Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nyc

aqua_duck

I hope Mata'utia lines up on Junior Vaivai, that match up could be worth the price of admission alone

Serc

For those of you with Fox...don't forget the NYC boys will be on from 3-5pm on Sat arvo!

roopy

NYC: Newcastle Knights Vs North Queensland Cowboys
3.15pm Saturday 17 April 2010
EnergyAustralia Stadium
1. Neenan Simpson
2. Aaron Fairweather
3. Jarrod Tua
4. Harmony Hunt
5. Justin Smith
6. Tyrone Roberts
7. Adrian Davis
8. Dane Cordner
9. Chad Redman
10. Cruise Wilson
11. Carl Means
12. Matt Herman
13. Ethan Cook (c)
Interchange
14. Rodney Mason
15. Brendon Simpson
16. Alai Taufa’ao
17. Zane Tetevano
Coach: Garth Brennan

Mata'utia and Ailoami out and Tetevano to the bench.
There is a message there for sure.
I'm really glad Cordner and Means are starting. They are the two guys who have been putting in their best efforts - and Tua is a player with a future I think.
I'm also overjoyed that Justin Smith is getting a run. He is a young bloke who could be anything. He is a footy natural.

Honestly, I would have kept Ailoami and maybe Mata'utia on the bench, but it's like the coach has been reading my posts with the guys he has promoted.

I suppose now the guys i have been raving about (Cordner, Means, Tua, Hunt, Smith) will all have shockers and we will have a big loss against the top of the table unbeaten Cowboys - or maybe they'll have a go - unlike a few others (looking at you Tetevano)

roopy

I am wondering if they are injured or have been dropped?
There's even a chance Stone is being cute and we could see one or both in firstgrade.
Smith kept young debutants out of the press by dropping them in at the last minute.

Misanthrope

Would be good to see them get their chance. Lord knows the likes of Lulia, Vuna, and Tolar/Ciraldo have had theirs.

Serc

Yeah who knows whats going on...I certainly noticed their omission from the team list when I saw it on the Knights website this arvo!

roopy

Josh missed a lot of the pre season, but i thought he was great in the game v Manly - really powerful - and Pete is physically as ready as he will ever be, just a bit down on form.

Adsy

If Pete and Josh don't turn up in firsts which I highly doubt they will. They better get a run in NSW cup. What is giving them a week off going to achieve?

Jobdog

There's even a chance Stone is being cute and we could see one or both in firstgrade.
Smith kept young debutants out of the press by dropping them in at the last minute.
:lol: Cmon Roopy. You and I both know that is definitely not going to happen.

roopy

We lost against the top of the table Cowboys, but i liked what i saw mostly.
We were the better side in most aspects, but their little guys cut us up in the second half due to better fitness I think.
Matt Herman played centre and went well.
Tetevano started and played his best game of the season.
Justin Smith had a great game on the wing. Scored a try, and some great touches led to another. He makes some great decisions.
I'm over Fairweather (does that make me a fairweather Fairweather fan) - he never runs hard. Looks like Tarzan, plays like jane.
Roberts was fantastic. His best game yet IMO.
Sullivan scored a good try and did good work at both Hooker and half.
Means is getting better every week.
Redman didn't get a lot of gametime, but he did a great cover tackle on a winger, showing he still has the speed to be a back.

Serc

Pretty good summary there mate...I will add that when they interviewed Brennan he mentioned they had the flu run through the team this week, so kinda not surprising that the little men in the Cowboys got going in the 2nd half.

roopy

Just looked at the stats and Redman topped the tackle count easily and made that great cover tackle.
I hardly noticed him, but he was obviously doing the hard work in cover defence.
Youngest and just about smallest in the team, but he does a hell of a lot of the hard work.