Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Preseason and Draw discussion thread

King-Gutho94

They were probably upset that had to talk to Dobbo, talk about slumming it.
I am sure they love giving Slobbo bait to work with though when it suits the clubs agenda.

I can imagine he is one of those blokes sniffing around outside the club sucking up to anyone for a story.

Darwin is home away from Home is it Jimmy.

We have been thrashed the last 2 years by QLD sides.

If it happens again next year its time to end the junket and move on to another place.

The NRL clearly want to give us only QLD teams when playing there so why give up a home game advantage to them and 2 crucial points
The bloke is a deadset whombel. A total embarrassment of a CEO.

T.S Quint

I don’t give a f**k about playing in Darwin, but if it’s bringing a significant amount of money into the club I understand why it’s done.

Until they can find another way to get that same amount of money (or more), then I assume it’s going to continue.

Really, the NRL should be giving us something as well to encourage the Eels to keep going there and help grow the game.

Noise

The NRL have shown that they aren’t going to give us a favorable opponent in Darwin. I wonder how much we actually get per game once travel / accommodation etc are taken into account? Verse how much we make at a home game at Parra?

I know. It’s not in their best interests. I don’t reckon Darwin is in our best interests anymore if our best interest is winning footy games.
Yep, surely with our new stadium we can make up the short fall from a total waste of time in Darwin?? It shows how lazy the idiots in charge are. But but but but they are doing all they can for us to win a comp. If that were true we would be playing all our games out of Parra stadium.

T.S Quint

The NRL have shown that they aren’t going to give us a favorable opponent in Darwin. I wonder how much we actually get per game once travel / accommodation etc are taken into account? Verse how much we make at a home game at Parra?

I’m wondering if some of those travel/accommodation costs are covered by the NT government.

But even if not, I reckon the amount made on a regular season game at Commbank wouldn’t even be close to $1m.

King-Gutho94

I know. It’s not in their best interests. I don’t reckon Darwin is in our best interests anymore if our best interest is winning footy games.
Yep agree.

I went up for the 2021 match against the Broncos we flogged them 46-6 was a great night.

Spent about 10 days in NT went out to Kakadu and Katherine as well after the weekend.

But yeah time to move on it's been nearly a decade and results are getting worse up there. With the NRL giving us basically QLD only sides in the past 5 years.

Maybe we should get Mt Franklin water in as a sponsor as well BA is happy to flog there 25 water bottles in the coaches box every time we are up there for everyone to see.

Maybe the club should be milking some money out of them as well.

Maybe we should get Mt Franklin water in as a sponsor as well BA is happy to flog there 25 water bottles in the coaches box every time we are up there for everyone to see.

Maybe the club should be milking some money out of them as well.
I assume they probably are - but maybe not huge money ... why else would be line up all the bottles for the cameras to see? .... its owned by coca-cola

Doesn't BA take a sip out of one of the 16 bottles for every f**k-up that the respective player makes? Last season Hodgson and Waqa's bottles were always empty first.

I don't see Darwin as being an excuse

If we're good enough we win and we have a lot of support up there becuase we play there every year so it should be like another hime game with the local crowd behind us

If we lose its because we were shit on the day

JokerEel

If we're good enough we win and we have a lot of support up there becuase we play there every year so it should be like another hime game with the local crowd behind us

I don't agree at all.

Instead of playing at home Infront of 20k plus home fans at our stadium we are going to a Neutral venue giving up any advantage we have.

The opposition has to travel to us but now we have to travel away from home.

Yep supporting the NT game and getting extra cash is great but fans want Grand final wins. People say you need luck to win a GF this is giving up some..

But wouldn't playing Darwin have the same impact as Pou's supposed "Townsville effect"?