Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 13 Parra v Cowboys - Game Day

Yes it does.
Just say nice things and you'll be fine.

Sadly it seems the only way to be a true fan these days, wave the Pom poms no matter what. I was bagged in the pre season when I queried out recruitment and planning and was labeled a whinger and a sook. I was told by some people who are supposedly in the know there is a plan in place and I didn't know what I was talking about. I was laughed at when I suggested that Robinson couldn't be Haynes replacement I was told we had other plans in the works as it stands he is our best option ( has played better than I thought he would) and for next season we are chasing an injury plagued 31 yr old who's best days are well and truly past him. Loving this plan, if people think Foran and Scott are going to wave a magic wand and we become a contender they are off with the pixies more than I thought.

Joshuatheeel

Sadly it seems the only way to be a true fan these days, wave the Pom poms no matter what. I was bagged in the pre season when I queried out recruitment and planning and was labeled a whinger and a sook. I was told by some people who are supposedly in the know there is a plan in place and I didn't know what I was talking about. I was laughed at when I suggested that Robinson couldn't be Haynes replacement I was told we had other plans in the works as it stands he is our best option ( has played better than I thought he would) and for next season we are chasing an injury plagued 31 yr old who's best days are well and truly past him. Loving this plan, if people think Foran and Scott are going to wave a magic wand and we become a contender they are off with the pixies more than I thought.

True Foran / Scott won't turn us into contenders straight away. But it's hard to agrue they wouldn't make a big difference, last two weeks comebacks have started on Sandow / Moeroa side - replace them with Scott / Foran and we are a hell of a lot stronger defensive.

And Foran will provide better direction then Sandow.

Gordon will ok at fullback - our attack is fine so we don't need a superstar back there but someone with idea at positioning them selves at the back.

True Foran / Scott won't turn us into contenders straight away. But it's hard to agrue they wouldn't make a big difference, last two weeks comebacks have started on Sandow / Moeroa side - replace them with Scott / Foran and we are a hell of a lot stronger defensive.

And Foran will provide better direction then Sandow.

Gordon will ok at fullback - our attack is fine so we don't need a superstar back there but someone with idea at positioning them selves at the back.
The depressing thing is Gordon will be an improvement at fullback, doesnt mean he is the right fit.

Bigfella

The fullback positioning last night had f**k all to do with most of their tries, including the kicks.

The kicks were virtually all to centre/winger zone and came as a result of absolutely hopelessly staggered defensive line - including defenders rushing out of the line; and an uneven line.

Pretending it was because we have a makeshift funack and that will all change next year isn't much use mate.

The fullback positioning last night had f**k all to do with most of their tries, including the kicks.

The kicks were virtually all to centre/winger zone and came as a result of absolutely hopelessly staggered defensive line - including defenders rushing out of the line; and an uneven line.

Pretending it was because we have a makeshift funack and that will all change next year isn't much use mate.

Disagree a few try's were down to poor posturing from the fullback. At least two of them could've been stopped had our fullback been on his game instead of sun baking out the back somewhere. He was hopelessly out of position.

So which Poly players at the Eels are crap anyway ? Hoppa ? Jnr Paulo ? Mau'u ? Taka ? Tepai ?

Jnr Paulo - Tepai- Hoppa are Polynesian background but you would call them Aussie.

Look souths have no Polynessians bar Luke in there team. Melbourne have few. I do not think its having a go at Islanders, there great people.Friendly welcoming and laid back. Compared to a guy like Bird who is a bit of a grub-But sometimes you need these grubs in your team. That is just how footy is.

We have way too many nice guys in our squad who are average players.If you have great skill like the morris boys or even Hoppa than you can get away with it.But if your just an average player you need too be aggressive or a leader.
Morgan-Robo come to mind.Not talented enough too get away with playing there natural game.

Agreed. Our balance is out and has been for a while. I like the Broncos, Rabbits and Dragons balance for example.

I aggree with you RAM.... Its no beeing racist. Poly's bring diff elements to the game. Is it racist too say they are more powerfull and better athletes than white guys?

Our problem is our halfback does not lead -Our fullback is too small-Morgan is a $hit player and too many of our forwards are not dirty enough.

It can't be doing much for Alvaro's confidence in his fledgling NRL career to be seeing so much time on the pine... his team is 24 points up with 25 minutes to go and he still can't get a run...

you are being so glass half empty

instead you should see the - "there is only 50 seconds to go - I'm trusting you to go out and win the game for us"

:?

TheRam

Lets go through some of the top teams Ram.

1. Broncos - Sure am glad we don't have shit players like Josh McGuire and Anthony Milford on our team.

2. Cowboys - James Tamou and Jason Taumalolo, garbage who would want them.

3. Storm - Jesse Bromwich, Marika Koroibete, Tohu Harris, don't need them.

4. Dragons - Tyson Frizell, Benji Marshall, awful players

5. Rabbitohs - Isaac Luke, Dylan Walker, they'll never win a comp with terrible players like that in their team.

6. Roosters - Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Shaun Kenny-Dowell, Jared-Waerea-Hargreaves, Michael Jennings, Sam Moa, Isaac Liu, Sio Sia Taukeiaho - what a bunch of losers.

Thanks for reaffirming what I have said. Two to five per team.

Yep, especially one not fully fit who hadn't played 80min all year.

Exactly right, mate.

I'm a massive fan of Tepai's, but he's still getting used to the pace of First Grade, and throwing him in to defend next to Sandow is a bone headed move.

Do you agree Foran is better than Sandow?

Beau Scott was the best player on the field in the first half of origin one.The best of the best. To say he wont help us is silly.
Those two players alone mean we win our last 4 games, not just one of them.And i dare say or game against tigers we win.Close games these two get us over the line. We will be a 10-14 point better team with them.If we can sort out fullback a wing spot and a bit more depth in the forwards we will be a genuine title chance.

Do any of use remember how bad we where in 2012-2013? It was not could we win-It was how much will we lose by.We where that BAD!!
2013 would be one of the worse teams in the history of the NRL.
Now we have a team that on its day can beat anyone.But at worse is very competetive and seems too lose the close ones.

With Peats Norman and Foran id say we have one of the best and youngest spines in the NRL. Throw in Hoppa-Semi-Teapi-Jnr Paulo and there are 7 guys you build a team around for the next 6-7 yrs. You do not need great players in ever position.

Exactly right, mate.

I'm a massive fan of Tepai's, but he's still getting used to the pace of First Grade, and throwing him in to defend next to Sandow is a bone headed move.

What confuses me is he dropped Tepai cause the grind of NRL is too much right?
So why play him for 80mins? Id give him 50mins a game.MAX.
I recall last year he did same with Pauli and said he needs to learn to play thru the pain. I can not agree with this.You need too slowly extend there minutes gradually.
Gower should be playing more mins than Tepai.

oldmancraigy

The NRL has around 38% mixed Islanders. Out of that I would say around 10-12% are top notch and have the right mental toughness that can equal anyone else that the success of the Kiwis.

We seem to have mostly of the other 25-27% that aren't worth squat when in the trenches.

As for Morgan he isn't even good enough to be a Polynesian.

And for those who are scape goating Sandow again, He didn't miss every tackle in that 11 min onslaught of patheticness. No that was a whole team effort.

Example, I didn't see Sandow losing the speed of the ruck at that time. Did any of you. And if that is the case, what do we all know about the ruck fellas???

Yeah, it was all Sandow's fault.

How can we win the ruck when they just send traffic at Sandow? He guves up and yells 'help'. Moeroa and Morgan freak out, and if they manage to tackle Sandows guy, it is impossible to win the ruck without giving a penalty. If someone is beaten, then a quick play the ball normally results!

Sure the loss is not all his fault, but do you really think he doesnt singlehandedly destroy the edge defence he is on?

I can imagine what you would say about him if he was Polynesian.

TheRam

Jnr Paulo - Tepai- Hoppa are Polynesian background but you would call them Aussie.

Look souths have no Polynessians bar Luke in there team. Melbourne have few. I do not think its having a go at Islanders, there great people.Friendly welcoming and laid back. Compared to a guy like Bird who is a bit of a grub-But sometimes you need these grubs in your team. That is just how footy is.

We have way too many nice guys in our squad who are average players.If you have great skill like the morris boys or even Hoppa than you can get away with it.But if your just an average player you need too be aggressive or a leader.
Morgan-Robo come to mind.Not talented enough too get away with playing there natural game.

That's the problem.

You know what makes me sick?

The mentality that anyone who criticises obvious and repeated mistakes in the direction of a perennially unsuccessful and underachieving football club can't be a real fan.

How is anything ever going to change if the fans just continually accept this shit?

We don't have a fullback for next season.

Our centres and wingers are appalling, with one exception.

Our halves are looking exciting - but what use will they be with wood ducks surrounding them?

Our salary cap is so f**ked we are basically playing with players the coach has no faith in and we don't use.

We have a football operation which is full of political appointments - people who are past it; in a role that doesn't suit their skills; and in other cases who simply aren't qualified to do the job

The club is a basket case and if you call it out in any way you get told you aren't a real supporter by people who are consistently wrong on their predictions and analysis.

Its a forum for exchange of opinions.

If you don't like some of them, even though they obviously accord with what is happening on the field in front of our eyes every week, then don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

Imo that's the most important point - whether we all agree or not, people's opinions are all equally valid.

What confuses me is he dropped Tepai cause the grind of NRL is too much right?
So why play him for 80mins? Id give him 50mins a game.MAX.
I recall last year he did same with Pauli and said he needs to learn to play thru the pain. I can not agree with this.You need too slowly extend there minutes gradually.
Gower should be playing more mins than Tepai.

Agreed 100%.

Tepai will be an 80 minute wrecking ball, but at 19, it's a huge ask - especially when you ask him to babysit the little halfback with ADHD in defence.

TheRam

I aggree with you RAM.... Its no beeing racist. Poly's bring diff elements to the game. Is it racist too say they are more powerfull and better athletes than white guys?

Our problem is our halfback does not lead -Our fullback is too small-Morgan is a $hit player and too many of our forwards are not dirty enough.

I know I'm not. People like to just throw that out to shut people up.

The reality is if you have too many in any team, the hard nose talent isn't as common in their attitude as what they have naturally, which is pure beautiful power and skill to burn.

But in 20 or 30 years, it will be different.

ek999

Thanks for reaffirming what I have said. Two to five per team.

Souths won the grand final last year with 6 Polynesian's and potentially 7 if Luke played and they kept Korisau on the bench. They beat a Bulldogs side with 5 Polynesian's and would have been 6 if Kasiano wasn't injured. Lloyd Perrett played a big part in the side all year too

Semi finalists the Roosters had 10 Polynesian's and the Panthers 7 or 8