Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pride of the League & Arizona

BunniesMan

So there is no evidence the club knew about this information but we're being punished for not telling them anyway? What rubbish.

Yeah the media - particularly Massoud - were very aggressive/sensationalist in their questioning. Not surprising. This whole thing:

4756594270_38cce33932_m.jpg

a mini melbourne storm style salary cap scandal?

did the funds for burgess paying off the bouncer count towards his annual salary and therefore actually push them over the cap?

if that's the case, please see my previous post for my recommended appropriate punishment..

insert.pause

So there is no evidence the club knew about this information but we're being punished for not telling them anyway? What rubbish.

You're being punished because you didn't bother to find out why the charges were dropped and instead just took the players word for it, which you then passed on to the IU, who obviously had higher expectations of the quality of the clubs investigation.

Cockadoodledoo

The integrity commission's job is to ensure the outcome that the big bosses want. The funniest thing is that the person assigned to question Richo will be reporting to Richo in his new role. It is just too funny, a complete sham.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...r-shane-richardson-probe-20150214-13eosp.html
NRL blasted for failing to appoint independent investigator for Shane Richardson probe

Date February 14, 2015

Adrian Proszenko

Chief Rugby League Reporter

The NRL integrity unit is again under fire for inconsistency following its decision to appoint an independent investigator in its probe of Todd Greenberg – but failing to do so in the case of Shane Richardson.
Former ARL judiciary judiciary chairman Alan Sullivan QC said NRL integrity unit boss Nick Weekes was placed in an invidious position by grilling future superior Richardson, predicting the public would suspect a "cover-up".
The NRL engaged independent Sydney barrister Tony Bannon SC to conduct a review of the Bulldogs' actions in relation to the standing down of Ben Barba to ensure there were no conflicts of interest surrounding the role of Greenberg, who had only just made the transition from Belmore to head office.
Advertisement
"It is important that everyone can have faith in the independence of the process and Tony Bannon is perfectly qualified to deliver that outcome," the NRL's then chief operating officer, Jim Doyle, said at the time.
Bannon's report concluded Greenberg had acted "appropriately and sensitively" and that the Bulldogs could not establish any evidence of domestic violence towards Barba's partner, Ainslie Currie.
Richardson, recently trumpeted as the NRL's head of game strategy and development, will be one of the parties grilled after the integrity unit reopened its investigation into the handling of incidents involving South Sydney players Luke Burgess and John Sutton during a high-altitude camp in Arizona.
Richardson was the CEO of the Rabbitohs at the time of the dramas and will begin his newly created role at Rugby League Central next month. However, the NRL has chosen not to appoint Bannon or any other independent party to review the case, leaving Weekes to make a determination on a future workmate who will be sitting on the same floor in just a few weeks.
"I would have thought, prima facie, they should have someone independent look at it given Shane's position in the NRL and his previous involvement with South Sydney. That would be the right appearance," Sullivan said.
"I have the utmost respect for both of them, but I think from a transparency point of view it could be perceived as a problem. They have to work together yet the conduct of one has to be investigated by the other.
"There's a tendency that, if Nick Weekes was to conclude that Shane Richardson acted appropriately, the public would rightly or wrongly believe there was a cover-up.
"That is a matter which is of concern and I empathise with the situation they are both in. I think they should not be put in that situation if it could be avoided."
The NRL is already under siege after bungling its initial investigation, which was only reopened after Fairfax Media revealed charges against Manly recruit Burgess were only dropped after the assault victim was given "satisfaction".
The debacle comes just a week after the NRL sacked one of its longest-serving senior executives, head of commercial Paul Kind, for breaching the governing body's code of conduct and "direct conflicts of interest".
The expectation among club powerbrokers is that Richardson will be cleared of any wrongdoing, enabling him to commence his new job, which is reportedly worth at least $500,000 per annum.
Sullivan, who was highly critical of the NRL's decision to fine Paul Gallen $50,000 over a tweet, said an independent tribunal separate from the management arm of the game should be established to ensure transparency and consistency.
"That's an important aspect in having independent reviews rather than internal reviews," he said.
"One of my current roles, for instance, is that I'm the deputy chairman of the FIFA ethics committee. The chairman and I are both appointed independent of any of the confederations for corruption issues inside FIFA. That would be something [the NRL] could consider.
"On the other hand, I don't mind if the investigation is done in-house to a certain extent, as long as the decision made on that investigation is made by people who are independent."

BunniesMan

You're being punished because you didn't bother to find out why the charges were dropped and instead just took the players word for it, which you then passed on to the IU, who obviously had higher expectations of the quality of the clubs investigation.
How could we find out? Are we supposed to send our players to Guantanamo to get the truth out of them with a little waterboarding?

And again, why is the nature of how it was resolved relevant at all when the resolution was 100% legal and the police, the courts and the alleged victim all had no problem with it?

insert.pause

One of the stupidest questions were asked at the presser, along the lines of, 'in light of all the negative headlines in the last week can the NRL, by announcing its findings, be accused of keeping it on the backpage for the wrong reasons?'

The media narrative has been about cover-up, hence the press conference into findings about the investigation, and the media at the same press conference suggest they should have burried it, like that in itself wouldn't haven't fuelled more accusations of cover-up! Unbelievable.

And now Rothfield is lecturing people on being 'diligent with details'!

How could we find out? Are we supposed to send our players to Guantanamo to get the truth out of them with a little waterboarding?

a bigger issue is why your players feel the need to lie to the club... it raises more questions than answers...

is it a case of they knew what they did was wrong and were trying to hide it?

is the club culture one of cover-ups?

if so, what else has been covered up?

do the club believe that the actions are okay, provided that no-one gets charges that stick?

it's a messy, messy situation and i think the only logical solution is for maguire to fall on his sword, as it's clear richardson wont.

Cockadoodledoo

Looks like every single post here requires a source. Souths have form covering up misdemeanors in the US. Fa'alogo also belted someone in the US. In this case it was bad enough to send him home. But the question remains, why were Souths in Arizona?

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/rug...no-strangers-to-coverups-20150214-13e21c.html

When it comes to covering up misbehaviour from its players abroad, South Sydney has form.
When David Fa'alogo was sent home from the Rabbitohs' 2008 trip to Jacksonville, the club was on the record as saying it was for "personal reasons" and "he doesn't want anything more said than that". The explanation suggested some sort of family problems to ensure the journalists invited on the trip wouldn't look into the matter any further. However, the truth bit the club on the bum when it emerged Fa'alogo had been sent packing for belting a man at a taxi rank during a drunken night out in Florida. Shane Richardson, now on his way to head office to collect an annual pay cheque reported to be worth at least $500,000 per annum, was also at the helm when that cover-up occurred. It's unclear whether Fa'alogo's victim was paid "satisfaction" to ensure that matter was also hushed up. After Souths were caught out, they eventually came clean.
"Fa'alogo's actions, despite being retaliatory, breached South Sydney's strict code of conduct and after having gained reports of the incident, Director of Football Operations Shane Richardson ordered Fa'alogo to return back to Sydney," the club said in a statement at the time. There was no NRL integrity unit to answer to back in 2008, but there is now. Its latest investigation, which will hopefully be as thorough as the work of Fairfax Media colleague Michael Carayannis in bringing the truth to light, will need to determine how much Richardson knew about the Arizona shenanigans of John Sutton and Luke Burgess.

insert.pause

And again, why is the nature of how it was resolved relevant at all when the resolution was 100% legal and the police, the courts and the alleged victim all had no problem with it?
You investigate by going beyond asking 'all sweet mate?'.

It's relevant because charges being dropped due to a settlement is not the same as being dropped because there isn't a case to be made that the players were guilty of inappropriate behaviour. The NRL sanctions are based on the outcomes of legal proceedings, if all they have been told is charges were dropped, they are likely to be given the impression it was not as severe to warrant a sanction as if they had been found guilty because they actually did something wrong. Souths didn't bother doing a full investigation and the IU failed to ask the right questions to Souths as to why charges were dropped.

If the IU exists for the accountability and oversight of clubs dealing with player behaviour, then they failed dismally.

BunniesMan

You investigate by going beyond asking 'all sweet mate?'.

It's relevant because charges being dropped due to a settlement is not the same as being dropped because there isn't a case to be made that the players were guilty of inappropriate behaviour. The NRL sanctions are based on the outcomes of legal proceedings, if all they have been told is charges were dropped, they are likely to be given the impression it was not as severe to warrant a sanction as if they had been found guilty because they actually did something wrong. Souths didn't bother doing a full investigation and the IU failed to ask the right questions to Souths as to why charges were dropped.

If the IU exists for the accountability and oversight of clubs dealing with player behaviour, then they failed dismally.

Coming to a financial out of court settlement is not the same as being proven guilty. We are all innocent until proven guilty and the perfectly legal resolution of this case does not imply guilt.

And again, how were we supposed to investigate this supposedly heinous act? The information we missed out on was a legal move. Who was going to tell us when the players didn't?

Christ some of you blokes are a bunch of skirts.

I reckon some of you "guys" would make Bruce Jenner look like Chuck Norris by comparison.

why are you making fun of a guy who's quite clearly spent most of his life in torment, feeling he's trapped inside the wrong body?

he's made a brave decision and i don't see why you want to poke fun at him..

BunniesMan

why are you making fun of a guy who's quite clearly spent most of his life in torment, feeling he's trapped inside the wrong body?

Gee you're a world class gibberer. You haven't dropped any form in 2015.

agreed

leave Chuck Norris alone

oikee

This is another feather in the NRL's huge cap for this year, along with the massive growth and profits, the major story for this year was of a couple of players, out of season, on holiday in America, out on the turps behaving badly.
Poor old dinosaur media were clutching at straws, only to be again made look like fools with the punishment of a couple of drunks on holidays being, a 20 thousand charity fine.

Well done NRL. Your tightly run shop is producing results.
Slap on the wrist to souths, game on Thursday Night footy at the bighouse,,,,Suncorp.

The media failed again trying to turn a Willy Mason shuffle into a street fight.

This is another feather in the NRL's huge cap for this year, along with the massive growth and profits, the major story for this year was of a couple of players, out of season, on holiday in America, out on the turps behaving badly.
Poor old dinosaur media were clutching at straws, only to be again made look like fools with the punishment of a couple of drunks on holidays being, a 20 thousand charity fine.

Well done NRL. Your tightly run shop is producing results.
Slap on the wrist to souths, game on Thursday Night footy at the bighouse,,,,Suncorp.

Yes, this was the major story out of the offseason...

Well... this and that minor little cocaine thingy at the Titans.

All in all a very quiet offseason.

Well done NRL. :sarcasm:

oikee

Yes, this was the major story out of the offseason...

Well... this and that minor little cocaine thingy at the Titans.

All in all a very quiet offseason.

Well done NRL. :sarcasm:

JUst think, if we had the 3 strike cocaine thingy policy the AFL enjoys, they dont even have a story there either.
Maybe Dave Smith should be looking to follow the AFL's policy, and hide this issue under the carpet like they do.

As you said, a good year and well done NRL.

BunniesMan

JUst think, if we had the 3 strike cocaine thingy policy the AFL enjoys, they dont even have a story there either.
Maybe Dave Smith should be looking to follow the AFL's policy, and hide this issue under the carpet like they do.

As you said, a good year and well done NRL.

This post is dumb even by your standards. We have a 2 strike policy. We could have a 500 strike policy, it wouldn't be relevant because the cocaine scandal isn't being prosecuted by the NRL. It is being prosecuted by the police in the courts. These are criminal charges. NRL policy is not an issue.

betcats

Dave Smith sent the COO to face the media in regards to the fine lol she got towelled up, Ben Fordham just played it.