Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question on Peter V'landys

PVL ...good for RL or not?

Canard

It’s no surprise Nine Ent and News Corp media outlets are the ones that have historically get stuck in the most. They’re the ones the NRL depend on financially, so much that they regularly advance payment on rights. It’s a shit dynamic and it’s why they can do it for their own benefit.

Or perhaps they subscribe to the PR theory that any publicity is good publicity, and doing Rugba League a favour. The more scandalous, the better.

No that's as dumb as dogshit.

big hit!

Draining away 2 more weeks of your savings isn't something to be applauded. Polo playing Gill has been Mr Invisible during this, and just passively waited for things to happen.

Let's have a look at the way their codes behavior has been covered:

AFL

- Stalking by ex-coach (Poor guy he needs help)
- Drunk and dangerous driving (Poor guys, they need help)
- Stabbing, and refusing to speak to the Police (Poor guy, he needs help)
- Entire club breaking lockdown protocols(No biggie, honest mistake)

Compare that to the NRL coverage, which concocted drama at every turn.

The AFL always planned on a 17 game season due to covid. It had already been set prior to the season beginning. What difference does it make when they start? The longer they possibly leave it, perhaps the greater chance of fans in finals. That’s the approach the ARLC is taking with origin, right? Our game’s major cash cow

Canard

The AFL always planned on a 17 game season due to covid. It had already been set prior to the season beginning. What difference does it make when they start? The longer they possibly leave it, perhaps the greater chance of fans in finals. That’s the approach the ARLC is taking with origin, right? Our game’s major cash cow

Why did you reply to the same message twice with completely different points? Alt much?

Cash is king in these times mate, getting money in the bank as soon as you can is the highest priority for any business, especially when you have a half a million dollar loan burning a hole in your pocket.

Who knows what happens down the track, a second wave of the Rona, a state closing its borders, forced quarantine.

The AFL rode on the coattails of the NRL in terms of the re-start, and passively let our great code do all the hard work.

16 teams
3 x QLD
10 x NSW
1 x ACT, VIC & NZ

18 teams
10 x Vic
2 x Qld, NSW, SA, WA

Games are also regularly played in Tasmania, NT and ACT.

The SA and WA also refused to lift restrictions in a political move to force the AFL to base clubs there in a hub for economic benefit of having 4 to 6 teams based in both states.

The bottom line remains - they AFL could afford to wait because they weren’t gonna go bankrupt. 10 of their clubs are also based in Victoria whose govt doesn’t have as a relaxed attitude to COVID19 as NSW gov.

There is no impetus for AFL to get back quickly at the expense of the integrity of the game or undermining public health and safety.

This isn’t USSR and USA space race to the moon ffs. Both codes have extremely different motives and needs.

Ones administrators love beating their chest, telling the world how awesome they are, changing rules on the fly, creating drama wherever they go and needed to get the game going to avoid bankruptcy.

The other code called it off till 31 May, announced a 17 game season, secured a loan and went about its business behind closed doors. No media drama and no negative fallout with channel 7 or Foxtel or players unions or umpires.

There is no way you can defend the unnecessary public drama the NRL has caused along the way. It didn’t have to be that way and I think that leadership style tarnishes the sport rather than benefits it when you consider the AFL will restart 2 weeks later with little fuss or drama along the way.
Lol
I'm talking about where teams are based .
So forget Nt TAs & ACT
It was more afl propaganda .
They have 5 states to talk to GOVTs
NRL has 3 states
territory &
I other country .
So no difference .

& what a pile of crap about how wonderful things are in afl world compared to NRL .
The media in Victoriania treat anything negative in afl with kid gloves or don't even mention it
RL is treated like shit in Syd ..
A bloke taking piss behind a bush is the end of the world
Headlines
Won't someone think of the children ..

It's the way it's always been .
At least the nrl didn't do a deal with the local cops to keep bad player behaviour quiet .

Oh & this was played out in th media
Because

Shock horror
FAIRFAX started the shit .

Go back to your fumble love in .

grouch

Bring back Moffo (the CEO).. even if that means bringing back Moffo (the LU member)

LeagueXIII

16 teams
3 x QLD
10 x NSW
1 x ACT, VIC & NZ

18 teams
10 x Vic
2 x Qld, NSW, SA, WA

Games are also regularly played in Tasmania, NT and ACT.

The SA and WA also refused to lift restrictions in a political move to force the AFL to base clubs there in a hub for economic benefit of having 4 to 6 teams based in both states.

The bottom line remains - they AFL could afford to wait because they weren’t gonna go bankrupt. 10 of their clubs are also based in Victoria whose govt doesn’t have as a relaxed attitude to COVID19 as NSW gov.

There is no impetus for AFL to get back quickly at the expense of the integrity of the game or undermining public health and safety.

This isn’t USSR and USA space race to the moon ffs. Both codes have extremely different motives and needs.

Ones administrators love beating their chest, telling the world how awesome they are, changing rules on the fly, creating drama wherever they go and needed to get the game going to avoid bankruptcy.

The other code called it off till 31 May, announced a 17 game season, secured a loan and went about its business behind closed doors. No media drama and no negative fallout with channel 7 or Foxtel or players unions or umpires.

There is no way you can defend the unnecessary public drama the NRL has caused along the way. It didn’t have to be that way and I think that leadership style tarnishes the sport rather than benefits it when you consider the AFL will restart 2 weeks later with little fuss or drama along the way.

I'd assume the AFL won't be playing games in Tassie, NT and ACT, they'll keep it basic to the main homes of each team to minimise movement and maintain control.

Rugby League also plays games in SA, WA and the NT.

RL moved quickly not because it would go bankrupt but to help it's partner Fox (who were bleeding money). The sensational reporting of the real situation was way OTT at the time as there was an agenda against Greenberg as he was anti Nine/News. Right or wrong that's another story.

Once he was gone we found out the situaution wasn't as bad and the game actually did have money and assets.

If any sport beats it's chest it's the AFL. They constantly are looking down their nose at RL.

AFL is a very insecure sport when threatened by a rival, it is not use to playing with others, because for 100 years they have had a monopoly. Look how they treated soccer when they wanted to bid for the World Cup.

Infact I heard on SEN recently Andy Maher ridiculing V'landys and the NRL for their start date.

No media drama of course because the media is in their pocket, just compare the two, whilst Cleary was Tik Toking the AFL boys were out partying. In the space of a few weeks we have had:

- Bulldogs captain smashes his car into parked cars whilst pissed and fleeing the scene

- Geelong player stabbed in the chest and in hospital

- Ex coach braving icy conditions and wandering around St.Kilda in a dress and stalking his ex partner....why?

- Adelaide and Fremantle players breaking isolation

- Adelaide player getting drunk and arrested

- Melbourne player comes out and admits major battle with drugs and alcohol

If this occured in the NRL could you imagine the hysteria.

It's reported for a day or two then goes away, the media co-operating ever so kindly as to protect brand AFL, probably in fear of losing media accreditation.

The NRL doesn't create the drama the media does, you need to separate the two. Sydney people are not interested in naming lists like the "20 greatest reserve players of the last 30 years". Whereas in Melbourne these lists make for exciting radio and TV.

big hit!

Why did you reply to the same message twice with completely different points? Alt much?

Cash is king in these times mate, getting money in the bank as soon as you can is the highest priority for any business, especially when you have a half a million dollar loan burning a hole in your pocket.

Who knows what happens down the track, a second wave of the Rona, a state closing its borders, forced quarantine.

The AFL rode on the coattails of the NRL in terms of the re-start, and passively let our great code do all the hard work.

you brought up two different points. one was cash flow and restarting season. the other was media coverage of players behaviour. i separated the responses. I haven't got time or the energy to play games with alt-accounts. I'm always logical rather than partisan in my responses.

are the rights going to be paid per round in both the NRL & AFL? I haven't read about that being the case. When are the respective broadcast partners paying their dues?

when the season starts and if the new rules are fantastic, then I'll be first to applaud Vlandys. my view right now is he's rolled in and running the show like a dictatorship that he's used to doing at Racing NSW. It may be great now in times of crisis for the sport to get things restarted, but it won't be long before the clubs push back at his autocratic approach if he keeps it up and doesn't do any consulting with stakeholders.

big hit!

It's reported for a day or two then goes away, the media co-operating ever so kindly as to protect brand AFL, probably in fear of losing media accreditation.

exactly! what I've been saying. the dynamic is different between the admin and the media in the AFL and the NRL. and i've explained why countless times. all I'm reading here though is the woe is rugby league gets a bad wrap in the media. why is it trodden over by the media? because those same media outlets that drag our game through shit also have the game by the balls.

LeagueXIII

What the media are very good at and they did it alot when there were drinking issues a few seasons ago.

They take the current incident and in the report link it to 3 or 4 other isues which creates a very negative perception. They will do this over and over.

Whereas in the AFL they just report the incident and that is it so doesn't have the shock value.

LeagueXIII

exactly! what I've been saying. the dynamic is different between the admin and the media in the AFL and the NRL. and i've explained why countless times. all I'm reading here though is the woe is rugby league gets a bad wrap in the media. why is it trodden over by the media? because those same media outlets that drag our game through shit also have the game by the balls.

I actually think this may turn now that V'landys has steered us closer to News Ltd. AFL now may get the big stick, watch them melt.

doubt it, Fox ultimate goal would be one major national footy code. Afl are a long way further down the road to achieving that than the nrl are, or look like being.

taipan

Bring back Moffo (the CEO).. even if that means bringing back Moffo (the LU member)

Bugger me, the cycling CEO who brought exactly.................to the NRL.

He was as charismatic and effective as burnt toast.

But they’ll never have internationals. Once the season is over, it’s over. Fox know they can get more mileage out of Rugby League. And Origin didn’t work out for AFL.

Fox doesn't have origin and doubt it cares much about Internationals, or the NRL would treat them with a lot more respect.

LeagueXIII

But they’ll never have internationals. Once the season is over, it’s over. Fox know they can get more mileage out of Rugby League. And Origin didn’t work out for AFL.

Bit of trivia, if Australia do not play this season it will be the first time since 1976 (44yrs) and second time since WWII that Australia has not played an international.