Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks coach to Dragons

RedVDragon

If Flano becomes our new coach he can bring his son Kyle and his best mate Blakey Brailey.

Both these kids are guns. Kyle plays in the halves and Blakey is a Hooker. Put Jai Field, Dufty, Lomax, Laurie, Luciano along with some of our experienced players and The premiership is waiting for us to engarave the dragons name on it.

Ask McGregor, he’ll tell he was (and is) the best candidate available at SGI.
McGregor's CV tells it all.
From Bush Footy where he won a couple of comps.
ISP for 2 unsuccessful years.
When Bennet arrived he got the flick.
After Bennet left reappeared like a genie from a bottle on the coaching staff - strength and conditioning?
Then appointed caretaker coach when Price was dumped.
Officially appointed FG coach and then mystifyingly extended in premature fashion with no real justification.
2 semi appearances in 5 seasons.
No top 4 finishes (which statistically means, no chance to win the comp) even though led the comp 2017 and 2018 for some considerable time..
Please tell me where did he learn his coaching skills? What were his qualifications?
Who were his mentors?
He wasn't even an assistant coach to any of the top line coaches.
Straight into FG at a time when there were much better qualified alternatives.
Poor decision by the Board who have since continued to persevere with the view to proving the doubters wrong.
I agree with the '71SS...NO OTHER CLUB WOULD HAVE MANUFACTURED A SCENARIO LIKE THIS AND TOLERATED THIS LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT.
McGuire, Hasler and Griffin examples.

Saint_JimmyG

After Bennet left reappeared like a genie from a bottle on the coaching staff - strength and conditioning?
Officially appointed FG coach and then mystifyingly extended in premature fashion with no real justification.
No top 4 finishes (which statistically means, no chance to win the comp) even though led the comp 2017 and 2018 for some considerable time..
Please tell me where did he learn his coaching skills? What were his qualifications?
Who were his mentors?
Poor decision by the Board who have since continued to persevere with the view to proving the doubters wrong.
I agree with the '71SS...NO OTHER CLUB WOULD HAVE MANUFACTURED A SCENARIO LIKE THIS AND TOLERATED THIS LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT.

Hey, don’t kill the messager!

McGregor is on record stating that he originally applied for the head coaching role because (he thought) he was the best available candidate.

Who were his mentors?
Just goes to show that the Board, and senior management staff were/are more concerned with their own comfort and amitions than the best interest of SGI.

Now a new CEO has been selected, a new business entity has purchased Illawarra's shares (St George Leagues Club has a new partner in WIN), significant change for sure however, all off-field. Now it's time to address team performance and the reasons why we have not figured in a GF for the past eight years. I suggest SGI need to:

1. Change the coaching staff.
  2. Change the structure so that recruitment / pathways report to the head coach.
  3. Change the structure so that the head coach reports to the CEO.
  4. Change the structure so that Mark Coyne and his committee become the CEO's advisory committee.
  5. Make it clear that all factional deals are now dead and no such deals will be tolerated in the future.

Como Connection

Just goes to show that the Board, and senior management staff were/are more concerned with their own comfort and amitions than the best interest of SGI.

Now a new CEO has been selected, a new business entity has purchased Illawarra's shares (St George Leagues Club has a new partner in WIN), significant change for sure however, all off-field. Now it's time to address team performance and the reasons why we have not figured in a GF for the past eight years. I suggest SGI need to:

1. Change the coaching staff.
  2. Change the structure so that recruitment / pathways report to the head coach.
  3. Change the structure so that the head coach reports to the CEO.
  4. Change the structure so that Mark Coyne and his committee become the CEO's advisory committee.
  5. Make it clear that all factional deals are now dead and no such deals will be tolerated in the future.
1st November the new arrangements commence as I understand it.
CC

Dragonslayer

1st November the new arrangements commence as I understand it.
CC

The new board take over on Oct 1. The new CEO on Nov 1st.

I wouldn't expect any changes until after the New Year........ if any.

I actually doubt we will see many changes in 2019 bar any on-field disasters like losing the first 10 games.

2020 may see change and I stress may.

ouryears

No it had to do with mary giving the team a spray ... But you believe whatever you want
Ha ha, so you mean our coach sprayed the team and got them to perform, nothing to do with strategy, game day plans, just plain old simple yelling and screaming.

Says it all really.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Who were his mentors?

Very well put, DP.

Very hard to argue with what is laid out in front of us although l'm sure the Bleeding Heart Society will cry we are not true Dragons fans by stating the obvious.

Ha ha, so you mean our coach sprayed the team and got them to perform, nothing to do with strategy, game day plans, just plain old simple yelling and screaming.

Says it all really.
Yes, says it all.

Just imagine the scenario where we really do have a championship winning squad that under-achieved in 2018. From that point try to make an argument that our coaching staff deserve to stay on another year.

Dufty - a full season in first grade:
Still a worry defensively.
Still having problems with the high ball.
Still no visible combination with playmakers.
He has speed to burn and a good footy brain so who is to blame?

Macdonald - Has shown his speed, strength and ability to score tries:
Still a hot and cold player who could do a lot more.
Who is to blame?

Aitken - A favourite of Mary's who seemingly can do nothing wrong:
Still has poor defensive reads.
Still raely passes the ball.
Still can't set up his winger to score.
Still can't take a high ball.
Still the weak link in our right side defence.
Who is to blame?

Lafai - Has demonstrated the skills over the years but not this season.
Still fades in and out during a game.
Still cramps his winger towards the side line.
Still delivers the un-takeable pass.
Who is to blame?

Nightingale - Champion in his day
Very slow this season.
Let heaps of tries in.
But still selected for all but a few games at seasons end.
Who is to blame?

I won't go on and cover the whole team however, for most players except for our champion forwards, Sims, Frizell, De Belin, Vaughan, Ah Mau, Graham and McInnes, the lack of a decent coach is there for all to see. with a Bennett, Hasler, Maguire or even JD I feel suer we would have avoided the mid season slump and arrived at the pointy end of the season in much better shape.

Como Connection

Yes, says it all.

Just imagine the scenario where we really do have a championship winning squad that under-achieved in 2018. From that point try to make an argument that our coaching staff deserve to stay on another year.

Who is to blame?

Very slow this season.
Let heaps of tries in.
Who is to blame?

I won't go on and cover the whole team however, for most players except for our champion forwards, Sims, Frizell, De Belin, Vaughan, Ah Mau, Graham and McInnes, the lack of a decent coach is there for all to see. with a Bennett, Hasler, Maguire or even JD I feel suer we would have avoided the mid season slump and arrived at the pointy end of the season in much better shape.
Lets hope there is some chance Mary will be terminated.
CC

Slippery Morris

Lets see, Flanno has won a comp but been caught cheating. Ummm, no thanks. I don't want the club I love dragged through the mud like he has done for Sharks. Those fans had plenty of bad headlines to read before he won the comp and he was not really proven innocent.

If Saints are replacing Maguire is the man but they better hurry up because he will be snapped up soon. Unfortunately I can't see that happening which will be a shame. Unlike Bennet he left Souths in good shape. His only downfall was that his main players were busted up (Reynolds, Inglis, Luke etc) after he won a comp and could not continue on with his great start to the NRL career. He will kill it with a new club. I hope it is our club he kills it with.

Smurf

Lets see, Flanno has won a comp but been caught cheating. Ummm, no thanks. I don't want the club I love dragged through the mud like he has done for Sharks. Those fans had plenty of bad headlines to read before he won the comp and he was not really proven innocent.

If Saints are replacing Maguire is the man but they better hurry up because he will be snapped up soon. Unfortunately I can't see that happening which will be a shame. Unlike Bennet he left Souths in good shape. His only downfall was that his main players were busted up (Reynolds, Inglis, Luke etc) after he won a comp and could not continue on with his great start to the NRL career. He will kill it with a new club. I hope it is our club he kills it with.

Well said

ouryears

Yes, says it all.

Who is to blame?

Very slow this season.
Let heaps of tries in.
Who is to blame?

Spot on possm
Spot on

hewi

According to the SMH going to lose his accreditation and the shonkies will be looking for a new coach.