Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 5 vs St Geo Illa @ McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton / Awabakal

Who will win? Round 5: Newcastle v St Geo Illa

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Newcastle Knights 1-12

• St George Illawarra Dragons 1-12

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • St George Illawarra Dragons 13+

Knight Tales

Both these clubs have players who through individual error or ego will open huge opprtunities to the attack. Whoever controls that part of their side better wins.

Apey

Reckon Ben Hunt is a step up from Fogarty in the kicking department, and Fogarty kicked us to death in round 1. We'll probably stick with the uncontested mid-field bombs
As garbage as Jenkins was, he was the only one to contest two kicks. One we got an extra set out of. I will never understand the strategy of not having a go - I get tapping it back can cause problems, but trying to catch it and knocking it on is the same result as them catching it.

Reactions: Rod

As garbage as Jenkins was, he was the only one to contest two kicks. One we got an extra set out of. I will never understand the strategy of not having a go - I get tapping it back can cause problems, but trying to catch it and knocking it on is the same result as them catching it.
I think it really is as simple as playing low risk football and making sure there's zero kick return/broken field play. There's no deeper conspiracy than that imo. Our past 2 or 3 coaches have determined that we're better off setting our line and starting the next set in D strongly than rolling the dice. We can argue with the logic of it all we like, but that's the brand we're baking into our play.

My speculation is that they probably are more "hard guidelines" than flat out rules though. If we had a set of halves that had a strong understanding of the game/feel for moments in a game - and a big boot on them - I'm sure we'd put up a more attacking kick here and there as the situation calls for it. It takes a very confident half/footy brain to go away from a gameplan when a situation calls for it. That's what seperates the role players from the elite. Role players can go out there and follow a gameplan, elite players know when it's the right time to venture outside that.

We've largely lost the ability for football players to just play what's in front of them/what feels right in the modern game. More evidence of this is how hopeless we are at capitalizing on injured players/sinbins. You can be sure that if an opposition player gets injured, they're safe that we won't throw much traffic their way. If they've got a bloke in the bin, it's unlikely we'll test their section of the field with a play or two. We just go about our gameplan same as if nothing changed at all.

Woody90

What’s the weather like up there? Someone on the other forum talking like there’s a chance the game won’t go ahead? Sydney hasn’t stopped pouring but I wouldn’t say enough to cancel Dogs/Chooks.

Apey

What’s the weather like up there? Someone on the other forum talking like there’s a chance the game won’t go ahead? Sydney hasn’t stopped pouring but I wouldn’t say enough to cancel Dogs/Chooks.
Barely even raining right now, 5 mins from the stadium. No chance it gets cancelled.

Memba the Broncos game where the power went out?