Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

West Coast Pirates Bid News

Pippen94

That’s why you set your business case at worse case scenario, not best. Business 101. Sadly some chook raffle cowboys running nrl clubs seem to struggle with this basic concept.
not to mention the nrl grant wasn’t $5mill above salary cap in 2015!

..that's why you get somebody with deep pockets to run club. Comeback when u find somebody..

We have two. One runs and partly a multi million company and has rich business mates in his consortium, and the other has a state budget of multi billions of $’s a year lol.

A lot will depend on how well run and resourced the club is. Perth people get behind their clubs if they are well run. Nrl has huge potential here if the club is run right and is competitive. Our avg would be helped by stadium capacity increase to 25k. Theres3 or 4 clubs who we could sell out against, a bigger stadium would bring the avg up for those big games,

Tbf Gold Coast avg’d over 20k for first years and only dropped off due to club being poorly run.

Perth is very much like Brisbane. Both cities are a similar size and are parochial about their sports clubs. Brisbane will watch the Lions, Reds, Roar, Heat and Bullets when they're winning. Support dries up when those clubs drop down the ladder. The Broncos will always be number one in Brisbane, win lose or draw, because it's a dyed in the wool rugby league city. The Dolphins won't be far away from the Broncos.

Perth's population will always support the Eagles and Dockers because it's a dyed in the wool fumbleball city. Clubs like the Glory and and Force were well supported when they were going well, but lost a lot of it when they dropped down the ladder. Heat have been strong on and off the court for over 30 years. Scorchers play out of the small WACA. It's hard to know where they stand against teams that play at much larger stadia.

They’re doing a lot, or maybe nothing, no one knows, it’s all very behind doors at the moment.
Best chance of getting wa govt to fork out $100mill though is for the nrl to demand it as a condition of a license like afl did in tassie.

I wish V'landys would use the media to pressure the WA Gov into guaranteeing an upgrade of Perth Oval.

Pippen94

We have two. One runs and partly a multi million company and has rich business mates in his consortium, and the other has a state budget of multi billions of $’s a year lol.

Lol, state government not going yo bankroll team. May throw a million here or there to start at best. Short sightedness

Pippen94

Perth is very much like Brisbane. Both cities are a similar size and are parochial about their sports clubs. Brisbane will watch the Lions, Reds, Roar, Heat and Bullets when they're winning. Support dries up when those clubs drop down the ladder. The Broncos will always be number one in Brisbane, win lose or draw, because it's a dyed in the wool rugby league city. The Dolphins won't be far away from the Broncos.

Perth's population will always support the Eagles and Dockers because it's a dyed in the wool fumbleball city. Clubs like the Glory and and Force were well supported when they were going well, but lost a lot of it when they dropped down the ladder. Heat have been strong on and off the court for over 30 years. Scorchers play out of the small WACA. It's hard to know where they stand against teams that play at much larger stadia.

Only argument for Perth is it's population. Solution; wait.
20 years case will be stronger

Wa gov want origin & double header. Nrl team is money pit in afl city..

Origin is wanted by the governments from the fumbleball states because it is guaranteed to draw tourists from Queensland and NSW. They don't give a shit about growing the game. It's just a quick cash grab by fumbleball states. It's a terrible way to treat rugby league fans from Queensland and NSW.

The South Australian Gov has shown zero interest in bidding for an NRL team because they know it won't draw many tourists.

Bukowski

No, scorchers play out of Optus, Averaged 31k last season over 9 games. the highest in the competition.
Did you mean the wildcats when you mentioned the heat? The wildcats are averaging 11k this season which is the highest in the NBL.
Other sports thrive here not just the AFL.

Nuke

He definitely meant Wildcats. I think they missed the finals for the first time in about 30-something years last year or this year. Definitely consistently strong.

Perth Heat is baseball, and very few people in the whole of Australia care about the ABL (if it's still called that...).

No, scorchers play out of Optus, Averaged 31k last season over 9 games. the highest in the competition.
Did you mean the wildcats when you mentioned the heat? The wildcats are averaging 11k this season which is the highest in the NBL.
Other sports thrive here not just the AFL.

Yes, I meant the Perth Wildcats.

The Wildcats made the play-offs for 30 seasons in a row until a couple of years ago.

Would their fanbase be so strong if the club struggled like the Bullets?

We'll never know.

The Perth Glory were struggling a few years ago. Force are struggling right now.

It's been a few years since I last watched the BBL.

He definitely meant Wildcats. I think they missed the finals for the first time in about 30-something years last year or this year. Definitely consistently strong.

Perth Heat is baseball, and very few people in the whole of Australia care about the ABL (if it's still called that...).

No one cares about the Brisbane Bandits in Brisbane. The club has won tonnes of titles, but I didn't know it until I checked out their site. Baseball is dead in this country.

The raging success of Saturday night's double header in Perth has prompted two former Western Reds stars to demand a permanent NRL team in the city.

Over 45,000 fans crammed into Optus Stadium on a perfect night to see the Knights v Dolphinsand Sharks v Rabbitohs games.

The huge crowd brought back memories of the days when Perth had its own team in the mid 1990s, before it became a casualty of the Super League war after three seasons.

Now former big names Mark Geyer and Matt Fuller - two Reds favourites back in the club's brief time in the big league - are insisting Perth be awarded the NRL's 18th franchise.
I’m
"Stop the fight - the 18th team has to be in Perth," Geyer said.

"There's a feverish appetite for league out west, so let's get fair dinkum and make the National Rugby League just that … National."

Fuller backed up Geyer's claims.

"What an incredible show of support for the 18th NRL team, with over 45,000 enthusiastic Rugby League supporters packing Optus Stadium creating an unbelievable atmosphere here in Perth last night," he said.

"The NRL doubled header providing the ultimate experience for league lovers. High energy, great skill and plenty of big hits. It's time for the NRL to make this great game a truly national game."