Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tigers at kogarah

Many people harp on about Mary not having a plan B. Our forwards are our strength. Therefore the power game should be our plan A, but our outside backs lack strike power. That is our problem and leaves us with no plan B.

LOL, you have the coaching ability of Mary.

Straight Shooter

getsmarty

Sure. Some responsibility. But ppls blame is not in proportion.

If Paul green was here his head would've been told to be chopped after 6 rounds, ppl would make up reasons that he has lost the teams respect, he can't motivate the team, yada yada.

The team looked low energy because it's that time of the year. But the easiest scapegoat to cast all blame in the dragons world is the coach. Always has been.

We have a better Roster this year which means we should be traveling a lot better than the previous years.
That being said, the coach has been in charge since halfway through 2014
( http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-05-26/steve-price-sacked-by-dragons/5477426 ) and in that entire time his use of the bench, not dropping under-performing players has remained a constant along with his inability to change tactics Mid - game.. His contract runs until the end of next year, and like many "Normal " workplace positions that are performance driven he has yet to deliver anything of Note.(Yes we made the semis in 2015 . but that was on the back of the Manly betting saga ) .

We should be playing finals football this year and again the coach should be judged on the performances that our team produces. 5 years is a long time to be in a 1st grade coaching position and the fans are hungry to see us knocking at the door for another premiership. The team looked busted today and I have yet to see our tactics change Mid - game when we are being outplayed ( Today was individual players flair ). The worrying thing is we have seen the same scenarios during the current coach's entire tenure.

I would love to see Mary bring Success to our great club, but for the above stated reasons I am not brimming with confidence. I hope he proves me wrong.

P.S Rabbitohs/Penrith/Storm/Roosters will be the teams to beat this year. I fear we are just making up the numbers.

ouryears

We have a better Roster this year which means we should be traveling a lot than the previous years.
That being said, the coach has been in charge since halfway through 2014
( http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-05-26/steve-price-sacked-by-dragons/5477426 ) and in that entire time his use of the bench, not dropping under-performing players has remained a constant along with his inability to change tactics Mid - game.. His contract runs until the end of next year, and like many "Normal " workplace positions that are performance driven he has yet deliver anything of Note.(Yes we made the semis in 2015 . but that was on the back of the Manly betting saga ) .

We should be playing finals football this year and again the coach should be judged on the performances that our team produces. 5 years is a long time to be in a 1st grade coaching position and the fans are hungry to see us knocking at the door for another premiership. The team looked busted today and I have yet to see our tactics change Mid - game when we are being outplayed ( Today was individual players flair ). The worrying thing is we have seen the same scenarios during the current coach's entire tenure.

I would love to see Mary bring Success to our great club, but for the above stated reasons I am not brimming with confidence. I hope he proves me wrong.

P.S Rabbitohs/Penrith/Storm/Roosters will be the teams to beat this year. I fear we are just making up the numbers.
Any thought that this train wreck will be turned around is fantasy unfortunately.

People can bag my opinion all they want but at least I am frank about the truth.

Our season was done when Penrith put the cleaners through us weeks back and it's going to get worse.

Mary is an under 10s coach, it's going to be painful to watch during August

We are done.

Saint_JimmyG

Many people harp on about Mary not having a plan B. Our forwards are our strength. Therefore the power game should be our plan A, but our outside backs lack strike power. That is our problem and leaves us with no plan B. We need wingers and centres who can score from more than 20m out. I am struggling to recall any of our wingers or centres scoring a try from more than 20m out this year and even in earlier years.

I would be happy for us to sign B Morris for one wing spot next year. Then I would like us to sign Rapana the next year as he is off contract at the end of 2019. Dylan Walker is also off contract at the end of 2019, he would be a decent center signing.

Roberts has already declared no interest in joining SGI previously, what makes you hope he’s changed his mind?

Money won’t be enough,

Saint_JimmyG

Any thought that this train wreck will be turned around is fantasy unfortunately.

People can bag my opinion all they want but at least I am frank about the truth.

Our season was done when Penrith put the cleaners through us weeks back and it's going to get worse.

Mary is an under 10s coach, it's going to be painful to watch during August

We are done.

I forewarned exactly the same things following the Melbourne/Kogarah game, and was ridiculed for it.

ouryears

I forewarned exactly the same things following the Melbourne/Kogarah game, and was ridiculed for it.
I know mate, it's as if we aren't real supporters if we write the truth.

Many on here bought Premiers 2018 T-shirts after the Anzac Day match vs Roosters and live in a different world.

Saint_JimmyG

I know mate, it's as if we aren't real supporters if we write the truth.

Many on here bought Premiers 2018 T-shirts after the Anzac Day match vs Roosters and live in a different world.

Many laughed at me when I suggested that Melbourne are the team to beat,

The way things are looking, it will be the Storm versus Souths in the grand final, but I still reckon the Chooks can make a late charge. Their squad is frighteningly good, and hasn’t reached its potential..yet!

Saints have almost the same potential but will continue to flounder until McGregor is removed. The problems relating to fullback, wing (both), and hooker remain unresolved,

Unfortunately, I hate it when I’m (sometimes) right.

BankstownDragon

Good morning to all the Dragons family.
Hate to be negative but I have to say it's an ugly feeling to wake up realizing that, AGAIN, we are pretenders under this incompetent and stubborn fool.
He has learnt nothing and changed little, we just have better players in key positions.
I'm at a loss to find anything that has changed this year from the previous 4, with reference to our attack patterns and defence structures.
Cheers.

BennyV

Today’s takeaways
  • If we keep picking this 17 we will not finish top 6.
  • No good of our forwards busting the line as no one is smart enough to be there all the time to back it up.
  • Hunt is certainly an upgrade but is over rated as a match winning half and has plenty of defense deficiencies.
  • Widdop has gone back to being a player who gets lost at critical moments.
  • Graham only brings captaincy to the side and does precious little to ignite our attack.
  • Lafai is the invisible man.
  • Nightingale now thinks he is a middle 3rd player and if he wasn’t already missing on his wing it has gotten worse.
  • Little or no value in bringing ball players on when you are well behind on the scoreboard and the clock as any mistake will be punished and every one else is to f**king tired to back up what you are doing.
  • This year we have survived longer at the top purely on individual brilliance and when that doesn’t present itself on game day then you get what we saw today.
If you're referring to Leilua then I must disagree. In fact, one of the few positives taken from yesterday was the fact that the coach finally figured out his best use - coming on late in the half to provide some big runs, ballskills and impact.

He may have had value a few minutes earlier OR at the back end of the first half instead, but playing him against tiring opposition is the only way to avoid his own fatigue and possible laziness factoring against us.

giboz71

Many laughed at me when I suggested that Melbourne are the team to beat,

The way things are looking, it will be the Storm versus Souths in the grand final, but I still reckon the Chooks can make a late charge. Their squad is frighteningly good, and hasn’t reached its potential..yet!

Saints have almost the same potential but will continue to flounder until McGregor is removed. The problems relating to fullback, wing (both), and hooker remain unresolved,

Unfortunately, I hate it when I’m (sometimes) right.

Are you maybe jumping the gun a bit?

We’re still 3rd after a pretty gruelling rep campaign for 5 key players. There are still 7 rounds to go, plenty of time to regroup.

You may prove to be right about McGregor but let’s see where we are after 7 more weeks.

Other than Souths, it’s not like any other team is flying right now.

dragonssamy61

Christ I hope not Samy.
For all those who have been bagging him you’re about to find out how much of a loss he’ll be. It also means Nighty will remain a permanent selection.

Exactly
He is averaging 125 meters per game.
Not to mention his try scoring ability.
If he is out long or even short term we will miss him.
Expecially returning the ball back.
Who's going to do the hard yard dufty.
He not built for it.
Nighty will try hard but we all know what you get.
Some people on here how just bag player without any reason.
Just shows how little they know about football.
End of rant.

SEAT 1A

Are you maybe jumping the gun a bit?

We’re still 3rd after a pretty gruelling rep campaign for 5 key players. There are still 7 rounds to go, plenty of time to regroup.

You may prove to be right about McGregor but let’s see where we are after 7 more weeks.

Other than Souths, it’s not like any other team is flying right now.

I'd take 3rd after SOO and there were some very tired legs out there.

In the first 20 minutes there was 2 dropped balls and a "Hail Mary" from Widdop which could have gone anywhere however, looked a bit desperate.

Hunt, Luc, Vaughan and McInnes can stand tall and Graham did what Grahams does however, Aitken, Mann and Leeson had games to forget.

The team created chances to win the game but the Tigers defence was to good. Hope they get a good rest and a top 4 finish should be on the cards.

hazzbeen

I'd take 3rd after SOO and there were some very tired legs out there.

In the first 20 minutes there was 2 dropped balls and a "Hail Mary" from Widdop which could have gone anywhere however, looked a bit desperate.

Hunt, Luc, Vaughan and McInnes can stand tall and Graham did what Grahams does however, Aitken, Mann and Leeson had games to forget.

The team created chances to win the game but the Tigers defence was to good. Hope they get a good rest and a top 4 finish should be on the cards.
Mate I hear what you are saying , but bottom line you don't lose that game yesterday , a team that had won only 2 games out of 10 . Us playing at home with incentive to stay in top 2 or 3 . Good teams find a way to win ....

SEAT 1A

Mate I hear what you are saying , but bottom line you don't lose that game yesterday , a team that had won only 2 games out of 10 . Us playing at home with incentive to stay in top 2 or 3 . Good teams find a way to win ....

Agree Hazz, should have won at home. We were chasing our tails all game.

Interesting it took 10 minutes for the Tig's to score down Nighty wing, came back hard with a bell ringer on baby Nag's also, that drop out that took them to 18 points wasn't that flash.