Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels team vs. Manly

84 Baby

guess I was just hoping we had a coach who could tell these guys that not even one loss would be tolerated, play every game like it is your last, and that not everyone is guaranteed a second chance.
I believe this is word for word from the Tony Robbins textbook on motivating people

pedge

We had more than a few. The whole 17, barring a couple of guys, gave up. It's infectious when a team is in that mood. The Storm lost a grand final 40-0 once, with a better team than the opposition, even without Cameron Smith.

The point is we didn't lose by 50 because one or two guys weren't up to it. We were belted becsuse everybody quit. That won't be solved by finding scapegoats; it will be solved by bringing better attitudes to the club.

Yet you go on to blame Smith and Allgood.

Have you seen the reserve grade side? Smith and Allgood are two of our best defenders. I reckon Moimoi and Terepo were two of our worse performers, with plenty of lazy defence from the pair of them. But neither is in the team for his defence - it is a team game.

Just dropping blokes isn't the answer. It tells everyone else the flogging wasn't their fault. Arthur will change this team, but it needs to be shit attitudes replaced by good attitudes. At the moment we have a culture of not taking responsibility - Anderson, Kearney, Stuart... each one has copped the blame for poor performances and in the minds of the playing group that lets them off the hook.

The change needs to occur with our more high profile players, starting with the ones off contract this year. Sometimes clubs (and players) just need a change.

making excuses certainly is not the answer either, yet that is all you seem to do.....

If we don't have better options at the club than Kelly,Smith,Paulo,toutai and Allgood we should just pack up and go home.

making excuses certainly is not the answer either, yet that is all you seem to do.....

Your new to the forum and your trying to take on a heavyweight Like Pou? Crawl before you walk is my advice otherwise go find a rock to hide under

Who's making excuses? I think they're a bunch of quitters, and there will be more floggings until we replace (the rest of) the leadership group.

But if you drop the leadership group to reserve grade the playing group implodes. They need to be replaced as they come off contract. Until then they are part of the top 17.

Remember this 17 fairly matched the Chooks in the first half, in conditions that suited the Chooks far better. We weren't ever going to beat them in the wet, but we didn't need to give up. If certain of our better defenders (e.g. Smith and Allgood) didn't play we might've been down by 30 at halftime. We didn't get smashed for lack of ability or the halftime score wouldn't have been as close as it was.

If we don't have better options at the club than Kelly,Smith,Paulo,toutai and Allgood we should just pack up and go home.

We do Mossop-Loko-Sandow-Jnr Paulo-Sio, but we play them in reserves so no need to pack up and go home:)

2 are injured-Jnr has only had one game while Sio and Sandow will force there way back in soon.

:lol::lol::lol: how did we get here!
First we signed a bloke called Hagan who f**ked things up deluxe, a bloke named DA took over and he did well for a season but due to a dysfunctional board and some poor choices himself he got the arse.

Then followed a master stroke and we hired the genius that was Stephen(the Lad)Kearney and through his brilliant game plans and retention skills we came third last and then stone motherless. Then an even more ingenious plan was hatched, Sign Ricky(best signing since Gibson)Stuart and through his brilliant plans, Dean Pays expert defensive tutelage and all Ricky's all round shitness we got even worse. The Dopes that hired our best signing since Gibson allowed him to a have an escape clause and he was gone faster than last weeks pay. Then the powers that be decided to hire the assistant of the worst coach in the history of the NRL.

I think that pretty much sums it up mate.

Angry_eel

Relax bros! Its still early in the season. We will probably get another flogging by Manly. We may have a chance against the Broncos. Penrith will most likely beat us.

I will panic after that :lol:

Maroubra Eel

First we signed a bloke called Hagan who f**ked things up deluxe, a bloke named DA took over and he did well for a season but due to a dysfunctional board and some poor choices himself he got the arse.

Then followed a master stroke and we hired the genius that was Stephen(the Lad)Kearney and through his brilliant game plans and retention skills we came third last and then stone motherless. Then an even more ingenious plan was hatched, Sign Ricky(best signing since Gibson)Stuart and through his brilliant plans, Dean Pays expert defensive tutelage and all Ricky's all round shitness we got even worse. The Dopes that hired our best signing since Gibson allowed him to a have an escape clause and he was gone faster than last weeks pay. Then the powers that be decided to hire the assistant of the worst coach in the history of the NRL.

I don't like the sound of that.

Is there any hope?

Who's making excuses? I think they're a bunch of quitters, and there will be more floggings until we replace (the rest of) the leadership group.

But if you drop the leadership group to reserve grade the playing group implodes. They need to be replaced as they come off contract. Until then they are part of the top 17.

Remember this 17 fairly matched the Chooks in the first half, in conditions that suited the Chooks far better. We weren't ever going to beat them in the wet, but we didn't need to give up. If certain of our better defenders (e.g. Smith and Allgood) didn't play we might've been down by 30 at halftime. We didn't get smashed for lack of ability or the halftime score wouldn't have been as close as it was.

Exactly right.I try telling people how in league if you give up 16 points turns into 40 points very fast. It starts with the captain (reason why I want Peats)
When you see someone chasing down a guy 100mtrs who is going to score anyhows you may think its a waste of time-But it is showing a never say die attitude.

Put up our team and you se a bunch of quiet laid back guys.There is no Ennis personality or Gallen.We have no leader.We need guys who want to win.And take there career serious.Why I like Morgan.And we can bag Sandow out but he is passionate.
It will take time but I hope Manu Mau and K.Edwards become vocal.

#EmotionallySatisfyingNarrative

Considering we need a goal kicker and there's not much between Vai and Sio, I'm surprised Kenny didn't get the call up.

Makes me think Sandow will get the 7 with a late change on game day.

Good points.

And your last paragraph explains why I was so angry after Saturday - we were right in the game at halftime, and then quit. It's infuriating.

But I'm not giving up.