Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SMH: A pair of losses, but Kearney is coach for long haul, say Eels

Well what can I say mate, I must be a stalker then. Then again I can always carry on like a tool here and tell the world how badly this club is run without any substance.

Stalker eel

Just taking the piss Muzzarooni. :D

MITS, I think his passion for the club is visible and have no problem with it. People do not run for the board and devote the time without passion for the club. There is no financial incentive in the position.

It is also well documented about him opening up his home etc to the players before he was on the voard.

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH we would not want the truth to get in the way of a good story ;-)

born an eel

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH we would not want the truth to get in the way of a good story ;-)
the truth is just because he has passion it doesn't necessarily mean he is good at running the club.

And MITS was expressing an opinion that the passion wasn't obvious to the fans and communication was not sufficiant. So where was the truth being stretched?

boxhead

I don't mind the club extending Kearney's contract.
We need a coach here for the long term, not so much for results but more so that our management can get into gear and sort out their failings. Having several coaches in a handful of years is a bad approach.
Who is to say our next coach would do a better job?
If Kearney can get our juniors up to scratch and fix our recruitment issues, as well as implementing several strategies to improve and modernize the club, then I'm all for it.

And I don't give a sh!t if you think I'm a blind optimist. We've played against two very good outfits to start the season and were well in the contest in both until unfortunate circumstances came into play; we looked flat in attack against the Broncos but we really fell apart when Ben Roberts went off. And would any team cope that well if they lost their best player early into a game?

Support the current coach and endure the tough times that most sporting teams have to endure at some point. Immediate success is an outdated mentality; we are dealing with much adversity that is certainly not limited to the suppossed or apparent frailties of the coach and players. The only way to conquer such adversity is through careful, considered, comprehensive and gradual change.
Call it optimism all you like. It's just simple business acumen not clouded by despair.

MITS, I think his passion for the club is visible and have no problem with it. People do not run for the board and devote the time without passion for the club. There is no financial incentive in the position.

It is also well documented about him opening up his home etc to the players before he was on the voard.

I have no doubt about his passion, I have known Roy since 2004 or so and I would never doubt his passion for the club. What I said was it and the board stance on issues facing the club were not overly visible.

I stated during my question that I am an Oratorical snob, and I love a good speech. I remember sitting with Stagger, Nikki and others at the AGM in 2007 or so when Fitzy spoke about the issues facing the club. All those in attendance would concede Denis spoke well and got his point of view across.

I think that is what people want from their board and their chairman.

People will roll their eyes but I referenced in my comment at the AGM the Hawthorn Footy club and their outgoing Chairman Jeff Kennett and his final speech at the clubs award night that was placed on YouTube here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jjNFw36yQY

It shows a passion for his club that is infectious and inspired the members and while a small band are greatly inspired by the coach and the board. Others are left to scratch their head and wonder what is happening.

I just think our club could do with some communication between the board and the fans, to help calm the nerves of those instead of having to find a board member and ask your question to them while they are trying to leave a game or what ever.

Many at the Meeting, including Roy and Mario Libertini agreed they understood my point and would consider it, others in attendance spoke to me about their agreement with my comments, If Stagger thought I was taking a pot shot at the Chairman, he was the only one.

mickdo

I think that is what people want from their board and their chairman.

Well I'm the opposite. I used to cringe whenever Fitzy was speaking in public because he would always put his foot in his mouth. Osbourne wasn't all that better. I'd prefer Bentley keeps his head down and only stick it out when it matters, not just whenever we have a game against the Storm or Manly to give them ammo against us.

potshot?..I never said you took a potshot at him nor do i care if you did MITS, in fact if you look at 2 or 3 posts prior to this, i myself took a light hearted potshot at him, however i still believe you questioned his passion for the club.

in terms of communitcating with the club, can you give me an example of another NRL club who's directors communicate freely to fans? can you just imagine if our club hired an individual bus to take our directors to away games where they're dropped of outside their suite and picked up post game not giving fans any access to them? that's exactly what St George do.

anyone who doesnt find our directors accesible at any stage either never goes to our games (NRL, State cup and Junior reps) nor do they attend our leagues club, but hey, they can at least whinge here..

Well I'm the opposite. I used to cringe whenever Fitzy was speaking in public because he would always put his foot in his mouth. Osbourne wasn't all that better. I'd prefer Bentley keeps his head down and only stick it out when it matters, not just whenever we have a game against the Storm or Manly to give them ammo against us.

I am not talking about them getting in front of a press gaggle to speak with us. As I said on the night, a video on the Eels website speaking to members and fans.

mickdo

I am not talking about them getting in front of a press gaggle to speak with us. As I said on the night, a video on the Eels website speaking to members and fans.

Well that might satisfy a few people, but I'd just prefer they get on with the job and only speak when there are major issues that need discussion at the time. I'd rather hear from our players and coach than our CEO.

potshot?..I never said you took a potshot at him nor do i care if you did MITS, in fact if you look at 2 or 3 posts prior to this, i myself took a light hearted potshot at him, however i still believe you questioned his passion for the club.

Then you were the only one at the meeting that did. If I was going to have a go at him, he wouldn't be left in two minds if I had.

in terms of communitcating with the club, can you give me an example of another NRL club who's directors communicate freely to fans? can you just imagine if our club hired an individual bus to take our directors to away games where they're dropped of outside their suite and picked up post game not giving fans any access to them? that's exactly what St George do.

No, but why should we sit back and watch what other NRL clubs are doing and only do that. Why shouldn't we take the lead in communicating with our members, explaining the clubs position on things and getting the community onside.

Consider that the Radio reports before the game were focused on the coach and this article, there is a feeling amongst the fans that the coach isn't working. As is evidence there are those who believe that it will and do so because they have gotten the "low down" from a board member. So what is to stop them getting out in front of this, and recording a 3 minute video speaking to camera and addressing the problem?

anyone who doesnt find our directors accesible at any stage either never goes to our games (NRL, State cup and Junior reps) nor do they attend our leagues club, but hey, they can at least whinge here..

Even if we talk about all those fans, and lets be generous and say there are 12,000 of them this year. How many others follow the clubs without becoming a members. Reports 3 years ago put it at over 60,000 people, how do we communicate with them, how do we get them involved. How do we get them onside?

It is time to start thinking out of the box.

Well that might satisfy a few people, but I'd just prefer they get on with the job and only speak when there are major issues that need discussion at the time. I'd rather hear from our players and coach than our CEO.

Well that awesome mick.

mickdo

Consider that the Radio reports before the game were focused on the coach and this article, there is a feeling amongst the fans that the coach isn't working. As is evidence there are those who believe that it will and do so because they have gotten the "low down" from a board member. So what is to stop them getting out in front of this, and recording a 3 minute video speaking to camera and addressing the problem?

Seriously Mark, that won't change the opinions of anyone who already wants to get rid of the coach after two games into the season, especially those that are using radio or newspaper reports and not their own eyes to form their opinions :lol:

Yet the person making that call is in a bubble, they have no information and are forced to believe in the results which they can't see yet. It might not change their mind but it might give them something to think about.

Maroubra Eel

I don't reckon there would be too many people who want the coach sacked after two games. Alot of the talk has been in regards to us having another bad season.

It's all hypothetical anyway because we are going to have a good season.
Even if we do have another bad season I wouldn't like to see Kearney sacked. I believe the people who tell me we are building towards something.