000 on the form and sign it. Big f**king deal.

Munky

$91 million of Panthers 2010 revenue of $150 million came from "gaming" according to the financials.

That's 60%, it's no wonder that Gould is using every opportunity to push the agenda.

Assuming these figures are correct, what share of total of revenue do these 1.6% of problem gamblers account for?

bobmar28

Come to Cairns on pension day and watch the Indigenous blokes blow all their pension on the pokies . The banks have even been kind enough to install an ATM on the wall outside the aborigine's pub.

I have seen aborigine women calling out thru the window at their hubbies to stop spending all the kids food money before hubby casually strolls outside and gives her a few good punches to the head before strolling back inside to resume where he left off. None of his mates even seem to notice. : (

I used to have a lot of respect for Gould, Vossy etc but not anymore.

Something needs to be done about that but mate I live in Liverpool not Cairns. Why should I need a license?

Noa

hmmmmmmm.... this is interesting.

If MPC comes in and Parramatta , Penrith, Canterbury and Wests Leagues All go broke.

It creates a nice big opening for GWS

It would only really hurt Collingwood and Hawthorne I believe, and they have the cash to take the hit.

The AFL can afford to prop up the strugglers that it does affect

Bulldogs, Carlton and St KIlda would all take a massive hit. Trust me when i say, unlike in NSW, where money from leagues club does actually go to grass-roots, that money from pokies in Victoria goes towards things like Collingwood flying to Arizona every pre-season, teams having assistant coaches on 300k-400k, etc,etc. Ill say it again, anyone who doesnt think any form of betting has become to accessible & intrusive in this country has there head up there back-side.

bobmar28

This is the issue. Whatever people on here think of pokies, we are funding our sport indirectly through people ruining their and others lives. We can't call ourself a community sport if we need something that destroys communities for us to run.

Sports in every country of the world are run without support from pokies - we need to move into the 21st century and come up with a new business model.

This argument that rugby league is riding on the backs of a few problem gamblers is wearing a bit thin. Problem gamblers are 1% of the population, make them get a card. Why should the rest of us need a license to play?
Anyway problem gamblers would probably just go home and play on line casino so what's the point?

franklin2323

$91 million of Panthers 2010 revenue of $150 million came from "gaming" according to the financials.

That's 60%, it's no wonder that Gould is using every opportunity to push the agenda.

There's is nothing to do besides go on the pokies there. Put on some bands. Open Minx again for starters. The place is built up to only use pokies. Some forward thinking it will be right

franklin2323

some of those mentioned make over 85% of all revenue from gaming.

They might not close, but the 4-5 M grant to the footy club will go

How much assests do they have? Many of them are assesst rich but cash poor. Panthers for example owns $250m in property. Anyone that drives down Mulgoa Road on the left towards high street there is huge vacant
land. Panthers owns that and has plans to develop that much like Sharks just on a bigger scale. The leased the Hotel out for $190m. So they have stuff to sell until that development is completed

bobmar28

The food sucks there big time. Nothing to do at any leagues or rsl club except play pokies or card machines

The food at my local club (Mounties) is great, and affordable at the 4 restaurants/cafes. There are 3 bands playing this weekend, all free. Free movies in the showroom. Kids activities etc. Shows in the Showroom from about $35. Nothing to do?

franklin2323

The food at my local club (Mounties) is great, and affordable at the 4 restaurants/cafes. There are 3 bands playing this weekend, all free. Free movies in the showroom. Kids activities etc.

That's the way it should be. Get people in and off the pokies then no reform can kill them.