Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Matty Johns Show: Thursdays @ 7.30pm on 7

I'm guessing this show is for NSW/QLD and the Peter Helliar show 'The bounce' is the same for the AFL states.

Did the NRL show have a Punk'd style skit like the AFL show last night? That was about the only funny bit.

The bounce? More appropriate to calle it "The Ponce". BTW, we have the Matthew Johns Show. The NRL show is on Friday Night. Rates high where there are humans (ie East Coast)

The show was largely crap. Especially John's efforts - he barely thought past the brain cell that Reg Regan show.

Webcke was good. Stevens was good. The skit where Hindy and Guru Jr rampaged a fans house was good. The cabbie had potential to be good. The band was great - starting outy with Led Zep is guaranteed to bring the intellectual fans in and keep the neanderthal doof doof rappers out. But fair dinkum if they wanted a variety show there are a million entertainers better than Johns.

I thought the Campo piece sucked. Wow. We have an annoying piece about an annoying ex TV show host who is absolutely hated by the industry he once "represented". Johns doing Don Burke is like Barnaby Joyce's turd interviewing Hitler's turd - it simply cannot get any worse.

The Willie Mason interview was horrid. Lets get a footy star on each week and let him get grilled by a sensationalist journo hack, who happens to be quivering in fear when he asks his crap questions. "But surely there is something else you have done. You don't speak to your last 2 coaches!" Inference - Willie you must be worse than Ted Bundy, Josef Mengele AND Greg Hartley rolled into one.

Kent contributed nothing to the show apart from prove that Big Willie has tolerance.

For me, the show proved 3 things:

• Shane Webcke continues to prove the evolutionary process wrong by being an intelligent Queenslander who can string 2 words together - except when someone mentions another Queenslander -then he reverts to being a moron dribbler.
  • Matthew Johns will only ever succeed as being someone's back up - which he can excel at. The man he needs I think is Andrew Voss.
  • TV executives know f*ck all about entertainment.
I found the following program on ABC about genetic links between chinese people and Homo erectus far more rivetting.

Sugar

Ooooh, yes... I agree. The Sunday Roast is the only remaining quality league show now that NRL on FOX is farked. Has to have Gould though.

The Barefoot Rugby League show on NITV is the best league show on TV all footy talk no BS also stories on junior teams from QLD and NSW
Ch 180 on fox and ch 40 digital

petetheileet

thought Alby was pretty funny at the end

Kirk's backyard was sh*t...

Skits with footy players are rarely funny

but Alby at Panthers was pretty funny

Pierced Soul

i enjoyed it

everything was too fast paced though, seems to me like they had about 100 ideas and in reality could only fit in 10 decent sized segments but they tried to put all 100 in anyway. wouldnt surprise me if all the segments were thrown in to get a gauge for what was liekd and in the next few weeks we'll see the number of segments cut but run longer.

the show has a lot of potential and the controversy corner will work if a) it's longer and b) doesnt involve a hack having a go at a footy player the whole time.

i'd be interested to see some players talk about issues such as refs, grapples, diving etc

The Dodger

i thought paul kent was good.

no one really does know what happened between willie and the roosters.

and why does he keep having fall outs with coaches?

willie replying that you don't have to get along with your coach was pretty dumb.
shows what kind of a tool willie is.

Godz Illa

Webcke was the lowlight, imo, he was comically bad. But, with scope for improvement. His amateurishly rushed, nervous delivery was exaggerated by the stuffy formal suit and too-tight necktie he was wearing, particularly when juxtaposed to the relaxed, informal and easy-going Johns in the open neck shirt and (slightly gay) sweater. A simple wardrobe change for Webcke might calm him down a bit. That or a valium. Plus he was easily distracted by bogan interjections from the audience - a rookie mistake, and his one-liners were too rehearsed

bobmar28

The bounce? More appropriate to calle it "The Ponce". BTW, we have the Matthew Johns Show. The NRL show is on Friday Night. Rates high where there are humans (ie East Coast)

The show was largely crap. Especially John's efforts - he barely thought past the brain cell that Reg Regan show.

Webcke was good. Stevens was good. The skit where Hindy and Guru Jr rampaged a fans house was good. The cabbie had potential to be good. The band was great - starting outy with Led Zep is guaranteed to bring the intellectual fans in and keep the neanderthal doof doof rappers out. But fair dinkum if they wanted a variety show there are a million entertainers better than Johns.

I thought the Campo piece sucked. Wow. We have an annoying piece about an annoying ex TV show host who is absolutely hated by the industry he once "represented". Johns doing Don Burke is like Barnaby Joyce's turd interviewing Hitler's turd - it simply cannot get any worse.

The Willie Mason interview was horrid. Lets get a footy star on each week and let him get grilled by a sensationalist journo hack, who happens to be quivering in fear when he asks his crap questions. "But surely there is something else you have done. You don't speak to your last 2 coaches!" Inference - Willie you must be worse than Ted Bundy, Josef Mengele AND Greg Hartley rolled into one.

Kent contributed nothing to the show apart from prove that Big Willie has tolerance.

For me, the show proved 3 things:

• Shane Webcke continues to prove the evolutionary process wrong by being an intelligent Queenslander who can string 2 words together - except when someone mentions another Queenslander -then he reverts to being a moron dribbler.
  • Matthew Johns will only ever succeed as being someone's back up - which he can excel at. The man he needs I think is Andrew Voss.
  • TV executives know f*ck all about entertainment.
I found the following program on ABC about genetic links between chinese people and Homo erectus far more rivetting.

I agree. Get Vossy on the show.

Rated ok http://blogs.sunherald.com.au/whoweare/archives/2010/03/the_who_we_are_72.html

What Australia watched, Thursday
Description Total Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth
1 SEVEN NEWS Seven 1,305,000 335,000 402,000 228,000 144,000 195,000
2 TODAY TONIGHT Seven 1,221,000 316,000 362,000 217,000 132,000 194,000
3 A CURRENT AFFAIR Nine 1,176,000 316,000 397,000 263,000 95,000 105,000
4 THE MENTALIST -RPT Nine 1,054,000 282,000 362,000 202,000 105,000 102,000
5 TWO AND A HALF MEN -RPT Nine 1,049,000 266,000 371,000 196,000 88,000 128,000
6 NINE NEWS Nine 1,038,000 285,000 337,000 234,000 91,000 91,000
7 ABC NEWS ABC1 970,000 288,000 327,000 150,000 83,000 122,000
8 HOME AND AWAY Seven 937,000 270,000 230,000 168,000 131,000 138,000
9 GETAWAY Nine 924,000 279,000 280,000 196,000 74,000 96,000
10 COUGAR TOWN Seven 816,000 266,000 204,000 165,000 86,000 95,000
15 SEVEN'S FOOTY SHOW Seven 647,000 396,000 42,000 199,000 2,000 8,000
16 SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE AUSTRALIA - RESULTS Ten 636,000 216,000 143,000 160,000 40,000 77,000
26 I, PSYCHOPATH ABC1 448,000 191,000 102,000 65,000 41,000 49,000
34 FAMILY GUY Seven 339,000 109,000 130,000 33,000 28,000 39,000
36 TOP GEAR GO! 308,000 90,000 84,000 60,000 36,000 38,000
66 STARGATE ATLANTIS 7TWO 148,000 59,000 18,000 23,000 26,000 23,000
80 HEROES 7TWO 117,000 44,000 10,000 30,000 17,000 16,000
93 FIFTH GEAR 7TWO 103,000 27,000 17,000 30,000 14,000 15,000

Thomas

I knew when the show opened with an Ahn Do skit that it was going to be painfull to watch. Deadset that guy is just plain horrible, i dont think ive ever seen anything even remotely funny involving that clown.

Here's my impression of an Ahn Do routine:

"Hi. I'm Asian. Isn't that funny? I eat dim sims! lol".

sharko

I thought Mason came off quite well..he was asked the same question a few times and he gave straight answers.."the players are not children and have to love their coach and speak to them twice a day.."
The Corner segment should make up a large part of the show..John attempts at comedy are very lame..he is a former average first grade footballer who is no comic genius and yet Singo and his mob are trying to turn him into one.
Given all the hype some of the show was good but the rest was quite forgettable..watch for it to be put on later in the evening.

griffo346

i didnt mind it

however i think like everyone else that it needs a 3rd host interesting to think whom it could be? maybe a guest host each week? or a permanent host?

Suggestions for permanent host.

Ray Hadley
Matt White
Bill Harrigan

Guest Appearances
any footy players

Hadley and Harrigan would be alright, but Matt White?

Doesnt he do Today Tonight?

Maybe they should bring in Wendell Sailor. :sarcasm:

i didnt mind it

however i think like everyone else that it needs a 3rd host interesting to think whom it could be? maybe a guest host each week? or a permanent host?

Suggestions for permanent host.

Ray Hadley
Matt White
Bill Harrigan

Guest Appearances
any footy players

As a panel member Hadley wouldn't be too bad. I wouldn't object to him being on the show. At least he'd probably cut out his usual radio garbage and would talk footy.

I could never imagine him being a main host though. He's not overly confident in front of the camera.

Tom Ace

I thought Mason came off quite well..he was asked the same question a few times and he gave straight answers.."the players are not children and have to love their coach and speak to them twice a day.."
The Corner segment should make up a large part of the show..John attempts at comedy are very lame..he is a former average first grade footballer who is no comic genius and yet Singo and his mob are trying to turn him into one.
Given all the hype some of the show was good but the rest was quite forgettable..watch for it to be put on later in the evening.

One of those average players that played for Australia?